The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2005-02-24, 09:57 PM
coolman5001
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Requesting advice: Vinyl -> Computer

I'm using a Dual 1218 turntable, connected to my computer via line-in from my stereo, to put some old vinyl recordings onto my computer as audio data.

I think I should be using EAC to do this, but I don't know how, so I'd appreciate it if somebody could be so kind as to point out how to do this.

I'm also thinking of cleaning up sound quality in Adobe Audition 1.5 - should I just be using the Effects -> Noise Reduction menu, or are there special methods I should be using to clean up vinyl recordings? Any links are also appreciated.

Thanks in advance!
Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2005-02-25, 05:29 AM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: Requesting advice: Vinyl -> Computer

record with Audition, not EAC.

check over here too
http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...read.php?t=957
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2005-02-25, 02:40 PM
uhclem
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Requesting advice: Vinyl -> Computer

What's a 'turntable'?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2005-02-25, 03:37 PM
blastroknow's Avatar
blastroknow blastroknow is offline
spackling taste good
232.89 GB/469.91 GB/2.02
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: sf, ca usa
Re: Requesting advice: Vinyl -> Computer

Use Audition to record your vinyl - open audition and get your levels set and then hit record and drop the arm. Save the whole album as a .wav - you can edit out the flip. As far as noise reduction you can go through and manually remove major pops just get in there as tight as possible. I have never used Audition NR but I think a good general rule is backup your untouched original so you can always compare NR vs. no NR to make sure you aren't removing parts of the music.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2005-02-26, 12:12 AM
coolman5001
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Requesting advice: Vinyl -> Computer

Excuse my ignorace, but what do you mean by "get your levels set"?
Thanks for the help so far!

A turntable is what you use to play records. Some people use them to scratch vinyls (generally DJs) for the unique sound it generates. It spins around with the record on it while an arm with a pickup on the end moves along grooves in the vinyl to read the data. More information here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phonogr...ble_technology
And a picture here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:TurntablesWWOZ.jpg
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2005-02-26, 12:21 PM
jcrab66's Avatar
jcrab66 jcrab66 is offline
We all walk the Long Road....
75.63 GB/483.42 GB/6.39
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Planet Bootleg
Re: Requesting advice: Vinyl -> Computer

hahahaha
__________________
If you want to see a damn good live show check out THIS band.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2005-02-26, 06:33 PM
blastroknow's Avatar
blastroknow blastroknow is offline
spackling taste good
232.89 GB/469.91 GB/2.02
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: sf, ca usa
Re: Requesting advice: Vinyl -> Computer

check the wikipedia for a cassette deck reference on 'levels' . . . seriously though put your Audition into record mode and have a record playing look at the green meters bouncing along and adjust the 'line in' slider on whatever little app is associated with your soundcard to control levels and set the line in level so the Audition meters are averaging -6 db or so - just don't go above 0db and don't record too soft either

here is a link to some real hardcore turntable porn: http://theanalogdept.com/systems_gallery.htm
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2005-02-26, 06:52 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: Requesting advice: Vinyl -> Computer

a turntable needs a special kind of amplification, different than, say, a cassette deck.

so get your best amp, take a line out of the back and get the adapters to input it into the "line in" (NOT MIC IN!!) of your soundcard. You can set input levels using the windows (or creative or whatever) mixer, usually found in the tray.

You want a healthy level, but in the digital world even one red light (clip) is unacceptable. You'll probably have to take a couple passes to find the correct levels for recording.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
What computer hardware/software to use to get cassete to computer? - mauserman Technobabble 52 2009-01-07 08:45 PM
requesting hank III in tulsa and down in 955 - nodferatu ISO - In Search Of... 0 2007-12-11 04:15 PM
about requesting shows - bootlegboy Technobabble 3 2007-04-08 01:55 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts