The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2010-10-29, 03:39 AM
GRC's Avatar
GRC GRC is offline
Trader since 1980
1.86 TB/1.37 TB/0.73
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Standalone FLAC player to connect to HiFi

Has anyone looked at or bought a standalone FLAC player or similar to connect up to their HiFi system rather than playing back on PC?

I'm looking at other forums where there's mention of Squeezebox, Olive 4HD, and a variety of other high-end units. Found most of them at www.ripcaster.co.uk

Is anyone using anything like this?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2010-10-29, 01:33 PM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: Standalone FLAC player to connect to HiFi

I have an Acer Revo 3610 that connects to my stereo. It works very nice.

However, if I had it to do all over again I would build a faster shuttle box or similar micro-atx htpc. for just a little more money. It would give you more power for the video side of things.
__________________
We all see only that which we are trained to see.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2010-10-30, 12:34 PM
oxymoron
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Standalone FLAC player to connect to HiFi

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltman View Post
I have an Acer Revo 3610 that connects to my stereo. It works very nice..
only 16Bit or 24Bit sound output?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2010-10-30, 12:37 PM
oxymoron
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Standalone FLAC player to connect to HiFi

Logitech Squeezebox™ Touch
up to 24Bit/96kHz !!!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2010-10-31, 12:52 AM
Scott Scott is offline
305.86 GB/764.55 GB/2.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bottom of a bottle
Re: Standalone FLAC player to connect to HiFi

Many options here:

http://flac.sourceforge.net/links.html#hardware
__________________
ROMNEY 2012
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2010-10-31, 09:23 AM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: Standalone FLAC player to connect to HiFi

Quote:
Originally Posted by oxymoron View Post
only 16Bit or 24Bit sound output?
24 bit via hdmi.

ar3700 is the new one with the ion2 chip in it. The initial benchmarks on other systems were lower than the normal ion I haven't looked up the ones in this model but it was supposed to be faster.
__________________
We all see only that which we are trained to see.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2010-11-01, 10:14 AM
oxymoron
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Standalone FLAC player to connect to HiFi

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltman View Post
24 bit via hdmi.

ar3700 is the new one with the ion2 chip in it. The initial benchmarks on other systems were lower than the normal ion I haven't looked up the ones in this model but it was supposed to be faster.
cool, much better as some of the standalone palyers, they have often a miserable menue. and a big fuck, after change from dvd to flac sound you must go into the menue
a pc is much better
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2010-11-01, 10:20 AM
Miles Long's Avatar
Miles Long Miles Long is offline
keeping it in the crease
67.62 GB/35.77 GB/0.53
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Re: Standalone FLAC player to connect to HiFi

I'll put a couple flac shows on my blackberry and hook it up to my stereo.
__________________
John Lennon's an amazing person who is brilliant, is brilliant. There is no question about it. John Lennon is a saint and he is heavy duty and he is great and I love him. But, at the same time, he is such a bastard.
-George Harrison

http://borntwolose.blogspot.com/
ALL FILES FLAC
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2010-11-02, 05:05 AM
GRC's Avatar
GRC GRC is offline
Trader since 1980
1.86 TB/1.37 TB/0.73
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Re: Standalone FLAC player to connect to HiFi

My definition of standalone FLAC player doesn't include laptops or desktop PCs......

The PC stays in the study, standalone pieces of HiFi kit go in the music room....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2010-11-05, 01:34 PM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: Standalone FLAC player to connect to HiFi

Quote:
Originally Posted by GRC View Post
My definition of standalone FLAC player doesn't include laptops or desktop PCs......

The PC stays in the study, standalone pieces of HiFi kit go in the music room....
If you are going to hook it up to the network, I don't understand you hesitation with computers. If burned discs, I don't understand at all.
__________________
We all see only that which we are trained to see.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2010-11-05, 06:38 PM
rspencer's Avatar
rspencer rspencer is offline
TTD Hoarder
TTD Staff
262.05 GB/271.31 GB/1.04
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: the outer limits
Re: Standalone FLAC player to connect to HiFi

I actually plan to buy a desktop just for media. You can get one so cheap, why pay just as much for a dedicated stand-alone piece of hardware?
__________________
My main list .... My masters

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcbullet View Post
Sometimes im dense.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcbullet View Post
I hate not being a real man.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2010-11-05, 06:43 PM
Scott Scott is offline
305.86 GB/764.55 GB/2.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bottom of a bottle
Re: Standalone FLAC player to connect to HiFi

The key piece of equipment when using a computer to play music files over your system is a DAC. Computers just aren't made for music alone therefor the converters within the system suck. Spend the money and get a DAC. it will make the experience a bit better.
__________________
ROMNEY 2012
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #13  
Old 2010-11-05, 08:03 PM
sysoverload sysoverload is offline
3.75 GB/4.22 MB/0.00
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Re: Standalone FLAC player to connect to HiFi

most newer HTPCs have a digital coaxial or fiber optic ouput, so you can go straight from your PC to your digital pre or digital receiver, and use their built in DACs. If you don't have a preamp or receiver with digital inputs, then an external DAC is the best way to go.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #14  
Old 2010-11-06, 09:16 AM
Owy's Avatar
Owy Owy is offline
245.52 GB/143.77 GB/0.59
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Re: Standalone FLAC player to connect to HiFi

I just bought a Logitech Squeezebox Duet, for this very thing- getting fed up with so many cd-rs about the place.

I have to say that although it was a bit fiddly to set up, it works fantastically- and at the price is extremely good value. It's absolutely ideal for listening to downloads and tape and vinyl transfers via a NAS/external drive, when you want serious audio performance as opposed to naff PC audio reproduction.

I am now considering getting a Cambridge Audio DAC Magic to go with it, to upgrade the digi analogue converter performance.
__________________
ISO- Beardfish live recordings

-To Defy the laws of tradition... is a crusade only of the brave...-
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #15  
Old 2010-11-06, 11:43 AM
oxymoron
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Standalone FLAC player to connect to HiFi

I see the ease of use in the pc.
For high demand but you should work only with ASIO drivers.
an external sound card is of course better than a built-in (HF disorders).
my playersoft for flac/wav are cPlay
http://cicsmemoryplayer.com/index.php?n=CPlay.Features

with the new versions of some logitech´s you can also play 24Bit/96kHz very nice!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Standalone to Standalone DVD copying Yes or NO? - scoutthedoggie Technobabble 6 2007-05-08 02:52 PM
FM>HiFi VCR>VHS>WAV>EAC>FLAC but is it lossy? - taygan Lossy or Lossless? 7 2006-01-31 01:46 PM
direct connect? - Swifty Technobabble 4 2005-09-14 04:29 PM
How come you don't connect to everybody? - Tate Technobabble 4 2005-06-04 05:47 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts