The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2007-11-28, 02:34 AM
reese reese is offline
632.64 GB/374.36 GB/0.59
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Multi Ports Forward?

I have 2 computers each running port forward.
1xp 1win2k on a linksys wrt54gu.6 router.

I had zone alarm on both computers, but truevector crashed repeatedly on each box. removing zone alarm from the win2k box fixed this.

portforward works perfectly on one box or the other.
not both. updating the routrt on each box causes the port to
close/stop functioning on the other box.

portforward wont answer the question:
can the product work on both boxes on a router?

how?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2007-11-28, 10:24 AM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Multi Ports Forward?

Are you using a different port for each computer? Say 44000 for the XP box and 45000 for the Win2K box? You can't use the same port for both computers.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2007-11-28, 12:02 PM
paddington's Avatar
paddington paddington is offline
please look after this bear
TTD Staff
83.17 GB/882.10 GB/10.61
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Re: Multi Ports Forward?

yes,

example:
computer #1: 192.168.1.100
computer #2: 192.168.1.101

forward a port range to 192.168.1.100 (and set the torrent client to match)
then forward a DIFFERENT port range to 192.168.1.101 (and set the torrent client to match)
__________________
"There are some of these recordings where it is just a whirring, and you cannot hear the music. " - Jimmy Page, 2007 / JUL / 26
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2007-11-28, 01:59 PM
reese reese is offline
632.64 GB/374.36 GB/0.59
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Re: Multi Ports Forward?

In u torrent:
when adding a new application to forward...
i set up the tcp ports and udp prorts
to 1001 (tcp & udp) on the 1st box (with router) and 1002 (tcp & udp)
on the second box. then i set utorrent to match
(this works on one or the other -not both)

other than in this area/dialogue im not sure where to set the
full address/port range as indicated (192.168.1.......)

is this done in utorrent?
the indication i get is in portfrorward, but if/how eludes me.

thanks for all your help!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2007-11-28, 02:28 PM
paddington's Avatar
paddington paddington is offline
please look after this bear
TTD Staff
83.17 GB/882.10 GB/10.61
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Re: Multi Ports Forward?

You set the PORT -> IP mapping lines in your router.

You only need the single port for each uTorrent client (so, 2 in your case), so you'd 1001 to IP (computer) #1, then 1002 to IP (computer) #2.

To get each computer's ip address, do this (on each one):

START>RUN
CMD <enter>

this gives you the black command window. type:
IPCONFIG /ALL <enter>

and you should get this
Code:
 C:\Documents and Settings\James>ipconfig /all
Windows IP Configuration
		Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : xxxxxxxxxx
		Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
		Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
		IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
		WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
		DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Ethernet adapter 10-100-1000 RJ45 NIC:
		Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
		Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/1000 MT Network Connect
ion
		Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : xx-xx-xx-xx-xx-xx
		Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
		Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
		IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.10.xxx
		Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
		Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.10.xxx
		DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.10.xxx
		DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : xx.xx.xx.xx
											xx.xx.xx.xx
											xx.xx.xx.xx
		Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wed - 28 Nov 11:51:52 AM
		Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thu - 29 Nov 11:51:52 AM
C:\Documents and Settings\James>
Your machine's current IP ADDRESS is what is labeled in BOLD above. Use that when mapping your ports to each machine - set uTorrent to match and you should be all set!
__________________
"There are some of these recordings where it is just a whirring, and you cannot hear the music. " - Jimmy Page, 2007 / JUL / 26
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2007-11-28, 03:19 PM
reese reese is offline
632.64 GB/374.36 GB/0.59
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Re: Multi Ports Forward?

on each box...
ipconfig causes the doss window to flash for a second
-if that and go away.

web based ip detection reveals 75.93.6........
That looks wrong. never seen an ip adress that didnt
start with a 192.

is there another -reliable, easy way to verify each ip adress?

it looks like you are saying, in your case to use what ever
the last 3 digets are. in your case -xxx.
is this right?
utorrent > preferences > connection > port used for incominf connection
= whatever the last digets in the ip adrress of each box?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2007-11-28, 03:30 PM
paddington's Avatar
paddington paddington is offline
please look after this bear
TTD Staff
83.17 GB/882.10 GB/10.61
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Re: Multi Ports Forward?

you must open the CMD window separately, first - THEN type IPCONFIG.

the web detect won't help you at all with your router since you need your local, router DHCP assigned IP address.

try following my directions above again - and don't skip the CMD step this time and I think you'll be fine.
__________________
"There are some of these recordings where it is just a whirring, and you cannot hear the music. " - Jimmy Page, 2007 / JUL / 26
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2007-11-29, 03:39 PM
reese reese is offline
632.64 GB/374.36 GB/0.59
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Re: Multi Ports Forward?

IP detection reveals 192....100 and 101.
switching the ports in u torent from 1001 and 1002
to 100 and 101 causes both computers to fail the port open /speed test.
reboots seem pointless.

so, now neither works, instead of either.

i pull the last digets from the ip adress?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2007-12-01, 10:54 AM
Paul56's Avatar
Paul56 Paul56 is offline
1.04 TB/6.52 TB/6.25
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Santa Cruz, California
Re: Multi Ports Forward?

Follow jameskg instructions, check out portforward.com, put your port numbers in the 30,000 - 60,000 range in your router so they do not conflict with other traffic. If you get the 75.93.6xxxxx with web based detection then that's your isp, it's ok.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2007-12-01, 11:55 AM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Multi Ports Forward?

You need to follow the instructions for a static local IP on portforward.com . It isn't just a matter of setting your computers to have a static IP, you need to tell your router that your computers now have a static IP and that it shouldn't be trying to assign them one. This is all explained on portforward.com : http://www.portforward.com/networking/staticip.htm
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2007-12-03, 09:00 PM
reese reese is offline
632.64 GB/374.36 GB/0.59
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Re: Multi Ports Forward?

Quote:
Originally Posted by U2Lynne View Post
You need to follow the instructions for a static local IP on portforward.com. It isn't just a matter of setting your computers to have a static IP, you need to tell your router that your computers now have a static IP and that it shouldn't be trying to assign them one. This is all explained on portforward.com: http://www.portforward.com/networking/staticip.htm

switching from obtain to specify kills the connection.
how do i communicate with/setup the router.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2007-12-03, 10:59 PM
paddington's Avatar
paddington paddington is offline
please look after this bear
TTD Staff
83.17 GB/882.10 GB/10.61
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Re: Multi Ports Forward?

You can obtain, that shouldl work fine.

I think you have confused the port# with the last octet in the IP adress.

In your case, you want to set up the forwarding in the router to be like this (I'd like you to try using different ports this time):

Port 10500 -> forwards to 192.168.1.100
Port 10505 -> forwards to 192.168.1.101

or however your router lays it out. Be sure the uTorrent client on 192.168.1.100 has it's port set to 10500 so it matches. Same for the uTorrent client on 192.168.1.101 - make it use 10505.

Again - don't confuse the port# with the IP address. You are telling your router to forward any data it gets aimed @ port 10500 to the computer with the IP address 192.168.1.100. The full address the packet has is "192.168.1.100:10500" - you are helping it reach the right machine.

Does that make more sense?
__________________
"There are some of these recordings where it is just a whirring, and you cannot hear the music. " - Jimmy Page, 2007 / JUL / 26
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Firewalled; Unsuccessful attempts to forward ports - dmonte Technobabble 14 2008-05-16 11:57 AM
If I turn my router off and on, do I need to re-forward my ports? - johnfbutler Technobabble 5 2006-05-14 05:29 PM
port forward help - Drewa311 Technobabble 3 2006-01-23 02:38 PM
does UPnP automatically forward ports? - Five Technobabble 7 2006-01-06 11:36 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts