The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2007-11-01, 08:45 PM
bigwurock's Avatar
bigwurock bigwurock is offline
stupid monkey
693.59 GB/1.07 TB/1.58
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
want to get a dvd onto HD & then into sony vegas...

looking to get a dvd show from a standalone dvd recording onto my harddrive and then into sony vegas to synch up new audio...anyone have any ideas..
thanks
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2007-11-02, 01:16 AM
DanielG's Avatar
DanielG DanielG is offline
300.35 GB/438.48 GB/1.46
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Re: want to get a dvd onto HD & then into sony vegas...

Use DVD Decrypter ( http://www.mrbass.org/dvdrip/ ) to demux the DVD into m2v and ac3/wav files and then import them both into Sony Vegas.

Use IFO mode (press I in DVD Decrypter) and then go to the 'stream processing' tab and click the 'demux' checkbox.

Also, set File Splitting to 'none' - (Tools --> Settings --> IFO Mode) and set 'File Splitting' to None
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2007-11-19, 02:52 PM
bigwurock's Avatar
bigwurock bigwurock is offline
stupid monkey
693.59 GB/1.07 TB/1.58
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Re: want to get a dvd onto HD & then into sony vegas...

anyone else have any ideas...i tried the above and that didn't work...i am stuck..
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2007-11-19, 02:56 PM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is online now
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: want to get a dvd onto HD & then into sony vegas...

use tmpgenc xpress mpeg tools to demux into m2v and ac3/wav. then use tmpgenc to remux into mpeg2. import into vegas.

save your original m2v file. then once you have trimmed your new audio to length. remux it back together to use the original menus or make new ones.
__________________
We all see only that which we are trained to see.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2007-11-19, 05:16 PM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is online now
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: want to get a dvd onto HD & then into sony vegas...

were you having problems demuxing or inputting the resultants into Vegas?
__________________
We all see only that which we are trained to see.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2007-11-19, 07:12 PM
bigwurock's Avatar
bigwurock bigwurock is offline
stupid monkey
693.59 GB/1.07 TB/1.58
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Re: want to get a dvd onto HD & then into sony vegas...

getting it into sony vegas....i have an old version of tmpgenc..i run it through that & it will go onto my HD but will not let me put it into sony vegas..?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2007-11-20, 04:17 PM
STLBlues's Avatar
STLBlues STLBlues is offline
Seiwa-en
TTD VIP
515.69 GB/744.37 GB/1.44
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ozarks
Re: want to get a dvd onto HD & then into sony vegas...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigwurock
looking to get a dvd show from a standalone dvd recording onto my harddrive and then into sony vegas to synch up new audio...anyone have any ideas..
thanks
When I want to sync up audio to a standalone dvd, I drag & drop the video_ts folder onto my HD. I then use VOB Merge 2.5 to merge the VOB files into one large VOB file. I then drop that file into Vegas and do the audio sync. Both audio and video will be displayed in the Vegas timeline. After the audio is synced up, I use DVD Lab Pro 2.0 to demux (sorry, I don't use TMPGEnc) that single VOB file into the original mpeg2 and the original audio which was attached to that. I exclude that original audio file, and use the synced audio in it's place, then author to DVD. Hopefully that provides some help to your situation.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2007-11-20, 06:24 PM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is online now
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: want to get a dvd onto HD & then into sony vegas...

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLBlues
When I want to sync up audio to a standalone dvd, I drag & drop the video_ts folder onto my HD. I then use VOB Merge 2.5 to merge the VOB files into one large VOB file. I then drop that file into Vegas and do the audio sync. Both audio and video will be displayed in the Vegas timeline. After the audio is synced up, I use DVD Lab Pro 2.0 to demux (sorry, I don't use TMPGEnc) that single VOB file into the original mpeg2 and the original audio which was attached to that. I exclude that original audio file, and use the synced audio in it's place, then author to DVD. Hopefully that provides some help to your situation.
what version of Vegas are you using that allows you to input the .vob file. and why do you merge it? Are you sure it's not altering the files when it merges?
__________________
We all see only that which we are trained to see.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2007-11-20, 09:44 PM
bigwurock's Avatar
bigwurock bigwurock is offline
stupid monkey
693.59 GB/1.07 TB/1.58
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Re: want to get a dvd onto HD & then into sony vegas...

i am using sony vegas 6....i have 2 shows from a standalone that will not go into vegas...i am going to try another show just to see if it will go into vegas...i haven't used my tmpgenc program for some time...maybe i forgot how.. ..but i have tried about 10 times to get those dvds into vegas with no luck....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2007-11-20, 09:44 PM
bigwurock's Avatar
bigwurock bigwurock is offline
stupid monkey
693.59 GB/1.07 TB/1.58
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Re: want to get a dvd onto HD & then into sony vegas...

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLBlues
When I want to sync up audio to a standalone dvd, I drag & drop the video_ts folder onto my HD. I then use VOB Merge 2.5 to merge the VOB files into one large VOB file. I then drop that file into Vegas and do the audio sync. Both audio and video will be displayed in the Vegas timeline. After the audio is synced up, I use DVD Lab Pro 2.0 to demux (sorry, I don't use TMPGEnc) that single VOB file into the original mpeg2 and the original audio which was attached to that. I exclude that original audio file, and use the synced audio in it's place, then author to DVD. Hopefully that provides some help to your situation.

thanks for the info...will give it a try also...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2007-11-20, 10:34 PM
bigwurock's Avatar
bigwurock bigwurock is offline
stupid monkey
693.59 GB/1.07 TB/1.58
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Re: want to get a dvd onto HD & then into sony vegas...

well i know it is not my tmpgenc program..i was able to get a dvd to work just fine and inport it into vegas.....now when i went back to try one of the standalone dvd recordings, the video was able to go into sony vegas but there is no sound...so all i get is just the video...i get this pop up..

the selected dvd contains a title with an unsupported audio format....

any ideas..?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2007-11-20, 10:37 PM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is online now
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: want to get a dvd onto HD & then into sony vegas...

i think ac3 is a separate plugin in some versions of vegas. i can't remember. maybe you need to install/register the ac3 part.

audio from standalone = ac3
__________________
We all see only that which we are trained to see.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #13  
Old 2007-11-20, 11:14 PM
bigwurock's Avatar
bigwurock bigwurock is offline
stupid monkey
693.59 GB/1.07 TB/1.58
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Re: want to get a dvd onto HD & then into sony vegas...

would i want to multiplex or demultiplex the dvd in tmpgenc program...?...the standalone dvd is in ac3 audio....

Last edited by bigwurock; 2007-11-20 at 11:22 PM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #14  
Old 2007-11-21, 08:00 AM
pawel's Avatar
pawel pawel is offline
Lockout here
370.16 GB/672.37 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Poland
Re: want to get a dvd onto HD & then into sony vegas...

demultiplex (aka demux). Multiplex process joins separate video file (mpv/m2v) with audio (ac3/mp2/wav) into mpg or vob(s).

As Saltman mentioned: standard version of Vegas has not built in AC3 format read/write function, and you would need to purchase a separate plugin or I think better option would be to upgrade to 'Paltinum' version: http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/...=447&PageID=88

I can't find now any info on the Sony pages about the plugin - maybe it's obsolete. When it was available it costed around $200, nonsense...

Please note that if you import AC3 and you will make any kind of editing the file will be re-converted which means degradation as the format is lossy.

There is a free and very good AC3 import plugin for Adobe Audition / Cool Edit Pro. Thus if you want to edit a file it can be an additional solution: http://www.vuplayer.com/audition.php
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #15  
Old 2009-08-10, 12:18 PM
Homebrew101's Avatar
Homebrew101 Homebrew101 is offline
1.35 TB/1.44 TB/1.07
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: City of Festivals
Re: want to get a dvd onto HD & then into sony vegas...

Quote:
Originally Posted by pawel View Post
demultiplex (aka demux). Multiplex process joins separate video file (mpv/m2v) with audio (ac3/mp2/wav) into mpg or vob(s).

As Saltman mentioned: standard version of Vegas has not built in AC3 format read/write function, and you would need to purchase a separate plugin or I think better option would be to upgrade to 'Paltinum' version: http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/...=447&PageID=88

I can't find now any info on the Sony pages about the plugin - maybe it's obsolete. When it was available it costed around $200, nonsense...

Please note that if you import AC3 and you will make any kind of editing the file will be re-converted which means degradation as the format is lossy.
There is a free and very good AC3 import plugin for Adobe Audition / Cool Edit Pro. Thus if you want to edit a file it can be an additional solution: http://www.vuplayer.com/audition.php
I want to edit a dvd made on a SA so AC3 here, does this mean it will definitely re-encode and be lossy? It was transferred from VHS and has snippets of the commercials etc. that I wish to cut out.

I have both Vegas Pro 9 and TMPGenc 3 and am trying to figure out how to use them, if there are any good tutorials someone could link it might help me.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by daddyray View Post
I got a big bunch of dick, I am measuring it with a chicken.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
ripping .wav from cds to use in sony vegas - rushfanyyz Technobabble 5 2008-08-15 03:24 PM
sony vegas 6.0 help - wolf_in Technobabble 9 2007-02-22 01:41 PM
help with 2 cam mix with sony vegas 6 - bigwurock Technobabble 8 2006-04-21 08:52 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts