The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2008-03-09, 12:26 PM
dannyandamie dannyandamie is offline
388.37 GB/285.85 GB/0.74
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Uploading video question-nero vs windows???

I was trying to upload some videos from my video camera. I uploaded several things in Nero and 1 hour of video took nearly 7 GB. So then I tried Windows Movie Maker and it uploaded 1 hour of film in 667 MB. I'm wondering why it takes up so much less space. The quality doesn't seem to be any different, i don't think. Any help or explanations would be great. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2008-03-09, 12:34 PM
paddington's Avatar
paddington paddington is offline
please look after this bear
TTD Staff
83.17 GB/882.10 GB/10.61
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Re: Uploading video question-nero vs windows???

one was raw video and one was compressed.

You'll find that the smaller the file, the lesser the video quality, generally.

What is your end-goal for the video? DVD? emailable clips?
__________________
"There are some of these recordings where it is just a whirring, and you cannot hear the music. " - Jimmy Page, 2007 / JUL / 26
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2008-03-09, 03:29 PM
dannyandamie dannyandamie is offline
388.37 GB/285.85 GB/0.74
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Re: Uploading video question-nero vs windows???

Thanks, so Windows produces compressed, Nero=raw. I'm actually doing DVD's of my daughter's first year. I didn't really notice a difference in quality when I did a trial run, but then again, maybe it did look compressed some. I ran out of HD space, so I started UL them in Windows.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2008-03-09, 04:11 PM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: Uploading video question-nero vs windows???

Windows is probably compressing them to VCD quality file formats and Nero is doing DVD. There are probably settings for both to adjust the quality. I bet if you drop the resultant file into Gspot you will see mpeg1 for windows and mpeg2 for Nero. is the Nero file .avi and the other .mpg?
__________________
We all see only that which we are trained to see.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop, Windows related Question - nWo4Life Technobabble 28 2009-07-21 09:54 AM
Quick Nero Question - Crotchy Technobabble 1 2007-02-20 09:26 PM
Another Uploading Question (Way Too Low) - Emmett T. Jones Technobabble 1 2006-11-08 01:39 AM
nero cd-dvd speed question - kidrocklive Technobabble 3 2006-03-17 04:10 PM
nero audio cd burning question. please help anyone - phishy13 Technobabble 8 2006-02-28 07:55 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts