The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2007-02-01, 11:51 PM
galactic1 galactic1 is offline
273.49 GB/557.92 GB/2.04
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Help with FLAC and Windows Vista

I just got Vista a couple of days ago, and tried to convert files, like I always do, and it won't work.
I read that some people are having problems actually installing it, but thats not the case with me.

When I go to decode the files, an error message pops up that says,"Run time error 75- Path/File access error"

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2007-02-01, 11:54 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Help with FLAC and Windows Vista

Googled the error and came up with this page: http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000380.htm

Runtime error code 75:
Program does not have rights or access to a file. Often this is caused when a program is trying to access a network file it doesn't have proper access to either because of network privileges or something is blocking the program. This issue can also be caused when the file is being used by another program or is read-only.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2007-02-02, 12:09 AM
galactic1 galactic1 is offline
273.49 GB/557.92 GB/2.04
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Re: Help with FLAC and Windows Vista

Do you think this could have been caused by me doing the following:

I downloaded all the files and then downloaded the flac, so when I originally d/led the files, they didn't have a name?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2007-02-02, 12:39 AM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: Help with FLAC and Windows Vista

sorry, I don't understand what you mean... please explain a little more.

are you able to play back the files using foobar2000 or WinAmp or whatever you normally use?
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2007-02-02, 06:13 AM
pawel's Avatar
pawel pawel is offline
Lockout here
370.16 GB/672.37 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Poland
Re: Help with FLAC and Windows Vista

I wonder if this problem is caused by insane content protection implemented in Vista to almost if not all multimedia files More info here: http://www.cs.auckland.ac.nz/~pgut00...ista_cost.html
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2007-02-02, 07:59 AM
galactic1 galactic1 is offline
273.49 GB/557.92 GB/2.04
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Re: Help with FLAC and Windows Vista

I haven't tried to play back the files b/c I usually just convert all of them when I d/l them.
What do I need to d/l to try and play them back while still in Flac?
And will I be able to burn them?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2007-02-02, 10:51 AM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Help with FLAC and Windows Vista

Here's the link to foobar2000 which will play your flac files: http://foobar2000.org/ From the link I gave you, it was looking like your folder or file permissions were not set correctly. You may also want to take a look at the link pawel posted, this new OS is known to have some multimedia 'issues'.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2007-02-03, 02:53 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: Help with FLAC and Windows Vista

burn & keep all the files as you downloaded them for future trading... media is cheap & it is the best way to go.

hook your stereo up to your computer & you can listen with nice sound without having to burn.

here's a tutorial on winamp for pc:
http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/showthread.php?t=7

installing all the plugs for foobar2000 v0.9 is worthwhile, but if you get confused, here is v0.8.3 "special installer" which can play pretty much anything audio (including SHN/FLAC/APE) without any searching for plugins:
http://rapidshare.com/files/13732466...al083.zip.html

just make sure you choose "full" installation when prompted.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2007-02-24, 02:41 PM
byeargan byeargan is offline
28.27 GB/31.79 GB/1.12
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Re: Help with FLAC and Windows Vista

i'm having the same problem, the icons for the files don't show them as being flac files either. any resolution to this problem?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2007-02-24, 03:29 PM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: Help with FLAC and Windows Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by byeargan
i'm having the same problem, the icons for the files don't show them as being flac files either. any resolution to this problem?
you and a million others... here is the solution:

Quote:
Go to the FLAC icon where you open it up on the desktop, and right click on "run as administrator".

hint from:http://www.phantasytour.com/sci/boar...readID=1239534
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2007-02-25, 12:28 PM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: Help with FLAC and Windows Vista

Have you tried right clicking on the .exe and going into the compatibility settings and setting it to run in Windows XP mode? That was the workaround when XP came out for mkw, etc?
__________________
We all see only that which we are trained to see.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2007-03-18, 11:24 PM
Jimmybola
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Help with FLAC and Windows Vista

Re: Help with FLAC and Windows Vista

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quote:
Originally Posted by byeargan
i'm having the same problem, the icons for the files don't show them as being flac files either. any resolution to this problem?

you and a million others... here is the solution:


Quote:
Go to the FLAC icon where you open it up on the desktop, and right click on "run as administrator".


That worked fine for me! I had the same error on my new vista computer. I right clicked like you said and then I could not drag files into flac, but I clicked on add files and it worked fine, no error. Thanks a bunch.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
How do I convert Flac Files to WAV Files in Windows Vista - Steve Remy Technobabble 6 2010-07-19 05:14 PM
DVD Lab Pro Compatible w/ Windows Vista? - bosscheech Technobabble 7 2008-04-15 12:48 AM
SHN to WAV on Windows Vista....does MKW work? - bigeyessmith Technobabble 2 2007-10-19 03:55 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts