The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2007-04-09, 02:22 PM
PEPPER PEPPER is offline
46.96 GB/23.05 GB/0.49
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
CAN I UPLOAD MINIDISC HI-SP REC WITHOUT S/STAGE

I have some recordings i made on my minidisc,and ive been having problems trying to transfer them using sonicstage 4.0.I was wondering what else i could use to upload the recordings to make them ok to upload on here or dime??I have audacity but dont know if i save my hi-sp recordings using audacity whether the quality will be affected too much.I wanted to use sonicstage as it was supposed to be a lot quicker for transferring and the quality would be good.Ive almost had enough but really want to share my recordings,as i have some shows coming up that might be of interest.Any help appreciated.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2007-04-09, 03:28 PM
BennyBlanco's Avatar
BennyBlanco BennyBlanco is offline
NIN FAN
66.12 GB/42.57 GB/0.64
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Re: CAN I UPLOAD MINIDISC HI-SP REC WITHOUT S/STAGE

Heres a, link to the newest version shouldn't have any problems with this its a free download.

http://musicstore.connect.com/custom...checkBos=false
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2007-04-10, 05:13 AM
PEPPER PEPPER is offline
46.96 GB/23.05 GB/0.49
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: CAN I UPLOAD MINIDISC HI-SP REC WITHOUT S/STAGE

I have managed to transfer the music from my md to my pc,but all files are saved as atrac files.Will i have to do the transfer again or can they be converted to wav( like it said it was doing) without losing any quality.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2007-04-10, 09:08 AM
Karst's Avatar
Karst Karst is offline
Utterly Bastard Groovy
71.16 GB/89.50 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Belfast
Re: CAN I UPLOAD MINIDISC HI-SP REC WITHOUT S/STAGE

This might do it - depending on the ATRAC - remember, Sony is very protective of its formats and heavy on copyright issues. They seem to make it a difficult as possible for you to do this.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2007-04-11, 01:40 AM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: CAN I UPLOAD MINIDISC HI-SP REC WITHOUT S/STAGE

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenmachine
if you don't trust the atrac format and can spare the additional disk space for decompressed lossy files, use the same method as for backing up PCM files.
http://forums.minidisc.org/index.php?showtopic=16088

the instructions are in the thread above. I highly recommend you start recording in 16bit/44.1kHz LPCM WAV instead of mucking around with shitty atrac.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2007-04-11, 02:51 PM
PEPPER PEPPER is offline
46.96 GB/23.05 GB/0.49
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: CAN I UPLOAD MINIDISC HI-SP REC WITHOUT S/STAGE

Just when i thought GREAT!! i have beat this and can now share my recordings on torrent sites as they are going to be lossless,i get this reply.



sometimes i feel so out of league with a lot of people.

i dont understand the khz etc,all i know is i want to transfer my live recordings and share them.I thought the way i was doing it would be acceptable for torrent sites.I didnt know my files were going to save as atrac,this is just what it saved as in sonicstage.I was told lp2 was terrible to use for recording,( ok i accept that) so i started using hi-sp,( as i was led to believe this would give good quality recordings and would transfer digitally) and now that doesnt seem good enough.So i should record in 16bit/44.1kHz LPCM WAV??.Is this the best i can record in on a hi-md recorder??.Does this limit the time i can record on an 80 minute minidisc???.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2007-04-11, 02:58 PM
PEPPER PEPPER is offline
46.96 GB/23.05 GB/0.49
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: CAN I UPLOAD MINIDISC HI-SP REC WITHOUT S/STAGE

Just checked my manual and in( hi-md ) lpcm mode i can fit 28 mins on an 80 mindisc.So i could be using 3 discs for one show???.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2007-04-11, 06:35 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: CAN I UPLOAD MINIDISC HI-SP REC WITHOUT S/STAGE

you can still share your hi-sp recordings, but since you've got a deck that can record WAV you should take advantage of that. You will enjoy the recordings more as will everybody who downloads and listens to them.

the 80min discs are designed for the older md decks, you can get special 1GB discs that are for Hi-MD decks which hold triple the data, which is about 95 minutes lpcm wav on each disc. The cost of the hi-md discs is about $10, as opposed to the old style 80min discs which cost $4 and hold 28 minutes (these are Toronto retail prices). So when you buy the 1GB discs you get more for your money and have to switch discs less often.

hey I just found an even better deal... $5.54USD for 1GB discs
http://www.minidisc-canada.com/shopexd.asp?id=435

don't forget to turn off autogain as I posted in the last thread you started.

I'm not trying to make you feel bad, just want to make your recordings better & easier for you, which hopefully makes you feel happy
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2007-04-12, 03:15 AM
jadg2 jadg2 is offline
62.44 GB/104.12 GB/1.67
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Ireland + Scotland
Re: CAN I UPLOAD MINIDISC HI-SP REC WITHOUT S/STAGE

Yo Pepper, you can get HiMDs in the UK for I think 4 quid a pop online. Ive ordered from this shop with no problem - http://www.discountdiscs.co.uk/ - but you might want to look around and see if someone is selling them cheaper these days.

Also, with a HiMD in HiSP mode, you can record for 7.5 hours. Ive recorded a few shows in HiSP, and I cant determine a big difference between that and PCM. Very useful for long / high stealth shows, although use PCM if you can.
__________________
Putting the Good shit out since 2005 - http://db.etree.org/james_ramro
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Mp3 Minidisc or Neither? - NoddingTurdFAN Lossy or Lossless? 10 2005-04-30 08:12 PM
is this MiniDisc? - spontabmark Lossy or Lossless? 16 2005-03-30 02:20 PM
mp3? minidisc? something else? - craig62 Lossy or Lossless? 6 2005-02-19 06:01 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts