The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2007-10-20, 07:08 PM
cleantone cleantone is offline
248.10 GB/154.50 GB/0.62
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
MAC: taking the audio from an AVI and then putting it back

So I learned how to do this with a DVD. Awesome! I know want to fix some audio on a AVI file. It is already low quality as it is so I do not want to reencode the footage. I want to fix the audio and put it back on. I can only think of using iMovie. I cant get mpeg streamclip or ffmpegx to help do what I want to. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2007-10-20, 09:18 PM
ffooky ffooky is offline
14.55 GB/14.61 GB/1.00
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: MAC: taking the audio from an AVI and then putting it back

Your options are to use avidemux (for which you must have X11 installed) or a more roundabout route of converting the AVI to MKV (using MkvMerge and then demuxing with MoKgVm2DVD. You can edit the resultant MP3 without decompressing/recompressing with Fission. I think you can remux with avidemux and I'd advise that rather than using ffmpegX but your mileage may vary.

When you were successful with your previous project, how did you overcome the problem with chapters ? Please see the relevant thread for the precise questions I'd like you to answer.

-ff-
__________________
Two tracks for a desert island:

Black Keys - I Got Mine
Tintern Abbey - Vacuum Cleaner

Last edited by ffooky; 2007-10-20 at 09:26 PM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2007-10-20, 09:31 PM
ffooky ffooky is offline
14.55 GB/14.61 GB/1.00
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: MAC: taking the audio from an AVI and then putting it back

BTW, it's Mac not MAC
__________________
Two tracks for a desert island:

Black Keys - I Got Mine
Tintern Abbey - Vacuum Cleaner
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2007-10-21, 10:51 AM
cleantone cleantone is offline
248.10 GB/154.50 GB/0.62
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: MAC: taking the audio from an AVI and then putting it back

I'm checking out AviDemux. Following the pretty obvious instructions from this tutorial I am not having good luck. It only gives me an 82mb file that doesn't want to open with anything. This is a divx of a 90 minute film (out of print, vhs transfer). I'll keep poking around.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2007-10-21, 11:03 AM
cleantone cleantone is offline
248.10 GB/154.50 GB/0.62
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: MAC: taking the audio from an AVI and then putting it back

When I load the AVI it gives me a message about the audio being VBR and asks to build a time map to keep the sync. I don't know if that helps.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2007-10-21, 12:11 PM
cleantone cleantone is offline
248.10 GB/154.50 GB/0.62
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: MAC: taking the audio from an AVI and then putting it back

Okay. I was making a mistake and now have it working. I just have to get the remux proper now.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2007-10-22, 01:57 PM
cleantone cleantone is offline
248.10 GB/154.50 GB/0.62
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: MAC: taking the audio from an AVI and then putting it back

I have a snag muxing the new WAV file onto the footage. Any suggestions? I think I figured out how to open a second audio track on the avi in avidemux. I also figured out how to export and avi. I can't figure out how to tell avidemux to only use the new audio track.

Last edited by cleantone; 2007-10-22 at 02:03 PM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2007-10-23, 11:38 AM
ffooky ffooky is offline
14.55 GB/14.61 GB/1.00
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: MAC: taking the audio from an AVI and then putting it back

Sorry, I can't get to my main box at the moment (kid playing WoW) but you could try opening the double audio AVI in MPEG Streamclip, selecting the audio track you don't want and then opting for Delete Audio Track from the Edit menu. Save the file and see what gives.
__________________
Two tracks for a desert island:

Black Keys - I Got Mine
Tintern Abbey - Vacuum Cleaner
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2007-10-23, 12:02 PM
ffooky ffooky is offline
14.55 GB/14.61 GB/1.00
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: MAC: taking the audio from an AVI and then putting it back

I forgot to say that you select the audio track to be whacked in the Audio PID box at the bottom.
__________________
Two tracks for a desert island:

Black Keys - I Got Mine
Tintern Abbey - Vacuum Cleaner
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2007-10-23, 09:39 PM
cleantone cleantone is offline
248.10 GB/154.50 GB/0.62
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: MAC: taking the audio from an AVI and then putting it back

Thanks. I got it to work. I then found out that both the origional and of course the one I worked on fall out of sync with the footage. I may just import it to iMovie and try to resync scenes. Makes me wish I had the foresight to buy out cool VHS tapes from Mom and Pop shops. Then I wouldn't be trying to remaster DivX of out of print old films.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Putting 5-7 shows on audio dvd? - hippie91069 Technobabble 11 2008-03-16 06:48 PM
TAKING AUDIO FROM DVD - PEPPER Technobabble 5 2005-02-23 11:07 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts