The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2008-03-25, 12:20 PM
dustyvalentino dustyvalentino is offline
28.87 GB/26.40 GB/0.91
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Does TMPGEnc DVD Author 3 Re-encode?

I have a compilation DVD that I put together using TMPGEnc DVD Author 3.

Before I seed it here I want to make sure that I haven't re-encoded the video, thus getting the torrent banned.

Can somebody tell me if TMPGEnc DVD Author 3 re-encodes video?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2008-03-25, 07:34 PM
pawel's Avatar
pawel pawel is offline
Lockout here
370.16 GB/672.37 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Poland
Re: Does TMPGEnc DVD Author 3 Re-encode?

Read the manual (FAQ): "Does TMPGEnc DVD Author 3 re-encode the video and audio? Video is fully re-encoded. Audio is re-encoded if you change the format or enable the bi-audio option."

In fact it depends on source, in most cases on its GOP structure. Some videos may be changed invisibly, while others noticeably. Check how looks the video at chapter points, and last frames. Anyway, the video stream never matches md5 after compilation and demuxing.

Don't place chapter marks outside beginning of a frame as it cause nasty pixelation.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2008-03-26, 10:42 AM
dustyvalentino dustyvalentino is offline
28.87 GB/26.40 GB/0.91
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Re: Does TMPGEnc DVD Author 3 Re-encode?

Hmm, OK then, better not post it here then just in case. Thanks.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2008-03-27, 11:09 PM
KoolKat's Avatar
KoolKat KoolKat is offline
Video Guru
49.89 GB/89.01 GB/1.78
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: On A Shelf Near You
Re: Does TMPGEnc DVD Author 3 Re-encode?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pawel View Post
Read the manual (FAQ): "Does TMPGEnc DVD Author 3 re-encode the video and audio? Video is fully re-encoded. Audio is re-encoded if you change the format or enable the bi-audio option."

In fact it depends on source, in most cases on its GOP structure. Some videos may be changed invisibly, while others noticeably. Check how looks the video at chapter points, and last frames. Anyway, the video stream never matches md5 after compilation and demuxing.

Don't place chapter marks outside beginning of a frame as it cause nasty pixelation.
Slightly mis-leading that as i asked the Pegasys reps about this.The fully is for the full rendering side of the software should it be used,the smart rendering uses the same "output" as their editor which is lossless ..they claim.
The FAQ is somewhat brief and airy on the main point of the program i agree though.

K_K
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
TMPGEnc DVD Author (Losing Quality ??) - Naregatsi Technobabble 16 2008-11-24 06:08 PM
Re-encode AC3 to LPCM using TMPGenc - vladsmythe Technobabble 21 2008-05-19 12:23 PM
TMPGEnc dvd author menu question - ccrider895 Technobabble 16 2007-11-24 10:59 AM
Extracting from a DVD with TMPGenc DVD Author Pro - greenie44 Technobabble 3 2006-12-13 12:34 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts