The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2010-07-26, 06:58 PM
mudshark68's Avatar
mudshark68 mudshark68 is offline
632.41 GB/4.66 TB/7.54
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 742 Evergreen Terrace
What's the best way to post a spectrum?

I'm trying to post a spectrum. I've never done it before. Easily done with EAC? Is it as easy as displaying a wav using Spectral View and posting a screen shot?

TIA for any help.
__________________
May your shit come to life and kiss you on the face.
-- Frank Zappa, to Mrs. Gore about parental advisory labels on album covers
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2010-07-27, 01:34 AM
tonebloke's Avatar
tonebloke tonebloke is offline
491.13 GB/783.96 GB/1.60
 
Join Date: May 2009
Re: What's the best way to post a spectrum?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mudshark68 View Post
Is it as easy as displaying a wav using Spectral View and posting a screen shot?
Yes. Hit "print screen" then paste it in "paint". and save.
__________________
" Your tin cup and string "recorder" is worse than a Zoom, which is saying a lot".
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2010-07-27, 03:02 AM
paddington's Avatar
paddington paddington is offline
please look after this bear
TTD Staff
83.17 GB/882.10 GB/10.61
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Re: What's the best way to post a spectrum?

The EAC spectrum analyzer is pretty useless, same for the other popular free apps. The best to use is Cool Edit Pro 2.x or Adobe Audition (same application, really) if you are looking for signs of lossy data compression.
__________________
"There are some of these recordings where it is just a whirring, and you cannot hear the music. " - Jimmy Page, 2007 / JUL / 26
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2010-07-27, 03:36 AM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: What's the best way to post a spectrum?

hey james, whats yer take on audacity's SA compared to cool edit/audition?
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Very Top Spectrum Cut - PLEASE HELP! - Powerfan Lossy or Lossless? 3 2010-07-03 05:25 PM
SHM-CD Spectrum... - bludsucker Lossy or Lossless? 0 2010-05-09 12:38 AM
i can't post to this post (link inside) - powrslave Technobabble 1 2007-07-25 10:48 PM
Confusing LP2 spectrum - oldbrokentapes Lossy or Lossless? 17 2005-07-12 04:21 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts