The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2008-11-12, 06:15 PM
landesm landesm is offline
18.94 GB/19.89 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
splitting files

Hi,
it's been a while.
I just downloaded a cd as a single ape file. I notice this kind of thing is
offered fairly often. I've been told the file can be split up using foobar.
Here is where I am:

I downloaded foobar.
In foobar, I opened the .cue file for the corresponding ape file.
The indexing for the individual tracks appeared in the Foobar window.
I then selected the whole lot and right clicked.
A menu appeared with the option "convert" at the bottom.
I selected "convert"
and sure enough I was asked what new format I wanted to change the
files to and where to store them. I presume the new version will be in the form of the subfiles/tracks as listed. But I only presume because I
haven'te done yet.
That is because when I opted to convert to .flac, a flag came up
advising me that although I was converting from a lossy format to a
lossless format, the quality wouldn't improve, the files would merely
take up more space. .......But the original master file for the cd
was ape, which I understand to be lossless. Is this flag merely a
glitch in present version of Foobar, or am I missing something?
thanks for allways being THE place to go when I'm confused.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2008-11-12, 06:21 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: splitting files

ape is lossless, dunno much about foobar so hopefully someone else can address that "issue"


if splittin it via foobar doesn't work, you can always decode the .ape file to .wav, and then use Audacity to split the tracks, and then use Traders Little Helper to fix any SBEs and convert to flac:
Quote:
Audacity:
1. Open your wave, Edit->Move Cursor...->Track Start and hit command-B.
2. Locate all your track splits and mark each one by hitting command-B.
3. Go to File->Export Multiple, select WAV as the export format, Split files based on:Labels, Name files:Numbering consecutively, hit Export.

You'll now have a nice set of consecutively numbered split tracks but they are not cut on sector boundaries. Fear not.

4. Open TLH and go to its fix SBE tab.
5. Add your freshly split WAV's, making extra sure that they appear in the correct order. Select your output format of choice [flac] and hit the Fix button.
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2008-11-13, 06:34 AM
Zenith023's Avatar
Zenith023 Zenith023 is offline
9.63 GB/20.56 GB/2.14
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Re: splitting files

Just as an aside to the above post: That's exactly how I track my shows, and sort the SBE's. I've always wondered though, is using TLH to fix any SBE's acceptable enough? I'm assuming that there's no quality loss doing it this way otherwise you guys wouldn't suggest it surely, but the term "Fix" to me always implies there was a problem with the original files which needs sorting.

I don't think I've explained that very well, but I hope you get what I mean...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2008-11-13, 06:38 AM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: splitting files

no, there's no problem with "fixing" any SBE's as opposed to cutting each track exactly on sector boundaries
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2008-11-13, 06:53 AM
Zenith023's Avatar
Zenith023 Zenith023 is offline
9.63 GB/20.56 GB/2.14
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Re: splitting files

Quote:
Originally Posted by AAR.oner View Post
no, there's no problem with "fixing" any SBE's as opposed to cutting each track exactly on sector boundaries
Yeah, that's what I meant. Thanks.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2008-11-13, 11:39 AM
Toadinohio's Avatar
Toadinohio Toadinohio is offline
159.08 GB/668.12 GB/4.20
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Re: splitting files

This has me thinking.
When I split my own recordings I just toss the cut wavs in TLH then encode to flac 8
Should I click the 'Align on sector boundries' box?
I never have before and have never had someone complain about my flacs-
however I would like to keep it that way!
__________________
Toad and The Licks on MySpace
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2008-11-13, 01:17 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: splitting files

you probably have SBEs on all of your shows then... try running a "len" check on one of your shows this way, it will tell you if there are SBEs or not. (TLH analyze tab)

never does any harm to check the 'align on sector boundaries' box, enable that for sure

SBEs aren't a problem for a computer, but if the show is burned to audio cdr you will get microgaps except nero which will delete out some of the samples (!!)
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2008-11-13, 01:31 PM
dcbullet's Avatar
dcbullet dcbullet is offline
Anti-Temperance League
TTD Staff
68.39 GB/422.37 GB/6.18
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Re: splitting files

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toadinohio View Post
This has me thinking.
When I split my own recordings I just toss the cut wavs in TLH then encode to flac 8
Should I click the 'Align on sector boundries' box?
I never have before and have never had someone complain about my flacs-
however I would like to keep it that way!
I think it depends on what you use to cut your wavs. CDwav cuts on sector boundaries, so it wouldn't be a problem as far as I know. If you use some other software that doesn't cut on sector boundaries, than you could have a problem.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2008-11-13, 03:16 PM
Toadinohio's Avatar
Toadinohio Toadinohio is offline
159.08 GB/668.12 GB/4.20
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Re: splitting files

That explains it- I use CD Wave.
I think I'll check it anyway just to be safe.
What shift type should I use?
Also I use usually use nero for burning audio- sometimes I use EAC, should I just use EAC from now on?
I don't like the way 'delete out some of the samples' sounds!
__________________
Toad and The Licks on MySpace
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2008-11-14, 01:53 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: splitting files

shift type doesn't matter much... backward is default and fine in 99.99% of cases

disregard my previous comment... with cdwave you're golden

when it comes to burning audio cdrs EAC is best because it can burn with correct offsets if you configure it properly (see link in my signature). when you get it spot-on it is actually possible to burn to audio cdr, re-extract and maintain exact matching fingerprints! normally there is not a hope in hell of doing such a thing.

before you burn anything you should run a len check to test for SBEs just in case. or if you use foobar2000 as your player here's a nifty trick:
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssamadhi97
SBE checking code for foobar2000

To add file format independent SBE indication to your playlist, append the following code to your playlist formatting string (Preferences -> Display -> Title formatting, Playlist tab):

$ifgreater($mod(%_length_samples%,588),0,$rgb(180,90,90,180,90,90)$num($mod(%_length_samples%,588),3 ),)

The result looks kinda like this:


Tracks with a red number after the playing time have an SBE. For example, in the screenshot above, only the Stolen Ogre tracks have SBEs.


note the nifty PacMan progress bar
if there's no red numbers, there's no SBEs

if you just want to burn audio cdrs quickly burrrn freeware can do it directly from FLAC files ... of course your checksums will be ruined by not using EAC, but only by your drive's offset, the rest will be sample-accurate (so long as there's no SBEs).

for DATA CDRs/DVD-R/DVD+R etc I love imgburn freeware ... essential imo!!

there is no advantage to Nero these days, its bloatware to the max!!
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2008-11-14, 03:37 PM
dorrcoq's Avatar
dorrcoq dorrcoq is offline
Champion of the Silent
TTD VIP
624.37 GB/1.88 TB/3.08
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: splitting files

Jamie:

I've tested - burned with Nero, then extracted that CDR with EAC, and the checksums match. I think you are slagging Nero needlessly. Then again, I never upgraded past Nero 6.
__________________
how can I obey the rule about no sexually explicit posts after seeing Lynne's back?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rider
I think Gray has all these grand plans and I'm sorry to bring it up when it came down to it he couldn't even sell t-shirts without fucking it up.

"please mind your own fucking business, you Looney cocksucker" - Freezer, 7/12/06
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2008-11-14, 05:06 PM
rspencer's Avatar
rspencer rspencer is offline
TTD Hoarder
TTD Staff
262.05 GB/271.31 GB/1.04
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: the outer limits
Re: splitting files

I'm still using NERO 6 as well. Sound Forge 6 too.
__________________
My main list .... My masters

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcbullet View Post
Sometimes im dense.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcbullet View Post
I hate not being a real man.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #13  
Old 2008-11-14, 09:12 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: splitting files

Dennis I'm shocked... could it be that your write offset = zero?? what model burner is that? :hmm

I burned a set using burrrn a month or two ago and re-extracted with EAC secure (offsets correct) and the samples were all pushed over from the burner's offset as expected. you can actually count the samples and match it to the accuraterip database.

mr rspencer could I bother you to try this out with your copy of Nero 6? I need to go get some cdrs and burn some coasters soon myself, if the checksums remain the same I'll be a monkey's uncle!
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #14  
Old 2008-11-15, 03:49 PM
dorrcoq's Avatar
dorrcoq dorrcoq is offline
Champion of the Silent
TTD VIP
624.37 GB/1.88 TB/3.08
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: splitting files

Quote:
Originally Posted by Five View Post
Dennis I'm shocked... could it be that your write offset = zero?? what model burner is that? :hmm
I'm using a Sony DRU-800A, offset setting is +12 (per the EAC data base).
__________________
how can I obey the rule about no sexually explicit posts after seeing Lynne's back?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rider
I think Gray has all these grand plans and I'm sorry to bring it up when it came down to it he couldn't even sell t-shirts without fucking it up.

"please mind your own fucking business, you Looney cocksucker" - Freezer, 7/12/06
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Splitting WAV files - lilricky Technobabble 2 2007-07-03 06:51 AM
Splitting A DVD? - COmishawaka Technobabble 4 2007-05-21 05:45 PM
Splitting NTSC DVD files? - Salva Veritate Technobabble 1 2007-04-12 07:38 PM
Splitting DVD files - Roger Daltrey Technobabble 4 2005-11-03 10:44 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts