The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2005-05-03, 10:36 AM
Lou's Avatar
Lou Lou is offline
VH NEW ORLEANS 7/13/78
118.51 GB/224.41 GB/1.89
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Question about EAC secure/burst extraction

If you extract a CD with EAC in burst mode, and the log file says "Copy OK" for each track, is that the same thing as if you had extracted in secure mode?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2005-05-03, 11:01 AM
irishcrazy2005's Avatar
irishcrazy2005 irishcrazy2005 is offline
Yeah, that's a zebra donkey
110.97 GB/130.20 GB/1.17
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Re: Question about EAC secure/burst extraction

No, it is not. Burst mode does no error checking whatsoever, so the only way you would get an error is if it physically cannot read the track. When you get "Copy OK" in Burst mode, all it means is that the track has been successfully extracted, but it does not mean that it is a bit-by-bit perfect copy (or even a good copy for that matter) of the original.

-Phil
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2005-05-03, 11:13 AM
Lou's Avatar
Lou Lou is offline
VH NEW ORLEANS 7/13/78
118.51 GB/224.41 GB/1.89
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Re: Question about EAC secure/burst extraction

Thanks, I thought there was a difference. However in the log file it also says "no errors occurred"...what does that mean?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2005-05-03, 11:33 AM
irishcrazy2005's Avatar
irishcrazy2005 irishcrazy2005 is offline
Yeah, that's a zebra donkey
110.97 GB/130.20 GB/1.17
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Re: Question about EAC secure/burst extraction

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lou
Thanks, I thought there was a difference. However in the log file it also says "no errors occurred"...what does that mean?
This is because, as far as the program knows, no errors did occur because it did not check for them. Also, it means that you got files out. If you get an error message in burst mode it is very bad because it means that it can't read the track at all.

-Phil
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2005-05-03, 08:20 PM
uhclem
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Question about EAC secure/burst extraction

It's deja vu all over again ...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2005-05-03, 09:40 PM
irishcrazy2005's Avatar
irishcrazy2005 irishcrazy2005 is offline
Yeah, that's a zebra donkey
110.97 GB/130.20 GB/1.17
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Re: Question about EAC secure/burst extraction

Quote:
Originally Posted by uhclem
It's deja vu all over again ...
Haha, no kidding
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Max for Audio Extraction and Conversion on a Mac - cdu Site Announcements & Suggestions 3 2007-03-14 06:27 AM
seeding with Burst! - paulramon Technobabble 4 2007-01-19 08:22 AM
audio extraction from a dvd - mrownu Technobabble 6 2006-03-07 01:07 AM
Discs won't EAC secure, 2nd best option? - emptyzero Technobabble 25 2006-02-01 10:41 AM
Problem with CD extraction - liveman Technobabble 15 2005-03-01 08:23 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts