The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2008-04-03, 07:38 PM
Cantrip's Avatar
Cantrip Cantrip is offline
774.77 GB/2.44 TB/3.22
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Flac Front End

Why does my flac front end run so slow? Just dl'd it after reformating my OS and its just crawling. Don't have any other programs running. ????

Thanks
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2008-04-03, 10:29 PM
paddington's Avatar
paddington paddington is offline
please look after this bear
TTD Staff
83.17 GB/882.10 GB/10.61
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Re: Flac Front End

do you mean it encodes slowly, or what, specifically?
__________________
"There are some of these recordings where it is just a whirring, and you cannot hear the music. " - Jimmy Page, 2007 / JUL / 26
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2008-04-03, 10:48 PM
Cantrip's Avatar
Cantrip Cantrip is offline
774.77 GB/2.44 TB/3.22
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Re: Flac Front End

The decoding takes forever.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2008-04-03, 11:04 PM
mooncusser's Avatar
mooncusser mooncusser is offline
bright ambassador of morning
483.61 GB/1.07 TB/2.27
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: near a man-made island
Re: Flac Front End

Have you tried Trader's Little Helper?
__________________
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")

Quote:
Vince Gill:
I just got an award presented to me by a Beatle. Have you had that happen yet, Kanye?
Quote:
Originally Posted by karmakat View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by jameskg View Post
I knew that was the wrong answer
such is the nature of Gilligan.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2008-04-03, 11:18 PM
pmonk's Avatar
pmonk pmonk is offline
510.95 GB/621.08 GB/1.22
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Flac Front End

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cantrip View Post
The decoding takes forever.

What level are you decoding at?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2008-04-03, 11:25 PM
rspencer's Avatar
rspencer rspencer is offline
TTD Hoarder
TTD Staff
262.05 GB/271.31 GB/1.04
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: the outer limits
Re: Flac Front End

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmonk66 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cantrip View Post
The decoding takes forever.

What level are you decoding at?
Shouldn't matter. Decoding usually takes the same amount of time (within seconds) regardless of level. Encoding can vary dramatically dependant on the level of compression (8 taking the longest).
__________________
My main list .... My masters

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcbullet View Post
Sometimes im dense.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcbullet View Post
I hate not being a real man.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2008-04-04, 02:53 AM
jaygs's Avatar
jaygs jaygs is offline
360.03 GB/293.05 GB/0.81
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Re: Flac Front End

Check for any background processes and the size of your swap space.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2008-04-04, 10:44 AM
paddington's Avatar
paddington paddington is offline
please look after this bear
TTD Staff
83.17 GB/882.10 GB/10.61
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Re: Flac Front End

Quote:
Originally Posted by rspencer View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmonk66 View Post


What level are you decoding at?
Shouldn't matter. Decoding usually takes the same amount of time (within seconds) regardless of level. Encoding can vary dramatically dependant on the level of compression (8 taking the longest).
the only thing I can think of that would slow down decoding (which is FLAC's strong point) would be a fragged-up hard drive with little free-space. If the heads are having to fly around to write the decoded file, it could decrease performace big time. An avg FLAC file shou dtake about 2-3 seconds to completely decode to WAV.

Check your har drive's frag state (take a screenshot) and free space and report back.
__________________
"There are some of these recordings where it is just a whirring, and you cannot hear the music. " - Jimmy Page, 2007 / JUL / 26
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2008-04-04, 10:52 AM
Cantrip's Avatar
Cantrip Cantrip is offline
774.77 GB/2.44 TB/3.22
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Re: Flac Front End

Okies. I'm at work now, but I'll try and do that tonight. Brand new hard drive (1TB WD)so wouldn't think that would be the problem. I am using Traders Little Helper.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2008-04-04, 08:12 PM
Cantrip's Avatar
Cantrip Cantrip is offline
774.77 GB/2.44 TB/3.22
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Re: Flac Front End

I couldnt figure out how to post the screenshot, but the drive FFE is on didn't need to be defragged. theres only like 67 out of 500 gigs used up.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
SBE fix gives different result with shntool & flac front-end? - fatoldpig Technobabble 33 2005-12-20 10:43 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts