The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #16  
Old 2005-03-03, 09:59 AM
RainDawg's Avatar
RainDawg RainDawg is offline
Renegade Geek
10.20 GB/20.72 GB/2.03
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Passing swiftly through The Moor
Re: A little help w FLAC FE

I think this silliness with the order files are dragged is a Windows API issue, not a program-specific one. Unless the program includes some work-around in the code to sort the filename array upon dropping, it'll just include the files in the screwed-up order Windows explorer passes them in. Somehow, as noted, this seems to be that file the cursor is over when the drag starts is the first one, but I've also seen other strange behavior where I can't explain the order in any logical sense.

Good old Windows....
__________________
Through the clouds,
Throught the lies,
We'll never see,
What's never been,
At the ending of life and the coming of death,
Pass not through its gates but into the dark.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #17  
Old 2005-03-03, 10:11 AM
uhclem
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: A little help w FLAC FE

Sid, I know little about ME, but have you tried running flac.exe from the command line? I'd rather do it that way than end up having to seed SHN files.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #18  
Old 2005-03-03, 02:32 PM
Sid's Avatar
Sid Sid is offline
26 Reds &a Bottle of Wine
3.34 TB/4.73 TB/1.42
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: chunkylover53@aol.com
Re: A little help w FLAC FE

Quote:
Originally Posted by uhclem
Sid, I know little about ME, but have you tried running flac.exe from the command line? I'd rather do it that way than end up having to seed SHN files.
uhclem,
I'm not the best with computers but if you help me out I can most likely do whatever is explained to me & I will try anything to cure this problem.
__________________
If life is a waste of time,
and time is a waste of life,
then let's all get wasted together
and have the time of our lives !


The Cuervo Gold
The fine Colombian
Make tonight a wonderful thing.....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #19  
Old 2005-03-03, 03:46 PM
mailleon's Avatar
mailleon mailleon is offline
187.71 GB/222.09 GB/1.18
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: A little help w FLAC FE

Well.........I'll be damned. Thanks for the tip Uhclem. That's been driving me mad for a while now.


Quote:
Originally Posted by uhclem
The order depends on where exactly you put your cursor when you click and hold on the files as you drag them. Whatever file the cursor is actually over when you drag the list of files will be the file that appears at the top of the list. So to avoid this, always put the cursor over the first file in the list then click and drag.

Yes this is stupid but that's how it works.

Sometimes you can drag and drop the folder (as opposed to the files) onto flac frontend and the files will appear in the right order. Other times this doesn't work at all. I haven't figured out why yet.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #20  
Old 2005-03-03, 10:50 PM
diggrd's Avatar
diggrd diggrd is offline
1.08 TB/1.70 TB/1.57
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SWNH
Re: A little help w FLAC FE

Quote:
Originally Posted by Five
yeah, this always used to happen to me, too. what I discovered is that if you drag by the top file the order will stay correct--try it out!
Yes I remember this being discussed before but since it always works using add files in nero and FFE I just got used to that method.

Glad to see someone found an old school method (CMD Prompt) to work around this POS OS problem
__________________
DEMONROAST
LIST
Scene of a Perfect Crime


Quote:
Originally posted by frankenberry
anybody else who decides to call me a fuckhead troll newbie (you know who you are) should be made to listen to phish bootleg taped by a '73 led zeppelin taper
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #21  
Old 2005-03-04, 12:46 AM
DeepElem
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: A little help w FLAC FE

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sid
Ok,
I have recently aquired some fantastic stuff & I'm going to upload some here very soon.
Believe it or not I have never encoded (decoded 100's of times) using flac frt end.
I have always used mkw and encoded to shn.

OS Win Mln
So heres my problem...>

decode-no problems

when trying to encode a wav file by either dropping or clicking I recieve these err.

to many parameters
&

bad command or file name

=========

any suggestions
Sid, I had the same trouble with win98se, after getting so pissed that I was determined to figure it out, I discovered that the flac installer had chosen Progam files, without giving me a choice, I found it in the change log.
I copied the flac files, I think you only need flac and metafile, but I copied all the files in the flac directory, into c:\windows . It solved my probelms, before doing this, I also got the same errors you named when trying to gengerate a ffp, it cured this also.
But since I figured out how to get it to work, I seldom open flac fe, just use shntool.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #22  
Old 2005-03-04, 07:49 AM
Sid's Avatar
Sid Sid is offline
26 Reds &a Bottle of Wine
3.34 TB/4.73 TB/1.42
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: chunkylover53@aol.com
Re: A little help w FLAC FE

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeepElem
Sid, I had the same trouble with win98se, after getting so pissed that I was determined to figure it out, I discovered that the flac installer had chosen Progam files, without giving me a choice, I found it in the change log.
I copied the flac files, I think you only need flac and metafile, but I copied all the files in the flac directory, into c:\windows . It solved my probelms, before doing this, I also got the same errors you named when trying to gengerate a ffp, it cured this also.
But since I figured out how to get it to work, I seldom open flac fe, just use shntool.
Thanks D E,
I tried what you did(found it in the same place-change log) but with no results.(copied & placed into c:windows)
Same -can't encode.......bummer

Is there a shntool for dummies....lol

stay tuned
__________________
If life is a waste of time,
and time is a waste of life,
then let's all get wasted together
and have the time of our lives !


The Cuervo Gold
The fine Colombian
Make tonight a wonderful thing.....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #23  
Old 2005-03-04, 11:33 AM
uhclem
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: A little help w FLAC FE

Sid
I've done some research on this issue and I can't come up with anything to suggest that flac.exe or flac frontend can't run properly on Windows ME. I think we need to further explore the possibility that there is a flaw in how you have it all set up before we can conclude that it's the operating system.

So I have a couple of questions:

1. How did you install flac frontend? Specifically what version and install method did you use? There are more than one.

2. Are you using the very latest flac.exe and metaflac.exe?

3. Flac Frontend works by producing a batch file (usually called go.bat) then running the batch file. Go.bat remains saved inside your flac frontend directory until the next time you click GO. Could you try to run flac frontend again on a set of wave files that give you errors, then before you do anything, provide us with a copy of the contents of go.bat?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #24  
Old 2005-03-04, 12:30 PM
Sid's Avatar
Sid Sid is offline
26 Reds &a Bottle of Wine
3.34 TB/4.73 TB/1.42
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: chunkylover53@aol.com
Re: A little help w FLAC FE

thanks for all the help
the go bat says exactly what's below>

Too many parameters
Too many parameters
Bad command or file name
Bad command or file name

Bad command or file name
__________________
If life is a waste of time,
and time is a waste of life,
then let's all get wasted together
and have the time of our lives !


The Cuervo Gold
The fine Colombian
Make tonight a wonderful thing.....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #25  
Old 2005-03-04, 12:31 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: A little help w FLAC FE

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sid
Is there a shntool for dummies....lol
well, there's Batchenc:
http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...ead.php?t=3859

also TLH, but it isn't capable of encoding just yet
http://thor.prohosting.com/roh0205/

good luck Sid. don't give up!
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #26  
Old 2005-03-04, 12:43 PM
Sid's Avatar
Sid Sid is offline
26 Reds &a Bottle of Wine
3.34 TB/4.73 TB/1.42
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: chunkylover53@aol.com
Re: A little help w FLAC FE

I have installed & uninstalled this version FLAC Installer for Windows v1.1.2a 2/5/2005 quite a few times & from 3or4 diff. locations all with the same results.


remember,I can decode with no diff., the problem only occours while trying to encode.
the wav files that I have been usingg are all good because I have taken them from already flac'd sources.

__________________
If life is a waste of time,
and time is a waste of life,
then let's all get wasted together
and have the time of our lives !


The Cuervo Gold
The fine Colombian
Make tonight a wonderful thing.....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #27  
Old 2005-03-04, 01:17 PM
uhclem
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: A little help w FLAC FE

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sid
thanks for all the help
the go bat says exactly what's below>

Too many parameters
Too many parameters
Bad command or file name
Bad command or file name

Bad command or file name
What've you posted is screen output. I'm asking for you to post the actual contents of the go.bat file, i.e. open the file go.bat in a text reader such as notepad and post the actual contents of the file.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #28  
Old 2005-03-04, 01:57 PM
Sid's Avatar
Sid Sid is offline
26 Reds &a Bottle of Wine
3.34 TB/4.73 TB/1.42
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: chunkylover53@aol.com
Re: A little help w FLAC FE

sorry, but I'm lost

when I try to open the go bat in my flac.exe all that I get is the screen with the errors.
How would I open that with a doc program

I'm sorry but I am not computer smart...just the basics

Don't worry about it because I will post the shows next week on EZ(using EAC to wav-mkw to shn with sum),they will make it over here sooner or later
__________________
If life is a waste of time,
and time is a waste of life,
then let's all get wasted together
and have the time of our lives !


The Cuervo Gold
The fine Colombian
Make tonight a wonderful thing.....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #29  
Old 2005-03-04, 02:03 PM
uhclem
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: A little help w FLAC FE

Change the name of go.bat to go.txt then open it with notepad.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #30  
Old 2005-03-04, 02:14 PM
pmonk pmonk is offline
473.91 GB/618.14 GB/1.30
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: A little help w FLAC FE

Since we are talking about this - is this a common error when encoding???


flac 1.1.2, Copyright (C) 2000,2001,2002,2003,2004,2005 Josh Coalson
flac comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY. This is free software, and you are
welcome to redistribute it under certain conditions. Type `flac' for details.

options: --delete-input-file --sector-align -P 4096 -b 4608 -m -l 8 -q 0 -r 3,3
-V
ERROR: output file Jeff Beck_Arms Concert_ (1983.12.08) 01. Star Cycle.flac alre
ady exists, use -f to override
ERROR: output file Jeff Beck_Arms Concert_ (1983.12.08) 02. The Pump.flac alread
y exists, use -f to override

Press any key to continue . . .
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain beyond
Mine is nearly dead. FUCK YOU and THE MOM THAT SHIT YOU OUT, you worthless POS. Now you go right ahead and call Lynne and get me banned you fucking cockroach. No problem. THREADS ALL YOURS, along with THE LOUNGE. See ya out there on the trail, Cowgirl. Classy. Real Classy. COWARD.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts