The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2008-05-20, 03:01 PM
The Sixth Rat Packer The Sixth Rat Packer is offline
229.40 GB/101.23 GB/0.44
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
I have a DVD to upload....wanna make sure my info is straight first....

This is the info I have for this, that I just got in a trade. Quality is an A/A- Pro-Shot DVD.

Soul II Soul
1990: A New Decade
Live from Brixton

AUDIO CODEC: AC3
AUDIO BITRATE: 256kbps
VIDEO SYSTEM: PAL 25.00 fps
VIDEO BITRATE: 4482 kbps
LENGTH OF TIME: 1:28:25

I don't have lineage, and was kinda confused by the options I was given as I don't know anything about the different types or whatever.

I got the above info from G. Spot

Last edited by The Sixth Rat Packer; 2008-05-20 at 03:35 PM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2008-05-20, 03:16 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: I have a DVD to upload....wanna make sure my info is straight first....

You might want to send a PM to saltman and/or Schmoe so they see this thread.

Usually they will ask if you did any sort of research on this to see if you can find any source information. Google is what I usually use. I tried using "Soul II Soul A New Decade" and "Soul II Soul A New Decade bootleg" and wasn't really finding anything relevant. Maybe try a few other terms that you think may help you find some sort of information (do you know of any unofficial bootleg/live recording sites for stuff by them? I didn't see them on the bootleg archive.).
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2008-05-20, 03:19 PM
The Sixth Rat Packer The Sixth Rat Packer is offline
229.40 GB/101.23 GB/0.44
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Re: I have a DVD to upload....wanna make sure my info is straight first....

Just sent one to Saltman.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2008-05-20, 03:34 PM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: I have a DVD to upload....wanna make sure my info is straight first....

first bitrate above should be audio bitrate.

does the dvd have chapter marks that align with the songs? or are they random every 5 minutes or so?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2008-05-20, 03:35 PM
The Sixth Rat Packer The Sixth Rat Packer is offline
229.40 GB/101.23 GB/0.44
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Re: I have a DVD to upload....wanna make sure my info is straight first....

let me check real quick.

edit: yeah I fixed that, I just accidentally typed "video" instead of "audio" for that first bitrate.

Last edited by The Sixth Rat Packer; 2008-05-20 at 03:42 PM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2008-05-20, 03:38 PM
The Sixth Rat Packer The Sixth Rat Packer is offline
229.40 GB/101.23 GB/0.44
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Re: I have a DVD to upload....wanna make sure my info is straight first....

They are at the beginning of each new song, not random 5 minute ones.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2008-05-20, 03:46 PM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: I have a DVD to upload....wanna make sure my info is straight first....

That typically suggests that it was computer authored. Does it have menus?

Can you see a squiggly line at the top and bottom of the screen when you play it on a computer. That is head switching noise and shows it was probably VHS sourced. Sometimes TVs crop this out and you won't be able to see it. That is why it is important to play it on a computer to test that.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2008-05-20, 03:49 PM
The Sixth Rat Packer The Sixth Rat Packer is offline
229.40 GB/101.23 GB/0.44
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Re: I have a DVD to upload....wanna make sure my info is straight first....

I'm playing it on my computer and it doesn't have the VHS tracking

I got two dvds, one of them (a D'Angelo concert) was VHS sourced and I'm not even bothering with that one.

I wanted to post up a sample but I can't figure out how to cut the .vob file

And there's a title menu, kinda generic looking

Last edited by The Sixth Rat Packer; 2008-05-20 at 03:55 PM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2008-05-20, 04:03 PM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: I have a DVD to upload....wanna make sure my info is straight first....

Generic looking menu sounds like standalone authored. that is a little confusing.

Does it have any TV logos on the screen?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2008-05-20, 04:04 PM
The Sixth Rat Packer The Sixth Rat Packer is offline
229.40 GB/101.23 GB/0.44
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Re: I have a DVD to upload....wanna make sure my info is straight first....

No Logos....let me take some screen shots....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2008-05-20, 04:09 PM
The Sixth Rat Packer The Sixth Rat Packer is offline
229.40 GB/101.23 GB/0.44
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Re: I have a DVD to upload....wanna make sure my info is straight first....



Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2008-05-20, 04:10 PM
The Sixth Rat Packer The Sixth Rat Packer is offline
229.40 GB/101.23 GB/0.44
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Re: I have a DVD to upload....wanna make sure my info is straight first....

Those pictures make it seem like there's these lines through the video and the pics are not as good quality as the video is.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #13  
Old 2008-05-20, 04:11 PM
The Sixth Rat Packer The Sixth Rat Packer is offline
229.40 GB/101.23 GB/0.44
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Re: I have a DVD to upload....wanna make sure my info is straight first....

But the concert IS about 20 years old now. lol
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #14  
Old 2008-05-20, 04:26 PM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: I have a DVD to upload....wanna make sure my info is straight first....

It's definitely pro shot. Looks like it was shot for TV but that is speculation.


Lineage would be something like this.

Proshot > ? > unknown transfer > DVD

Is the generic menu a blue screen with a few titles on it?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #15  
Old 2008-05-20, 04:29 PM
The Sixth Rat Packer The Sixth Rat Packer is offline
229.40 GB/101.23 GB/0.44
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Re: I have a DVD to upload....wanna make sure my info is straight first....

Yeah. I was thinking that it was obviously shot for TV, but has no logos. It might have been rebroadcast and someone captured it onto a DVR or something like that. A Digital Source.

Here's a screenshot of the menu.

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
how to make a text document for an upload - bigwurock Technobabble 2 2006-05-16 11:21 AM
pasting info for the Checksums upload..help.. - bigwurock Technobabble 3 2006-03-10 10:53 PM
G-Spot info vs. PowerDVD info - feralicious Technobabble 4 2005-06-14 01:43 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts