The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2009-12-12, 03:23 PM
woodstockfan woodstockfan is offline
232.92 GB/149.45 GB/0.64
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Burning Speed on Quad Core

Hey -

Till a week ago, I was on an old Pentium 4. I always burned cd's at 8 speed and dvd's at 4 speed. From what I've read, those are the best speeds without being ridiculous (single speed!).

Now I have a quad core pc with Windows 7. My instincts as a music collector tell me to keep it the same - I'm not in a rush when I burn cd's and I'd rather them be done right.

Assuming I burn things with Warcraft not loaded and just Firefox and irc open, what speeds do you all use?

Btw - I love Trader's Little Helper. Coolest freeware out there!!

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2009-12-12, 03:25 PM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: Burning Speed on Quad Core

always allow the computer and burner to negotiate the correct speed.

(also the CD/DVD has microcode that also determines burn speed)

the slow burn solution is a myth - CD's dont last 100yrs - there is no easter bunny

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2009-12-12, 03:27 PM
woodstockfan woodstockfan is offline
232.92 GB/149.45 GB/0.64
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: Burning Speed on Quad Core

I appreciate your reply. When I'd do that on my old pc, at 40 speed, the cd's wouldn't burn right. But at 8 or 16 speed, it was fine.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2009-12-12, 03:31 PM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: Burning Speed on Quad Core

then you needed a new burner / new pc

and/or had open programs requesting thread priority over your burn. (causing stop/start write errors to disc)
no different than people wondering why they can't burn DVD9 discs correctly.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Dual-Core Processor for Encoding - Aimee Wilbury Technobabble 15 2009-04-07 06:58 PM
ISO: Rage Against the Machine 10/23/1991 Live at the Quad, Northridge, CA - Salva Veritate ISO - In Search Of... 0 2007-07-09 06:15 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts