The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2008-12-01, 05:39 PM
landesm landesm is offline
18.94 GB/19.89 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
converting/splitting

I've been using Trader's Little helper with no probs for some time.
...does it split files?
I was referred to Foobar for this purpose, so I downloaded it from site along with ape support option and installed, but when I tried to convert ape file, I failed with the notice that file was in an unsupported format? Am I missing something? I've re-installed both program and ape option, but no change.
anyone?
m
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2008-12-01, 05:56 PM
xjsb125 xjsb125 is offline
78.22 GB/159.27 GB/2.04
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bristol, VA
Re: converting/splitting

Maybe try installing Monkey's Audio?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2008-12-01, 06:03 PM
Audioarchivist's Avatar
Audioarchivist Audioarchivist is offline
Recording/Mastering Engineer
560.16 GB/1.93 TB/3.54
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Question Re: converting/splitting

If Foobar's not working with ape files, you're doing something wrong with the install...

No, TLH doesn't split files. You need an audio editor like Audacity or something to edit wav files. Not sure if Foobar will split a file - it'll do conversions, but I don't think it's an editor.

Sure grab monkey's audio to convert, but TLH will work for that, too. So will Foobar. But to edit files, no...

Hope that helps.

What exactly are you trying to do?
__________________
"The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side."
- Dr. Hunter S. Thompson (1937-2005)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2008-12-01, 06:20 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: converting/splitting

I guess we should put this in the FAQ
http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...ad.php?t=60462
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2008-12-01, 07:20 PM
landesm landesm is offline
18.94 GB/19.89 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Re: converting/splitting

Thanks to you all.
1. Thanks xj, will install Monkey's Audio. (It couldn't hurt :-) ).
2. Thanks Audioarchivist, do you think xj's suggestion has possible merit, or is
Monkey's Audio irrellevant?
3. As per your suggestion, I will reinstall and give details of exactly what I do so that if something is missing you will hopefully catch.
4. As for what I'm doing: I picked up a recording as a single file, along with a .cue
file detailing the breakdown into tracks. By opening the .cue file in Foobar and then right clicking on the individually indexed tracks, or on the whole of them, and then right clicking, you are given a convert option, will convert in the indexed form, i.e. breaking the file into individual tracks in conversion. If my language is improper, please work with me I'm an ignoramus in these matters, which is why I rely on my patient betters at traders den. Anyway, when I ask for the above, it tries but the conversion (into individually indexed tracks, fails, because, as it says, the file(s) are in an unsupported
format.

As I say, I will take specific notes as I reinstall and elaborate here within the day.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2008-12-01, 08:06 PM
landesm landesm is offline
18.94 GB/19.89 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Re: converting/splitting

hm......
well, I thought I'd use trader's den to just convert the large file to flac.
and see if I could split/convert (by converting from the indexes of opened .cue file)from flac. Still failed, and the notation was "object not found" at the end of each failed
track conversion.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2008-12-01, 09:29 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: converting/splitting

the only way I know is to lay it out in audacity/audition/cdwave etc

I think I've seen maybe 2 cue files on sites like ttd in the last 5yrs... probably indicates something
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2008-12-02, 03:39 AM
Audioarchivist's Avatar
Audioarchivist Audioarchivist is offline
Recording/Mastering Engineer
560.16 GB/1.93 TB/3.54
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Thumbs up Re: converting/splitting cues in Foobar2000

Foobar is great for splitting large files with cue sheets automatically to exactly match an original CD. The cue sheet has all the start / stop points saved from the original disc, including any gaps or pauses programmed into the disc. The whole disc image is saved as 1 long file.

I usually see cue files with flac files or even wav files. Haven't seen an ape file done this way, but it should work.

Yeah I'd say the ape support for Foobar isn't installed right. I don't have many, but I know my Foobar will play them, and I've split with cues before with other file types.

I wonder if the cue file is written for the ape file, or for the wav file of the unconverted ape?

Put in the Monkey audio just to be sure, and re-check how and where to "install" the dll to Foobar to support ape. When I was first configuring Foobar, I remember putting dll files copy and paste into some directory folder of Foobar, and if i put them in the wrong place they don't work. I think even putting them in the right place and also having copies in the wrong places will make it not work. Be careful - just one and make it right.
Good luck! keep us posted!
__________________
"The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side."
- Dr. Hunter S. Thompson (1937-2005)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
splitting files - landesm Technobabble 13 2008-11-15 03:49 PM
Splitting WAV files - lilricky Technobabble 2 2007-07-03 06:51 AM
Ripping and Splitting - FeX- Technobabble 2 2007-05-24 01:29 AM
Splitting A DVD? - COmishawaka Technobabble 4 2007-05-21 05:45 PM
Splitting DVD files - Roger Daltrey Technobabble 4 2005-11-03 10:44 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts