The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2007-06-18, 03:02 AM
ccrider895's Avatar
ccrider895 ccrider895 is offline
Sweetie, darling...
1.09 TB/1.75 TB/1.60
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wherever you go, there you are
Foobar2000 question

OKay, this may sound a little strange, but this week, I was convinced that I blew the speakers on my pc. They're not top-of-the line or anything, but a nice set of harmon/kardon w. a subwoofer. Everything I played on it be it a cd, or flac files sounded like complete shite. Really hissy and staticky. I use foobar as my audio program and it's worked great until lately.

When I played some wav files through CD Wave editor they sounded awesome! crystal-clear.Then I tried the dreaded windows Media player. Sounds great!

So it's not the speakers.

What would cause foobar to start working like crap all of a sudden? I've used it for the past 6 years with no problems. Anyone else have this experience?

Any input or recommended settings are appreciated. I'll probably reinstall it tomorrow, but just wondering.

Thanks in advance

~CC
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2007-06-18, 11:16 AM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Foobar2000 question

I can't answer the question about why it would happen all of a sudden, but I will ask if you've tried to uninstall it and then reinstall it to see if that will fix the problem.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2007-06-18, 01:42 PM
ccrider895's Avatar
ccrider895 ccrider895 is offline
Sweetie, darling...
1.09 TB/1.75 TB/1.60
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wherever you go, there you are
Re: Foobar2000 question

Thanks Lynne, I just reinstalled it, and now it's working fine!

Whew, I can't explain it, but I'm just glad it wasn't my speakers. It's just kinda weird because I hadn't changed any settings in a long time. Thought maybe another program might be F**'ing it up.

Oh well, still a mystery, but issue resolved!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Tagging an Album List on foobar2000 - RainDawg Technobabble 27 2008-07-25 03:05 PM
Foobar2000 Wav vs Wavepack? - MetalNinja Technobabble 2 2006-04-28 08:51 PM
Foobar2000 Flac conversion - unholyone Technobabble 14 2006-02-20 12:18 PM
foobar2000 screencaptures - RainDawg Technobabble 3 2005-03-04 08:07 AM
SHN > FLAC conversions with foobar2000 0.8.3 - TheMamba Technobabble 4 2004-11-28 10:44 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts