The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2008-10-01, 07:07 AM
Naregatsi's Avatar
Naregatsi Naregatsi is offline
49.02 GB/6.76 GB/0.14
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
TMPGEnc DVD Author (Losing Quality ??)

Hello Fellers
I come to ask if there's anybody who can confirm if TMPGEnc DVD Author is a good software to reauthor a DVD ?
I'm using TMPGEnc DVD Author 1.6

cause I've been told that using this software I'll get a loss in the quality
cause it always reencodes the file

is it true? plz let me know

and In case it's true what do you suggest to use as an Authoring Software with great capabilities to make menus ....

Thank you in advance
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2008-10-01, 08:26 AM
pawel's Avatar
pawel pawel is offline
Lockout here
370.16 GB/672.37 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Poland
Re: TMPGEnc DVD Author (Losing Quality ??)

No problem with 1.6. Strange things may happen in 2.x and 3.x.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2008-10-01, 12:41 PM
Naregatsi's Avatar
Naregatsi Naregatsi is offline
49.02 GB/6.76 GB/0.14
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Re: TMPGEnc DVD Author (Losing Quality ??)

Ok Thanks for the info Pawel
but is there any other reauthoring softwares which can help to create a good menu for the DVD ?

Thanks
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2008-10-01, 12:52 PM
Thulani's Avatar
Thulani Thulani is offline
172.31 GB/208.97 GB/1.21
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Romania
Re: TMPGEnc DVD Author (Losing Quality ??)

DVD Lab Pro
Even TMPGENC DVD Author 3.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2008-10-01, 01:47 PM
pawel's Avatar
pawel pawel is offline
Lockout here
370.16 GB/672.37 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Poland
Re: TMPGEnc DVD Author (Losing Quality ??)

You have no big choice as only four programs for PC do not alter the stream: TDA 1.6, dvdauthor, DVD Lab Pro (DLP), and DVD Maestro. The last one is the best imo but you cannot buy it.

DLP has some issues with menu quality as it's not rendered as good as by two other programs. Don't import to DLP vob files, also for combining/joint as the final result can be out of sync. Thus the source video should be demuxed before importing.

You may check freeware dvdauthor. It's quite good.

General rule: if you want good menu, do it it some external graphic program ;-)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2008-10-01, 03:17 PM
Naregatsi's Avatar
Naregatsi Naregatsi is offline
49.02 GB/6.76 GB/0.14
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Re: TMPGEnc DVD Author (Losing Quality ??)

Thank you guys for mentionning the softwares

Pawel why I can't buy DVD Maestro ?
it doesn't exist anymore ?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2008-10-01, 03:40 PM
Thulani's Avatar
Thulani Thulani is offline
172.31 GB/208.97 GB/1.21
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Romania
Re: TMPGEnc DVD Author (Losing Quality ??)

Developer doesn't update it. Its price was around 5.000.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2008-10-01, 06:09 PM
pawel's Avatar
pawel pawel is offline
Lockout here
370.16 GB/672.37 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Poland
Re: TMPGEnc DVD Author (Losing Quality ??)

Spruce which created DVD Maestro was bought by Apple a few years ago. Mac DVD Studio Pro is based on it but it has been developed further.

You cannot buy it, but you may find it Don't try to buy it on eBay - there are illegal copies and hence waste of money.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2008-10-01, 06:13 PM
xjsb125 xjsb125 is offline
78.22 GB/159.27 GB/2.04
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bristol, VA
Re: TMPGEnc DVD Author (Losing Quality ??)

I get really pissed at DLP's horrible menu rendering. I made a few menus that I spent a lot of time working on, motion menus, that were rendered like turd. I love DLP for the functionality of it, and that it doesn't alter the stream. I would hump it if it had a better menu rendering engine.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2008-10-02, 12:49 AM
Naregatsi's Avatar
Naregatsi Naregatsi is offline
49.02 GB/6.76 GB/0.14
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Re: TMPGEnc DVD Author (Losing Quality ??)

Oh I see, I'll try to find DVD Maestro

xjsb125
TMPGEnc DVD Author helps to create great menus really !
Classical menus

Thanks guys for your helps
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2008-10-02, 03:46 AM
KoolKat's Avatar
KoolKat KoolKat is offline
Video Guru
49.89 GB/89.01 GB/1.78
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: On A Shelf Near You
Re: TMPGEnc DVD Author (Losing Quality ??)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pawel View Post
No problem with 1.6. Strange things may happen in 2.x and 3.x.
Otherway round AFAIK Pawal.
vers's 2 & 3 use Smart Render.1.6 used to fully render.That was one of the changes.
If you dont set the right format at the start though ....then it will fully re-encode
Upto the user.

Supplied screenie of a PAL mpeg in version 3 that was set to PAL in the start up window.
You will see the SR...for smart render settings

K_K
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture.JPG
( 34.2 KB, 119 views)
 
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2008-10-02, 03:56 AM
pawel's Avatar
pawel pawel is offline
Lockout here
370.16 GB/672.37 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Poland
Re: TMPGEnc DVD Author (Losing Quality ??)

Quote:
Originally Posted by KoolKat View Post
Otherway round AFAIK Pawal.
vers's 2 & 3 use Smart Render.1.6 used to fully render.
Maybe I'm wrong but 1.6 has no built-in encoder. I tested DVB streams, and they are OK after passing 1.6 but not 3.x. BTW: I use 3.x for chaptering as it's impossible in Maestro
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #13  
Old 2008-10-02, 07:34 AM
Thulani's Avatar
Thulani Thulani is offline
172.31 GB/208.97 GB/1.21
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Romania
Re: TMPGEnc DVD Author (Losing Quality ??)

You can check if TDA is encoding something with GSPOT. Just open the first vob. In the User Data/Metadata field it will be writen something like: 2nd time encoded with TMPGENC....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #14  
Old 2008-10-03, 03:20 AM
Naregatsi's Avatar
Naregatsi Naregatsi is offline
49.02 GB/6.76 GB/0.14
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Re: TMPGEnc DVD Author (Losing Quality ??)

Thanks Guys for the informations
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #15  
Old 2008-10-06, 04:34 AM
pawel's Avatar
pawel pawel is offline
Lockout here
370.16 GB/672.37 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Poland
Re: TMPGEnc DVD Author (Losing Quality ??)

Follow up: new version of TDA has been announced. It will have Blu-ray authoring engine. However, I'm sceptic if forced re-encoding is replaced. I expect it will be the same with BD part.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Does TMPGEnc DVD Author 3 Re-encode? - dustyvalentino Technobabble 3 2008-03-27 11:09 PM
DVD is different filesize when I run it through TMPGEnc - Salva Veritate Technobabble 9 2007-12-20 04:18 AM
TMPGEnc dvd author menu question - ccrider895 Technobabble 16 2007-11-24 10:59 AM
Extracting from a DVD with TMPGenc DVD Author Pro - greenie44 Technobabble 3 2006-12-13 12:34 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts