The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2016-04-25, 05:46 PM
janzarick janzarick is offline
305.01 GB/239.74 GB/0.79
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
One more firewall question

At the risk of sounding stoopid - Can I UNfirewall my pc without affecting the other pc's on the router? I am a guest at home and the other pc's here are used extensively for business and don't want to screw anything.Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2016-04-25, 10:00 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: One more firewall question

I am pretty sure you can. You didn't say HOW you were firewalled. If your computer is firewalling you, then you can turn it off for just your computer. If the router is firewalling you, then you can just port forward your port for whatever you want.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2016-04-26, 12:14 AM
janzarick janzarick is offline
305.01 GB/239.74 GB/0.79
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Re: One more firewall question

Thanks for the reply. It is his router. I need to get make, model and go to portfoward and open 6881-6889 correct?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2016-04-26, 09:09 AM
DanielG's Avatar
DanielG DanielG is offline
300.35 GB/438.48 GB/1.46
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Re: One more firewall question

Quote:
Originally Posted by janzarick View Post
Thanks for the reply. It is his router. I need to get make, model and go to portfoward and open 6881-6889 correct?
It depends what port your bitTorrent client is using.

In order to get port forwarding working you need:

1. You local IP address (the IP address on your network. Note: your PCs IP address may change each time you reboot your PC so you will either need to give your computer a static IP address OR you can log onto your router and give your PC a specific IP address)

2. Port used by your bitTorrent client. If you're using uTorrent go to Options --> Setup guide and note down the Current Port value.

Once you have this info, you get use the PortForward.com site to get setup.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Firewall Question - wild_eyed Technobabble 6 2012-10-28 01:31 AM
Firewall Question - livejamz Technobabble 10 2007-07-01 11:24 AM
Firewall question - bocajoes Technobabble 3 2006-11-12 08:30 AM
Firewall question - elazenby19 Technobabble 2 2006-10-24 12:38 AM
Yet another firewall question - KingCustean Technobabble 9 2006-06-16 10:54 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts