The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2009-12-12, 09:41 AM
billsweeps's Avatar
billsweeps billsweeps is offline
103.47 GB/62.40 GB/0.60
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Question Firewall, ratio not accurate

Hey all,
I have downloaded a clapton show and let is seed now to 3.7 ratio in Vuze. On my account here it shows (8.94 GB/1.58 GB/0.18)
I have uploaded 8.93 GB out of 11GB total that Ive downloaded. My firewall still shows red even though I have done all the configuring suggested for my Linksys router. All the icons are yellow or blue but never green.

Anyone have any ideas on how I can fix this all this to get my ratio to its true amount?

Thanks
Bill
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2009-12-12, 09:53 AM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: Firewall, ratio not accurate

good morning bill

the 1.58 is your upload stat. You've downloaded 8.94GB.

as far as your firewall, ensure the IP address of your workstation has not changed from what you entered in your linksys router.

if by chance you're not using DHCP, then check your software for possible firewall permissions issues.

you can always verify the torrent client port at: www.canyouseeme.org
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2009-12-12, 10:45 AM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Firewall, ratio not accurate

The only show you are shown to be (unsuccessfully) trying to seed is this one - Freddie King 1975-10-19 Onkel Ps Carnegie Hall - Hamburg, Germany (FLAC) We don't show you on a Clapton show at all. Make sure you turn DHT OFF. If you have it ON, then you can possibly be seeding and bypassing the tracker. If you bypass the tracker, then that means you aren't updating the tracker with your upload/download stats at all.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2009-12-12, 11:53 AM
billsweeps's Avatar
billsweeps billsweeps is offline
103.47 GB/62.40 GB/0.60
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Re: Firewall, ratio not accurate

Thank you for the replies.
I have DHCP ON because I dont have the DNS number to fill in all the fields of my wireless connection in XP. My IP has not changed 192.168.1.106 and that is the IP I am using in my router for the ports.

What do i put for my DNS? I am using comcast service.

Thanks Bill
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2009-12-12, 12:33 PM
billsweeps's Avatar
billsweeps billsweeps is offline
103.47 GB/62.40 GB/0.60
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Re: Firewall, ratio not accurate

quick thought. Is the static IP supposed to be set on my router or just my pc ? sorry if its a stupid question but i thought static ip's from an isp or an additional cost ya know.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2009-12-12, 02:16 PM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: Firewall, ratio not accurate

a static IP is a dedicated number that you personally entered in a device.

DHCP is dynamic.. its a leased number that may change without notice.
(Your linksys router by default is a DHCP server.. handing out IP's to devices on your network)

if you manually enter an IP in the workstation then manually enter the exact IP in your router to 'forward/open' that port.

(this is true for wireless networks as well. *also you could leave DHCP turned on for 'other devices', yet set a static IP for your computer..BUT ensure that no two devices are using the same IP number.. or they each get knocked offline 'in conflict')
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2009-12-12, 03:30 PM
billsweeps's Avatar
billsweeps billsweeps is offline
103.47 GB/62.40 GB/0.60
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Re: Firewall, ratio not accurate

thats what I thought and I had it that way. Since i am getting Yellow icons in Vuze. I had port ranges of 6881-6889 and 49125-65535 set to this laptop's IP.

Am I using the incorrect ports?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2009-12-12, 03:38 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Firewall, ratio not accurate

I am talking about DHT in your torrent client - decentralized tracking. Go to Preferences > Connection and make sure there is no check next to Decentralized tracking (you must be in Advanced Mode (Preferences > Mode) in order to see this).
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2009-12-12, 03:46 PM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: Firewall, ratio not accurate

^^ take note of what lynne said here - its important.

Quote:
Originally Posted by billsweeps View Post
..Since i am getting Yellow icons in Vuze. I had port ranges of 6881-6889 and 49125-65535 set to this laptop's IP.

Am I using the incorrect ports?
yes. you need to open port: 19571

please reconfig the port number. those generic ports are useless in your current Vuse config.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2009-12-12, 04:01 PM
billsweeps's Avatar
billsweeps billsweeps is offline
103.47 GB/62.40 GB/0.60
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Re: Firewall, ratio not accurate

ok.

I reset my router back to default.

I put in:

Port Range
Application Start End Protocol IP Address Enable
Vuze 19571-19572 BOTH 192.168.1.106 x

My laptop is set to the same static IP.
The Clapton show is seeding around 64kb but yellow. Anything else I can try?

I really do appreciate the help from both of you!!!!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2009-12-12, 04:14 PM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: Firewall, ratio not accurate

now logout of the site/close Vuse >

restart Vuse / logon back into the site

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2009-12-12, 04:25 PM
billsweeps's Avatar
billsweeps billsweeps is offline
103.47 GB/62.40 GB/0.60
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Re: Firewall, ratio not accurate

Quote:
Originally Posted by direwolf-pgh View Post
now logout of the site/close Vuse >

restart Vuse / logon back into the site


OK, Done. Its seeding around 100kb and yellow.
I have uploaded 10.48 GB at ratio of 4.380 just for this Clapton show but its not registering still.

Is the green smile icon a rare thing?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #13  
Old 2009-12-12, 04:26 PM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: Firewall, ratio not accurate

www.canyouseeme.org <--- check port: 19571 here

if still blocked - check for antivirus firewall, OS firewall, etc..etc.

you are configured correctly w/the correct port open, but your wireless may be a ?separate access point? can you hardwire connect to double check?
also, you may need to 'reboot' your linksys for settings to take effect.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Quote:
Originally Posted by billsweeps View Post
I have uploaded 10.48 GB at ratio of 4.380 just for this Clapton show but its not registering still.
Quote:
Originally Posted by U2Lynne View Post
I am talking about DHT in your torrent client - decentralized tracking. Go to Preferences > Connection and make sure there is no check next to Decentralized tracking (you must be in Advanced Mode (Preferences > Mode) in order to see this).
per your ratio question/solution..listen to lynne.

Last edited by direwolf-pgh; 2009-12-12 at 04:33 PM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #14  
Old 2009-12-12, 04:39 PM
billsweeps's Avatar
billsweeps billsweeps is offline
103.47 GB/62.40 GB/0.60
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Re: Firewall, ratio not accurate

ok, I will keep trying.

As for Lynnes tip, I did uncheck the Decentralized Tracking. It was under Connections in the "Peer Sources" section.

Thanks

Oh, and canyouseeme.org gave an error on that port. It suggests No-IP.com but its getting a little to confusing now.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #15  
Old 2009-12-12, 04:43 PM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: Firewall, ratio not accurate

good call. take a break. too many changes at once is a bad thing.

reboot the linksys (unplug/plug back in). This can save a headache.
(personally, I would only enter the single port in that linksys router - you entered two ports)

always test with www.canyouseeme.org

get back with us when you're ready.

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Tags
firewalled, ratio

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
no firewall = no firewall - Bar Technobabble 8 2009-12-13 07:43 AM
Firewall help please - Orn Technobabble 0 2007-08-25 07:10 PM
Firewall - AfroCuban Technobabble 2 2007-08-18 09:03 PM
firewall ? - willipie Technobabble 1 2006-12-13 12:25 PM
Firewall? - blaznphish Technobabble 3 2006-04-06 02:00 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts