The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2007-01-29, 06:28 PM
RobDerhak RobDerhak is offline
255.44 GB/268.22 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Question DVD Authoring software

Hey all, I just filmed my 1st four shows, and I need to get them authored. I've never done it before, and am looking for suggestions on software for my PC before I go out & buy a piece of junk.

I used a Sony DCR-SR40 to film, they look great, I just need a program that will be capable of adding a separate audio source to the video footage.

Thanks in advance, this community is always there to help out
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2007-01-29, 06:34 PM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: DVD Authoring software

Sony Vegas 7 to capture, synch, and render
Sony DVD Architect 4 to make your menus and build video_ts folder
__________________
We all see only that which we are trained to see.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2007-01-29, 06:58 PM
RobDerhak RobDerhak is offline
255.44 GB/268.22 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Re: DVD Authoring software

Good lord that is pricy.

Is MyDVD from Roxio a piece of crap? It is about 1/4 the price
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2007-01-29, 07:02 PM
RobDerhak RobDerhak is offline
255.44 GB/268.22 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Re: DVD Authoring software

Is this some sort of hoax?

http://oemsoftware.ws/index.php?target=desc&progid=8238

Says that Sony Vegas 7.0 is $32
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2007-01-29, 07:12 PM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: DVD Authoring software

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobDerhak
Is this some sort of hoax?

http://oemsoftware.ws/index.php?target=desc&progid=8238

Says that Sony Vegas 7.0 is $32
I am not familiar with that store. I got mine from Sony. You may be able to get a used version from ebay or something. You don't need vegas 7. I'd say you could be safe back to vegas 5. DVD architect 3 allows you to do dual layer. I wouldn't go below 3 on the Architect. I think they have a more introductory piece of software called movie studio which I think is around 200 bucks.

I have not used MyDVD. so I can't really comment. I bet it is crap coming from Roxio though.
__________________
We all see only that which we are trained to see.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2007-01-29, 07:21 PM
RobDerhak RobDerhak is offline
255.44 GB/268.22 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Re: DVD Authoring software

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1158320998679

Any opinion on this?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2007-01-29, 07:26 PM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: DVD Authoring software

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobDerhak
Yeah that's the other one I was thinking of. I have not used it before. but it looks like it is a simpler version of the ones I quoted in the beginning. If I was looking for something introductory that would be my choice. The ones above are full blown movie studio kind of production pieces for custom work. The one you linked is probably just slightly limited but looks like it does the job. keep in mind I have not used it.... and I am judging it based on my experiences with vegas and DVD architect which I love.

link to free trial . . . .try it out.
http://www.sonymediasoftware.com/dow...p2.asp?did=613
__________________
We all see only that which we are trained to see.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2007-01-31, 07:07 PM
RobDerhak RobDerhak is offline
255.44 GB/268.22 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Re: DVD Authoring software

OK, I bought the Vegas Movie Studio + DVD platinum, but I am having an issue with it.

I have the video & Audio & Text overlays all laid out in the Vegas part of it, but HOW do I get it into the DVD Architect side so I can add Menu's?

Also, when I rendered the DVD, it came in at 14+ GIG?! It is just under an hour long, so this needs to be changed.

Thanks for the help so far salt, really is appreciated
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Please recommend DVD authoring software - mudster Technobabble 4 2008-12-15 10:03 AM
Help on DVD authoring... - hallucinogenetick Technobabble 4 2008-06-06 01:13 AM
DVD authoring software - tgunn2760 Technobabble 14 2008-03-17 08:52 PM
Best DVD-Authoring Software? - invisigoth Technobabble 12 2007-09-04 07:16 AM
DVD authoring help - jlinkon Technobabble 12 2006-10-28 10:47 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts