The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2011-01-05, 05:37 PM
Black Dog's Avatar
Black Dog Black Dog is offline
appalachianamerican
1.26 TB/2.77 TB/2.21
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Stuart, VA
Convering flac to mp3 in Foobar2000

I'm trying to convert a set of flac files to mp3 in foobar, but I want a

320kb bitrate and foobar isn't giving me that option. Am I missing a

component or just not finding it in the options
Attached Images
File Type: gif foobar2000.gif
( 49.1 KB, 135 views)
 
__________________
*************************************************
http://www.flickr.com/photos/black_dog_/show/
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2011-01-05, 10:31 PM
Homebrew101's Avatar
Homebrew101 Homebrew101 is offline
1.35 TB/1.44 TB/1.07
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: City of Festivals
Re: Convering flac to mp3 in Foobar2000

I can go into foobar's v 0.9.5.6 settings and ADD NEW under "More Settings" under "convert to" and get up to 245kb but that's as far as the slider goes...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by daddyray View Post
I got a big bunch of dick, I am measuring it with a chicken.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2011-01-05, 10:43 PM
ep620's Avatar
ep620 ep620 is offline
Zymocenosilicaphobic
29.67 GB/98.85 GB/3.33
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fukitol, Colorado
Re: Convering flac to mp3 in Foobar2000

Media monkey does 320.
__________________
-----------------------------------
When the going gets tough,
the tough get drunk.

------------------------------------
Gone are the days when the ladies said please.
------------------------------------
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2011-01-05, 10:52 PM
Black Dog's Avatar
Black Dog Black Dog is offline
appalachianamerican
1.26 TB/2.77 TB/2.21
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Stuart, VA
Re: Convering flac to mp3 in Foobar2000

Quote:
Originally Posted by Homebrew101 View Post
I can go into foobar's v 0.9.5.6 settings and ADD NEW under "More Settings" under "convert to" and get up to 245kb but that's as far as the slider goes...
Thanks HB
__________________
*************************************************
http://www.flickr.com/photos/black_dog_/show/
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2011-01-05, 10:56 PM
Black Dog's Avatar
Black Dog Black Dog is offline
appalachianamerican
1.26 TB/2.77 TB/2.21
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Stuart, VA
Re: Convering flac to mp3 in Foobar2000

Quote:
Originally Posted by ep620 View Post
Media monkey does 320.
Never tried Media monkey ....I'll give it a look...thanks
__________________
*************************************************
http://www.flickr.com/photos/black_dog_/show/
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2011-01-05, 11:33 PM
tonebloke's Avatar
tonebloke tonebloke is offline
491.13 GB/783.96 GB/1.60
 
Join Date: May 2009
Re: Convering flac to mp3 in Foobar2000

Try dbPowerAmp. That'll do it.
__________________
" Your tin cup and string "recorder" is worse than a Zoom, which is saying a lot".
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2011-01-06, 02:29 AM
bullpinjohn's Avatar
bullpinjohn bullpinjohn is offline
241.61 GB/353.36 GB/1.46
 
Join Date: May 2006
Re: Convering flac to mp3 in Foobar2000

Trader's Little Helper
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2011-01-06, 09:46 PM
Audioarchivist's Avatar
Audioarchivist Audioarchivist is offline
Recording/Mastering Engineer
560.16 GB/1.94 TB/3.54
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Re: Convering flac to mp3 in Foobar2000

I dunno if the general consensus is that Foobar is better with older versions, but they're up to (I think) version 1.1 now. My slider goes to 320cbr no problem. Maybe you need a new lame eMPty3 encrapper - I mean new lame.exe mp3 encoder?
__________________
"The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side."
- Dr. Hunter S. Thompson (1937-2005)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2011-01-06, 10:11 PM
Black Dog's Avatar
Black Dog Black Dog is offline
appalachianamerican
1.26 TB/2.77 TB/2.21
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Stuart, VA
Re: Convering flac to mp3 in Foobar2000

Quote:
Originally Posted by Audioarchivist View Post
I dunno if the general consensus is that Foobar is better with older versions, but they're up to (I think) version 1.1 now. My slider goes to 320cbr no problem. Maybe you need a new lame eMPty3 encrapper - I mean new lame.exe mp3 encoder?
The version I have is 9.5.2

I didn't know there was a newer version out...I'll look for it, Thanks

Can you recommend a good lame encoder?
__________________
*************************************************
http://www.flickr.com/photos/black_dog_/show/
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2011-01-08, 08:56 AM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Convering flac to mp3 in Foobar2000

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black Dog View Post

Can you recommend a good lame encoder?
http://lame.sourceforge.net/
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2011-01-08, 09:21 AM
Black Dog's Avatar
Black Dog Black Dog is offline
appalachianamerican
1.26 TB/2.77 TB/2.21
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Stuart, VA
Re: Convering flac to mp3 in Foobar2000

Quote:
Originally Posted by AAR.oner View Post
Thanks Aaron
__________________
*************************************************
http://www.flickr.com/photos/black_dog_/show/
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2011-01-08, 11:18 AM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Convering flac to mp3 in Foobar2000

__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #13  
Old 2011-01-08, 02:26 PM
Audioarchivist's Avatar
Audioarchivist Audioarchivist is offline
Recording/Mastering Engineer
560.16 GB/1.94 TB/3.54
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Re: Convering flac to mp3 in Foobar2000

I went there to maybe update my lame encoder, but I can't figure out how to "compile" their source code...

I need a lame.exe file, not a bunch of jibberish! haha

Anyone able to help me on how to either compile their source code, or point me at a fresh lame.exe file? Thanks!
__________________
"The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side."
- Dr. Hunter S. Thompson (1937-2005)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #14  
Old 2011-01-08, 02:38 PM
paddington's Avatar
paddington paddington is offline
please look after this bear
TTD Staff
83.17 GB/882.10 GB/10.61
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Re: Convering flac to mp3 in Foobar2000

all good MP3 encoders are Lame... har har har



seriously, though... best MP3 encoder, when set right.. iTunes. Try doing some A/B comparissons... the 320 CBR / no narrowing / Normal stereo settings used in iTunes will produce a MUCH more pure MP3 file from lossless WAV than anything I;ve been able to get LAME to do.

they license and use the Fraunhofer encoder in iTunes and it is vastly superior, I have found in my testing.

have a look at the spectrum analysis betwwen several samples and you'll find a LOT more of the audio is left intact and what is removed is much less abrupt using the iTunes encoder licensed from Fraunhofer. In listening, the high-freq aliasing is much less pronounced, to me.
__________________
"There are some of these recordings where it is just a whirring, and you cannot hear the music. " - Jimmy Page, 2007 / JUL / 26
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #15  
Old 2011-01-08, 02:44 PM
DanielG's Avatar
DanielG DanielG is offline
300.35 GB/438.48 GB/1.46
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Re: Convering flac to mp3 in Foobar2000

Quote:
Originally Posted by Audioarchivist View Post
I went there to maybe update my lame encoder, but I can't figure out how to "compile" their source code...

I need a lame.exe file, not a bunch of jibberish! haha

Anyone able to help me on how to either compile their source code, or point me at a fresh lame.exe file? Thanks!
Here's a compiled version of LAME (an exe file)
http://www.free-codecs.com/download/lame_encoder.htm
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Foobar2000: SHN > FLAC conversion - levy96018 Technobabble 10 2009-12-04 06:53 PM
Foobar2000 SHN > FLAC Conversion: A Visual Guide - Five Technobabble 79 2008-07-23 11:50 AM
Foobar2000 Flac conversion - unholyone Technobabble 14 2006-02-20 12:18 PM
SHN > FLAC conversions with foobar2000 0.8.3 - TheMamba Technobabble 4 2004-11-28 10:44 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts