The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-05-14, 12:14 PM
johnfbutler
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
If I turn my router off and on, do I need to re-forward my ports?

SSIA
Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2006-05-14, 12:18 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: If I turn my router off and on, do I need to re-forward my ports?

Not if all you did was simply turn it off and on. But, if you reset it, you will have to reforward them. Just logon to your router and take a look and see if your information is still entered into the Port Forwarding section of your router.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2006-05-14, 01:42 PM
johnfbutler
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: If I turn my router off and on, do I need to re-forward my ports?

Thanks Lynne. All of the correct ports are forwarded, but I'm still showing up as firewalled here, but not at dime. My client is not showing that I'm firewalled and I passed natcheck for the TTD torrent. Not sure what is going on, but I see that there was another recent poster who was having the same trouble.

JB
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2006-05-14, 01:58 PM
xequence's Avatar
xequence xequence is offline
34.48 GB/65.23 GB/1.89
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Re: If I turn my router off and on, do I need to re-forward my ports?

Seems to reset the ports when mine gets turned off.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2006-05-14, 03:38 PM
grace grace is offline
0.00 KB/4.51 GB/Inf.
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: If I turn my router off and on, do I need to re-forward my ports?

My guess is that you are using DHCP to assign your internal IP addresses. When the router is rebooted it reassigns the internal addresses in a different order than you initially had them set up. So if you had your forwading set up like this:

computer IP Port
1 192.168.0.1 33600
2 192.168.0.2 43600

A reeboot might leave you with the same settings but the computers switched. So your client tries to connect on the same port it always does but finds itself firewalled by the router (That port is forwarded to the other computer now.)

The easiest way to fix this is to turn off DHCP in the router and set static IP addresses for your computers. This way yor forward table and your bittorent client will always be in synch.

I have no idea why you would not show up as firewalled at dime if this happened though.

I hope this helps. If you need any help setting static IP addresses let me know.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2006-05-14, 05:29 PM
johnfbutler
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: If I turn my router off and on, do I need to re-forward my ports?

I do have static IP adresses set up. I used the method at:

http://www.portforward.com/networking/static-xp.htm

Thanks!

JB
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Firewalled; Unsuccessful attempts to forward ports - dmonte Technobabble 14 2008-05-16 11:57 AM
Multi Ports Forward? - reese Technobabble 11 2007-12-03 10:59 PM
another hippie needing help with ports/router - jalew Technobabble 13 2007-03-20 11:51 PM
does UPnP automatically forward ports? - Five Technobabble 7 2006-01-06 11:36 AM
"Converting" A Regular Router Into A Wirless Router? - thisistoto Technobabble 1 2005-10-11 04:08 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts