The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2007-02-21, 11:31 PM
wolf_in's Avatar
wolf_in wolf_in is offline
538.57 GB/237.45 GB/0.44
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
sony vegas 6.0 help

i am trying to make a video with vegas and i have a few ? and i hope some one can help me out with some info.my first ? is dropped frames what is the cause for this when i captured the film i hade something like 28,000 dropped frames is this normal.second ? i put a new audio source in the video and when i tryed to save it i was not for sure what kind of file to save it as so i saved it as a windows movie avi and it saved 5 different files 3.99gb each is this normal.and third ? is what the hell do i do next.any help would be very helpful.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2007-02-22, 12:42 AM
DanielG's Avatar
DanielG DanielG is offline
219.01 GB/268.40 GB/1.23
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Re: sony vegas 6.0 help

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolf_in
my first ? is dropped frames what is the cause for this when i captured the film i hade something like 28,000 dropped frames is this normal.
28,000 frames is not normal. You should be aiming for 0 dropped frames.
The main reason for having dropped frames is because your hard drive cannot keep up with the video while you're transferring it from your camera.
Some things to try:
1. Defragment your hard disk
2. Capture your video to a dedicated hard disk (a hard disk that does not contain your operating system and program files)
3. While capturing - don't use your computer. Turn off your virus protection, stop using the internet, close down all unnecessary programs (especially if you only have 1 hard disk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolf_in
second ? i put a new audio source in the video and when i tryed to save it i was not for sure what kind of file to save it as so i saved it as a windows movie avi and it saved 5 different files 3.99gb each is this normal.
You should be exporting (also known as rendering) your video to the MPEG-2 format. That is the format the DVDs use. You will need to specify a bitrate for your video depending on how long your concert is. Check out this link for a bitrate calculator: http://dvd-hq.info/Calculator.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolf_in
third ? is what the hell do i do next.
After you have encoded your video to MPG and exported your audio to .mp2, .ac3 or .wav, you will need to use an "authoring" program to create your menus, chapter points and create the DVD structure. Sony makes an authoring package called DVD Architect. Other examples include DVD-Lab (http://www.mediachance.com) and TMPGEnc DVD Author (http://tmpgenc.pegasys-inc.com/en/product/tda20.html)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2007-02-22, 12:54 AM
DanielG's Avatar
DanielG DanielG is offline
219.01 GB/268.40 GB/1.23
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Re: sony vegas 6.0 help

One more thing - this is part of answer 2:

You will also need to export your audio. You can encode it to the .mp2, .ac3 format or just leave it as .wav (PCM).
Make sure the bitate of your video + audio bitrate does not exceed the maximum as defined by the DVD specification. The bitrate calculator link above will help you with that.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2007-02-22, 09:42 AM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
466.35 GB/589.86 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: sony vegas 6.0 help

I dont like to capture clips either... I like one long capture. which will be about 13 gb per hour of dv footage. There is a setting in the capture options screen that is something about determining capture length. uncheck this option so it captures one clip.

do searches here... there is a lot of info you are asking here.
__________________
We all see only that which we are trained to see.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2007-02-22, 10:18 AM
dmb2much dmb2much is offline
TTD VIP
869.67 GB/5.12 TB/6.02
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Utah
Re: sony vegas 6.0 help

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolf_in
i am trying to make a video with vegas and i have a few ? and i hope some one can help me out with some info.my first ? is dropped frames what is the cause for this when i captured the film i hade something like 28,000 dropped frames is this normal.second ? i put a new audio source in the video and when i tryed to save it i was not for sure what kind of file to save it as so i saved it as a windows movie avi and it saved 5 different files 3.99gb each is this normal.and third ? is what the hell do i do next.any help would be very helpful.
Sounds like your harddrive may be formatted FAT32 rather than NTFS. This would explain the 4GB file size, which is the maximum for FAT32.
__________________
Nate
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2007-02-22, 10:34 AM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
466.35 GB/589.86 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: sony vegas 6.0 help

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmb2much
Sounds like your harddrive may be formatted FAT32 rather than NTFS. This would explain the 4GB file size, which is the maximum for FAT32.
That is a good point to check.... this could cause the clips also.... although I think it would just stop and not make clips.

OPTIONS > PREFERENCES > CAPTURE > ENABLE DV SCENE DETECTION

that was the setting I couldn't remember above. You want to have it unchecked so it doesn't cut the capture into clips.
__________________
We all see only that which we are trained to see.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2007-02-22, 11:52 AM
fanofthemule fanofthemule is offline
I should be working
1.84 TB/1.62 TB/0.88
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: sony vegas 6.0 help

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielG
28,000 frames is not normal. You should be aiming for 0 dropped frames.
The main reason for having dropped frames is because your hard drive cannot keep up with the video while you're transferring it from your camera.
Some things to try:
1. Defragment your hard disk
2. Capture your video to a dedicated hard disk (a hard disk that does not contain your operating system and program files)
3. While capturing - don't use your computer. Turn off your virus protection, stop using the internet, close down all unnecessary programs (especially if you only have 1 hard disk)


You should be exporting (also known as rendering) your video to the MPEG-2 format. That is the format the DVDs use. You will need to specify a bitrate for your video depending on how long your concert is. Check out this link for a bitrate calculator: http://dvd-hq.info/Calculator.html


After you have encoded your video to MPG and exported your audio to .mp2, .ac3 or .wav, you will need to use an "authoring" program to create your menus, chapter points and create the DVD structure. Sony makes an authoring package called DVD Architect. Other examples include DVD-Lab (http://www.mediachance.com) and TMPGEnc DVD Author (http://tmpgenc.pegasys-inc.com/en/product/tda20.html)

That's good advice about the capturing. I had over 90% of my hard drive free and still got some dropped frames when capturing. I defraged and it worked perfectly after that. A friend also had his laptop and was capturing a video at my house and an antivirus reminder popped up and caused a few dropped frames. Turn off every program and dedicate your cpu to capturing when capturing.
__________________
I'm always up for a DVD trade
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2007-02-22, 01:28 PM
wolf_in's Avatar
wolf_in wolf_in is offline
538.57 GB/237.45 GB/0.44
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Re: sony vegas 6.0 help

thanks for all the info.i do shut every thing down when capturing and also defraged my E drive the drive i use to save and it is a fat32.it being a fat32 and not a ntfs is their a way to reformat the drive.and i will recapture using what saltman said.again thanks for all the input.and i will give all these things a try
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2007-02-22, 01:39 PM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
466.35 GB/589.86 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: sony vegas 6.0 help

fat32 to NTFS

http://www.aumha.org/win5/a/ntfscvt.php
__________________
We all see only that which we are trained to see.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2007-02-22, 01:41 PM
dmb2much dmb2much is offline
TTD VIP
869.67 GB/5.12 TB/6.02
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Utah
Re: sony vegas 6.0 help

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolf_in
thanks for all the info.i do shut every thing down when capturing and also defraged my E drive the drive i use to save and it is a fat32.it being a fat32 and not a ntfs is their a way to reformat the drive.and i will recapture using what saltman said.again thanks for all the input.and i will give all these things a try
In "My Computer", Right click the specified drive select format and next choose NTFS, under File System. I'm assuming this is not the same drive that the OS is installed on? Oh and you will loose whatever is on the drive, with this method.
__________________
Nate
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
want to get a dvd onto HD & then into sony vegas... - bigwurock Technobabble 16 2009-08-14 12:04 PM
ripping .wav from cds to use in sony vegas - rushfanyyz Technobabble 5 2008-08-15 03:24 PM
help with 2 cam mix with sony vegas 6 - bigwurock Technobabble 8 2006-04-21 08:52 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts