The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #46  
Old 2004-11-30, 01:44 PM
RainDawg's Avatar
RainDawg RainDawg is offline
Renegade Geek
10.20 GB/20.72 GB/2.03
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Passing swiftly through The Moor
Re: FLAC Frontend

The official Monkey's Audio software does not have Mac support, but like I said, I know Lynne's told me that she's able to work with APE files using xACT and at least one other third party software whose name escapes me right now. It was with her blessing, and a guarantee that Mac users did have a free solution to using APE files, that I wrote them into the policy as a legal seed format. I couldn't tell you what programs or how to use them, but I trust her statements that APE is good to go on Mac.....
__________________
Through the clouds,
Throught the lies,
We'll never see,
What's never been,
At the ending of life and the coming of death,
Pass not through its gates but into the dark.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #47  
Old 2004-11-30, 02:38 PM
Greengoat's Avatar
Greengoat Greengoat is offline
Mr. Yummy
27.80 GB/36.73 GB/1.32
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In the Yesterday
Re: FLAC Frontend

Quote:
Originally Posted by Five
I still use it at home because it has the #1 compression ratio.
I hear that! That was my number one argument at STG. But all I heard was not Mac friendly, and too slow, or the guy that wrote it doesn't have a good support forum, blah-blah.

Not too mention the cute little monkey in the app.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #48  
Old 2004-11-30, 02:47 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: FLAC Frontend

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greengoat
I hear that! That was my number one argument at STG. But all I heard was not Mac friendly, and too slow, or the guy that wrote it doesn't have a good support forum, blah-blah.

Not too mention the cute little monkey in the app.
Monkey is my fave but when I post in that format I get 50 posts saying "what is this?" "I can't make it work!" "waaa waaaa waaaa" so I just seed FLAC now.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #49  
Old 2004-11-30, 03:26 PM
RainDawg's Avatar
RainDawg RainDawg is offline
Renegade Geek
10.20 GB/20.72 GB/2.03
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Passing swiftly through The Moor
Re: FLAC Frontend

(resisting the temptation to diverge into ANOTHER FLAC/APE/SHUN thread)

I agree about the compression ratio, and I do archive a bunch of stuff in APE, but FLAC really does have them beat with the compression rate-independant decoding and the FLAC fingerprints.
__________________
Through the clouds,
Throught the lies,
We'll never see,
What's never been,
At the ending of life and the coming of death,
Pass not through its gates but into the dark.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #50  
Old 2004-12-01, 07:47 PM
crazee_canuck crazee_canuck is offline
36.42 GB/122.27 GB/3.36
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: FLAC Frontend

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaadbell
You can create a Flac fingerprint file named ffp.txt at the command line with the following command (assuming metaflac.exe is in your path).

FOR %f IN (*.flac) DO metaflac --show-md5sum --with-filename "%f" >> ffp.txt

If you put this in a batch file, the %f must become %%f in both occurrences.

If you leave out the --with-filename "%f", you get the fingerprints without the filenames.

I got this from the hydrogenaudio thread http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/...howtopic=10773
..and in Linux:
Code:
for I in *.flac; do metaflac --show-md5sum --with-filename "$I" >> ffp.txt; done
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #51  
Old 2004-12-01, 08:11 PM
jazzbo jazzbo is offline
18.28 GB/38.30 GB/2.09
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: FLAC Frontend

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazee_canuck
..and in Linux:
Code:
for I in *.flac; do metaflac --show-md5sum --with-filename "$I" >> ffp.txt; done
or

Code:
metaflac --show-md5sum *.flac > foo.ffp.txt
... works for me.

You don't need --with-filename if you list more than one file on the command line. Any *nix shell should glob and produce all of the filenames on one line with the command line above. You should never have to use for loops to simulate globbing, as you have to in DOS.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #52  
Old 2004-12-02, 12:42 AM
crazee_canuck crazee_canuck is offline
36.42 GB/122.27 GB/3.36
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: FLAC Frontend

ugh...been doing it the "hard way"..hehe...I didn't realize that'd work. (I found that when I encode to musepack (for *my own use*) that I needed the looping).

Good to see metaflac is smarter than that.

Thanks for the heads up.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Help with Flac Frontend - ChefLin10 Technobabble 6 2006-09-07 09:26 PM
Flac Frontend help... - Roger Daltrey Technobabble 4 2005-11-09 07:57 AM
different flac frontend help? - ep620 Technobabble 4 2005-02-20 02:19 PM
HELP: FLAC Frontend 1.7.1 - ttdorg Technobabble 3 2005-01-02 05:08 PM
FLAC Frontend 1.71 gone ?? - wazoo2u Technobabble 10 2004-12-09 05:53 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts