The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2011-04-08, 05:34 PM
daddyray's Avatar
daddyray daddyray is offline
wanna buy me a drink????
1.32 TB/1.80 TB/1.36
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: serenity
Sony Bravia HDMI audio sync

for some time I have had a couple of sony Bravia tvs which are very nice. I use HDMI cords because I can.. However when I hooked up an AV receiver so as to run the audio through my stereo speakers (I like stereo over 5.1...sue me) the audio would lag making watching concerts horrible..in the olden times I just ran rca cords outta the cable box or dvd play into the stereo and I was good..NOT with these tvs.

What I did instead is to run rca off of the audio outs on the TV itself and then went into the deep menu areas on the TVS (different between the two Bravia sets...bother) and found a setting called HDMI sync (set to ON postion) which seems to have fixed to issue..
hooray for LOUD
__________________
"We're here to have a ball." Art Blakey
"Reality is a hallucination brought on by lack of alcohol." Graham Chapman
"I'll drink to your health til it ruins mine" Art Blakey
"Trust a pro" Keith Richards
"here is my offer: nothing" Mike C
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2011-04-08, 05:50 PM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: Sony Bravia HDMI audio sync

you should have your DVD/Bluray components connected HDMI into your A/V receiver
..then HDMI out from the A/V receiver to the Bravia

DVD/Bluray > A/V Receiver > HDTV

capisce?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2011-04-08, 05:58 PM
paddington's Avatar
paddington paddington is offline
please look after this bear
TTD Staff
83.17 GB/882.10 GB/10.61
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Re: Sony Bravia HDMI audio sync

Braviasync is da bomb dot com. Does nearly everything for you !
__________________
"There are some of these recordings where it is just a whirring, and you cannot hear the music. " - Jimmy Page, 2007 / JUL / 26
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2011-04-08, 06:06 PM
daddyray's Avatar
daddyray daddyray is offline
wanna buy me a drink????
1.32 TB/1.80 TB/1.36
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: serenity
Re: Sony Bravia HDMI audio sync

not HDMI compatible AV receiver so that ain't happening. HDMI out from Bluray and HDMI out from the HD cable box deal into the Bravia. I f I ran rca cords audio out from those input sources I got lag. Running RCA cords out of the TV audio into the receiver and setting HDMI sync to on within TVs menus straightened out the sync. Now there is an odd interaction between my tv remotes volume and the stereo speak volume but what the fuck it gets plenty loud when set smartly.

I understand what you are saying Wolf and that seems correct but not when some stuff is HDMI and some is not....

Now do I drag my best B&Ws into the family room? probably not as they are free standing and I have nice old IMF book shelf speakers up now.
__________________
"We're here to have a ball." Art Blakey
"Reality is a hallucination brought on by lack of alcohol." Graham Chapman
"I'll drink to your health til it ruins mine" Art Blakey
"Trust a pro" Keith Richards
"here is my offer: nothing" Mike C
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2011-04-08, 06:07 PM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: Sony Bravia HDMI audio sync

gotcha.. without the HDMI receiver you're kinda stuck.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2011-04-08, 06:09 PM
daddyray's Avatar
daddyray daddyray is offline
wanna buy me a drink????
1.32 TB/1.80 TB/1.36
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: serenity
Re: Sony Bravia HDMI audio sync

it is working great so how am I fucked? that makes no sense...and ya know my name ain't Charlie, Clyde.

the picture and audio sync is perfect now. it was just odd to hook up.

(see this post is all about finding my way around the lack of HDMI for my receiver..since I had trouble I thought I'd share the solution)
__________________
"We're here to have a ball." Art Blakey
"Reality is a hallucination brought on by lack of alcohol." Graham Chapman
"I'll drink to your health til it ruins mine" Art Blakey
"Trust a pro" Keith Richards
"here is my offer: nothing" Mike C
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2011-04-08, 06:11 PM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: Sony Bravia HDMI audio sync

you're using your TV audio out as a source into the receiver. thats cool
i thought you may have been wondering why the sync was off.. nevermind
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2011-04-08, 06:28 PM
daddyray's Avatar
daddyray daddyray is offline
wanna buy me a drink????
1.32 TB/1.80 TB/1.36
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: serenity
Re: Sony Bravia HDMI audio sync

I have attenuation for that since it is an old HK thing and the speakers are odd n old too.
__________________
"We're here to have a ball." Art Blakey
"Reality is a hallucination brought on by lack of alcohol." Graham Chapman
"I'll drink to your health til it ruins mine" Art Blakey
"Trust a pro" Keith Richards
"here is my offer: nothing" Mike C
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2011-04-09, 10:26 AM
stoner's Avatar
stoner stoner is offline
197.33 GB/287.44 GB/1.46
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Re: Sony Bravia HDMI audio sync

Quote:
Originally Posted by daddyrayoll View Post
I have attenuation for that since it is an old HK thing and the speakers are odd n old too.
I hook up mine coming out of the tv so i can choose when to listen Thu the tv and stereo or just tv..
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2011-04-09, 10:49 AM
daddyray's Avatar
daddyray daddyray is offline
wanna buy me a drink????
1.32 TB/1.80 TB/1.36
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: serenity
Re: Sony Bravia HDMI audio sync

^^^ yep that is what I did as well. works nicely
__________________
"We're here to have a ball." Art Blakey
"Reality is a hallucination brought on by lack of alcohol." Graham Chapman
"I'll drink to your health til it ruins mine" Art Blakey
"Trust a pro" Keith Richards
"here is my offer: nothing" Mike C
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2011-04-09, 11:28 AM
dcbullet's Avatar
dcbullet dcbullet is offline
Anti-Temperance League
TTD Staff
68.39 GB/422.37 GB/6.18
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Re: Sony Bravia HDMI audio sync

I use PS3, has both hdmi and analog out and you can use them simultaneously. hdmi to the tv and analog to the receiver.

winning.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2011-04-09, 11:35 AM
daddyray's Avatar
daddyray daddyray is offline
wanna buy me a drink????
1.32 TB/1.80 TB/1.36
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: serenity
Re: Sony Bravia HDMI audio sync

when I ran analog straight to the receiver there was a lag..... through the TV cleared that up.
none of our games systems are not in that room.
__________________
"We're here to have a ball." Art Blakey
"Reality is a hallucination brought on by lack of alcohol." Graham Chapman
"I'll drink to your health til it ruins mine" Art Blakey
"Trust a pro" Keith Richards
"here is my offer: nothing" Mike C
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #13  
Old 2011-04-09, 11:55 AM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: Sony Bravia HDMI audio sync

you still need a proper HDMI receiver for DTS-HD / Dolby TrueHD decoding.. resistance is futile.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #14  
Old 2011-04-09, 12:03 PM
paddington's Avatar
paddington paddington is offline
please look after this bear
TTD Staff
83.17 GB/882.10 GB/10.61
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Re: Sony Bravia HDMI audio sync

there's usually a configurable audio delay in the TV menus that will assist in clearing up any issues that might remain when channling the audio through the TV.
__________________
"There are some of these recordings where it is just a whirring, and you cannot hear the music. " - Jimmy Page, 2007 / JUL / 26
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #15  
Old 2011-04-09, 12:09 PM
daddyray's Avatar
daddyray daddyray is offline
wanna buy me a drink????
1.32 TB/1.80 TB/1.36
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: serenity
Re: Sony Bravia HDMI audio sync

it works I'm good til it breaks
__________________
"We're here to have a ball." Art Blakey
"Reality is a hallucination brought on by lack of alcohol." Graham Chapman
"I'll drink to your health til it ruins mine" Art Blakey
"Trust a pro" Keith Richards
"here is my offer: nothing" Mike C
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Tags
dad needs a new receiver, how to jerry-rig your stereo on stoli

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
HD audio sync - optiplex2 Technobabble 2 2009-09-20 12:21 PM
Dvd Audio/video sync fix - GeoffP Technobabble 1 2007-10-29 06:03 PM
No audio when I FF to missing video section w/audio sync - aikox2 Technobabble 0 2006-08-26 04:24 PM
Audio sync Question - pigebear Technobabble 3 2006-04-10 07:10 PM
Video out of sync with audio - silentmachine Technobabble 8 2004-12-07 03:16 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts