The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2005-03-14, 11:07 PM
lucasweb's Avatar
lucasweb lucasweb is offline
27.13 GB/217.10 GB/8.00
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NYC
What does this shntool output mean?



Okay so i know that the "-b-" under cdr means that there is an SBE on that track and i know how to easily fix it but i've never seen "h-" show up under WAVE, so can you guys help me out and tell me what that means and is there a way to fix it with a mac? thanks for any and all help
__________________
Dustin Hoffman - Straight Time (1978)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Handy
I can picture in my mind a world without war, a world without hate. And I can picture us attacking that world, because they'd never expect it.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2005-03-15, 12:41 AM
jazzbo jazzbo is offline
18.28 GB/38.30 GB/2.09
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: What does this shntool output mean?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucasweb


Okay so i know that the "-b-" under cdr means that there is an SBE on that track and i know how to easily fix it but i've never seen "h-" show up under WAVE, so can you guys help me out and tell me what that means and is there a way to fix it with a mac? thanks for any and all help
The 'h' means that the compressed wav files have non-canonical headers, which shouldn't affect the audio or the fingerprint of the audio data. Some software along the way added some tags or other extraneous information to the headers. You can use shntool's strip command to fix the headers, or if you convert from shn to flac, I believe flac will fix it automatically.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2005-03-15, 12:52 AM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: What does this shntool output mean?

Quote:
WAVE Shows properties of the WAVE data. An 'h' in the first slot
indicates that the WAVE [h]eader is not canonical. An 'e' in
the second slot indicates that the WAVE file contains [e]xtra
RIFF chunks.
http://www.etree.org/shnutils/shntool/doc/README.txt

this means there's something which is not audio included with the WAV file (99% probably: USELESS!). If/when these files are ever converted to FLAC this non-audio data will be stripped off permanently & automatically. There's a way to get SHNtool remove this as well.

Once this data is gone, the wholefile .md5 for the SHN set will never again work for Led Zeppelin 4-9-70 d1t05.shn and Led Zeppelin 4-9-70 d2t01.shn

This is why the SHNtool md5 (.st5) is better, because it ignores any data which is not audio and also generates the same fingerprint for any format.

IMO you should make a secure conversion to FLAC (audio data bit-verified identical), then fix the SBE using SHNtool (or a SHNtool frontend, it looks like you've got something already installed) then do another len check at the end. Keep a backup of the original files until you're finished & positive everything is okay..
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2005-03-15, 01:38 AM
lucasweb's Avatar
lucasweb lucasweb is offline
27.13 GB/217.10 GB/8.00
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NYC
Re: What does this shntool output mean?

Thanks for the info guys, i was planning on converting to flac and i was just wondering about fixing that since i was going to fix the SBE. Thanks for help, i'll spread the knowledge if this comes up in the future
__________________
Dustin Hoffman - Straight Time (1978)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Handy
I can picture in my mind a world without war, a world without hate. And I can picture us attacking that world, because they'd never expect it.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2005-03-15, 07:51 AM
RainDawg's Avatar
RainDawg RainDawg is offline
Renegade Geek
10.20 GB/20.72 GB/2.03
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Passing swiftly through The Moor
Re: What does this shntool output mean?

Just some extra insight here...I've seen that "h" appear as the result of using cue-points in Cool Edit. Many wav editing programs add some kind of non-audio data into the header that they use. It's possible that these files have been edited in some way. Either way, that data is really useless to you now, and you can disard it without affecting the audio of the file.

Yes, FLAC will automatically delete that information, and if you use FLAC frontend, the cmd window that pops up will actually give you some feedback that it's removing additional header data when it encodes the file.

Edit to add: I see you're on a Mac, so you may not get feedback when converting to FLAC on your system, but guaranteed that just doing the FLAC conversion will remove that 'h' from the file.
__________________
Through the clouds,
Throught the lies,
We'll never see,
What's never been,
At the ending of life and the coming of death,
Pass not through its gates but into the dark.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2005-03-15, 01:09 PM
lucasweb's Avatar
lucasweb lucasweb is offline
27.13 GB/217.10 GB/8.00
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NYC
Re: What does this shntool output mean?



Converting to flac (after fixing the sbe and i also changed the file names) got rid of that h, and like you guessed while converting i didn't get any feedback about removing header data. Also while doing this i found out that xACT (1.4d19) does straight conversions from SHN->FLAC without needing to convert to wav, so if mac users ask in the future xACT now has the option to do that
__________________
Dustin Hoffman - Straight Time (1978)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Handy
I can picture in my mind a world without war, a world without hate. And I can picture us attacking that world, because they'd never expect it.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2005-03-15, 01:47 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
469.38 GB/2.01 TB/4.39
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: What does this shntool output mean?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucasweb
Also while doing this i found out that xACT (1.4d19) does straight conversions from SHN->FLAC without needing to convert to wav, so if mac users ask in the future xACT now has the option to do that
That's good to know. I guess I need to download the latest since I'm still using 1.4d16.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2005-03-15, 05:09 PM
lucasweb's Avatar
lucasweb lucasweb is offline
27.13 GB/217.10 GB/8.00
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NYC
Re: What does this shntool output mean?

I wouldn't trash that old copy of xACT yet though, i have to use two copies of it because the newest one i'm using can't seem to generate a fingerprint correctly and when fixing SBE"s it requires two songs to be corrected. I use the new version only for SHN->FLAC conversions and the SBE fix actually outputs to flac now instead of in the past having to use the SBE fix and output to wav and then convert flac which was a pain
__________________
Dustin Hoffman - Straight Time (1978)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Handy
I can picture in my mind a world without war, a world without hate. And I can picture us attacking that world, because they'd never expect it.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2005-03-16, 01:40 AM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: What does this shntool output mean?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucasweb
...and when fixing SBE"s it requires two songs to be corrected.
Yeah, I've been having this same problem with SHNtool from the cmd.exe to BatchEnc to Trader's Little Helper. If I just want to fix an SBE on the last track (add padding) it says it requires two songs to run.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2005-03-16, 11:20 AM
uhclem
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: What does this shntool output mean?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Five
Yeah, I've been having this same problem with SHNtool from the cmd.exe to BatchEnc to Trader's Little Helper. If I just want to fix an SBE on the last track (add padding) it says it requires two songs to run.
Five old man, it's been discussed repeatedly in here that shntool's fix mode can't be used on just one track. If you want to just add padding to the last track use pad mode, like this:

shntool pad -postpad -o flac [filename]
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2005-03-16, 05:40 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: What does this shntool output mean?

thanks so much, uhclem. your knowledge never ceases to amaze me.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
MD Deck with a digital output? - Ultra Technobabble 3 2005-05-09 08:46 AM
ffp = shntool md5 = st5 ??? - feralicious Technobabble 11 2005-04-14 07:10 PM
shntool help - moemusic Technobabble 15 2005-01-05 07:18 AM
shntool md5 - toys Technobabble 4 2004-12-09 09:59 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts