The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble


Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?

Thread Tools
Old 2006-11-10, 09:50 AM
bocajoes bocajoes is offline
331.76 GB/353.60 GB/1.07
Join Date: Jun 2005
Firewall question

I set up my Bit Torrent client about three months ago. I followed the port mapping structions to the letter and I thought everything was a go. Initially, I was getting firewall notifications but after a day or so they went away and everything was flowing. After my intital setup, I did nothing.

Yesterday I started to receive firewall notification again yet I changed NOTHING. I checked my port mapping and everything is set up according to the instructions. It is clear that people are able to upload from me because I get upload speed readings (46kbps for the recent Pink Floyd "final echoes" upload).

If I am getting decent upload speeds for other people then how can I be firewalled? If I followed the port mapping instructions to the letter, how can I be firewalled. I am confused and I really want to give back to all of the generous uploaders on this site. A little help, please?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Old 2006-11-10, 10:35 AM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
469.38 GB/2.01 TB/4.39
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Firewall question

All it means to be firewalled is that you may not connect to other people who are also firewalled. So, if you are on a torrent with a lot of non-firewalled people, everything will run just fine. However, if you get on a torrent that mostly has firewalled people, then you will only be able to connect to the non-firewalled people and speeds may be much lower (because don't forget that those other firewalled people may only connect to the non-firewalled people also).

(Sometimes I go firewalled for no known reason, but it usually disappears either in a couple of hours or after stopping/starting the torrent.)
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Old 2006-11-11, 07:10 AM
dross1167 dross1167 is offline
1.51 GB/28.41 GB/18.78
Join Date: Mar 2006
Re: Firewall question

I'm having the exact same problem this week. Everything was running great with Azureus for over a week, no firewall issues etc. Yesterday I started showing up as firewalled both in Azureus and here on the site. Nothing has changed on my system. Frustrating.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Old 2006-11-12, 07:30 AM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Firewall question

do as Lynne said...happens to me every few weeks or so, i was actually showing as firewalled this morning...simply stopped my torrents, closed azureus and i'm not
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Firewall Question - wild_eyed Technobabble 6 2012-10-28 12:31 AM
Yet another Firewall question - rdnzl88 Technobabble 2 2008-02-13 11:25 AM
Firewall Question - livejamz Technobabble 10 2007-07-01 10:24 AM
Yet another firewall question - KingCustean Technobabble 9 2006-06-16 09:54 PM
Another firewall question (I know, I know...) - Nashtacular Technobabble 2 2006-06-13 10:39 PM

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts