The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2007-11-13, 10:27 PM
Cornelious Jerome Garcia Oppenheimer Cornelious Jerome Garcia Oppenheimer is offline
136.25 GB/177.94 GB/1.31
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
SATA question

On one of my machines I have a corrupt OS on a SATA drive.

Trying now to somehow connect it to any other working PC as an additional HD to hopefully get some files off of it. I have done this with IDE drives, setting it as a slave, but am clueless on how to make this work not having the ability to set as slave.

From what I have gathered the only way to make this work is to do a clean install on a completely different HD and install some sort of boot manager before connecting my POS HD.

There has to be an easier way.

Does anyone know their way around SATA drives?

and on another note has anything replaced the pink pig?

tia

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2007-11-13, 10:34 PM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
winning !!
660.82 GB/1.29 TB/2.00
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: SATA question

if you wish to get your files off it (recommended)
either your second computer has an open SATA channel
or you would need a SATA card to connect the drive.

no jumpers on a SATA drive. its controlled by the BIOS.
( BIOS config = Del or F2 or F10 on many workstations )

Ive seen external enclosures for $40, then attach via USB2

hope some of this helps.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2007-11-13, 10:43 PM
Cornelious Jerome Garcia Oppenheimer Cornelious Jerome Garcia Oppenheimer is offline
136.25 GB/177.94 GB/1.31
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Re: SATA question

when i hook it to an open SATA channel on a working machine, the thing hangs and re-boots, and hangs and re-boots.

SATA blows. I never had any problems swapping IDE's and files around. The loss of the slave/master control is a step backward IMO.

i am going to do some yoga and meditate before i throw this thing out the window.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2007-11-13, 10:52 PM
Drewa311's Avatar
Drewa311 Drewa311 is offline
jack your body
379.68 GB/353.76 GB/0.93
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: chicago at ashland
Re: SATA question

Ive been reluctant to switch, and now that HDs are so cheap and my motherboard has only 2 IDE headers and like 5 sata's. i have fans on my HDs to keep them cool, most hard drives fail because of heat. I dont know of any specific programs that retrieve data from bunk HD's but i know they exist-good luck-drew
__________________
"You don't work, you don't eat, you don't grind, you don't shine"
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2007-11-13, 10:57 PM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
winning !!
660.82 GB/1.29 TB/2.00
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: SATA question

check the Boot List order in the BIOS.
also you could try and boot from a CD - then copy files.
(but not all boot disks will recognize SATA drives)

i dont know much about yoga - but technology is often a pain in the ass.

losing data on a hard drive is about as bad as it gets.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2007-11-13, 11:05 PM
possessed's Avatar
possessed possessed is offline
the non-nuclear Homer Simpson
202.13 GB/314.80 GB/1.56
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: the mitten state
Re: SATA question

Quote:
Originally Posted by bill_kate
when i hook it to an open SATA channel on a working machine, the thing hangs and re-boots, and hangs and re-boots.

SATA blows. I never had any problems swapping IDE's and files around. The loss of the slave/master control is a step backward IMO.

i am going to do some yoga and meditate before i throw this thing out the window.
Does your motherboard support IDE natively with SATA being an addition? Older MOBO's required special drivers that can make life difficult until they are installed. I had tons of problems with my old MOBO until I installed the infamous "F6 RAID" drivers. Newer MOBO's with native SATA support don't have this problem. If you want to throw them out the window, I suggest throwing them to me.
__________________
1 2010 KBS left!
4 2011 KBS left.
And 6 2009 and 2 2010 Nemesis too.




Quote:
Originally Posted by danbozwell@yahoo.com View Post
I hear the Rape is lovely this time of year.
Quote:
hey man if nobody else has helped you out, i can continue to ignore you too
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2007-11-13, 11:18 PM
diggrd's Avatar
diggrd diggrd is offline
1.05 TB/1.69 TB/1.62
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SWNH
Re: SATA question

http://www.cooldrives.com/seatatousb20.html

You could get something like this


what wolf says about boot order sounds like the issue you have when trying in an open SATA in another machine
__________________
DEMONROAST
LIST
Scene of a Perfect Crime


Quote:
Originally posted by frankenberry
anybody else who decides to call me a fuckhead troll newbie (you know who you are) should be made to listen to phish bootleg taped by a '73 led zeppelin taper
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2007-11-13, 11:29 PM
jameskg's Avatar
jameskg jameskg is offline
audio moderator
TTD Staff
83.16 GB/882.03 GB/10.61
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Re: SATA question

Quote:
Originally Posted by direwolf-pgh
check the Boot List order in the BIOS..
this is what you have to do, bill. I just had a very similar problem...

is the machine you are putting the bad drive in, to try to read it, booting from a SATA drive, also? I wasn;t sure from what you posted. If that's the case, just be sure the boot SATA is on #0 and the corrupt SATA is on #1. It shoudl then boot from the correct drive, if I'm not mistaken.



Now, if your good drive is IDE, then plug your SATA into the SATA #0 (assuming its onboard controller, right?) and go into the bios and find the boot order. Set it to boot from IDE first and not SATA or RAID or SCSI.
__________________
"There are some of these recordings where it is just a whirring, and you cannot hear the music. " - Jimmy Page, 2007 / JUL / 26
Firewall Help: your router | windows XP | more
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
TLH Shn Decoding Question + Torrent Question - EasilyFound Technobabble 13 2009-03-24 06:13 PM
Question? - classicrock1169 Technobabble 5 2008-04-07 04:17 PM
MAC > PC question - AAR.oner Technobabble 8 2005-09-20 11:01 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts