The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-11-13, 02:56 AM
Dr Klovernutz Dr Klovernutz is offline
146.78 GB/67.16 GB/0.46
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
bit torrent client? Firewalled

hi have been somewhat familiar with bit torrents for a while.
I recently
1. switched to a client manager called bit torrent
2. also I recently switched to norton antivirus


I was consistantly getting Norton popups talking about a computer trying to gain access to my computer (but I think maybe it was others on the torrent at the time??)

now when I come to this site I see FIREWALLED listed under my name (never saw this before when I had Freeom firewall and Bit Tornado)
I even shut off both my winXP and norton firewall and it still shows. I am not even DLing a show and it says FIREWALLED. I looked through the article on port forwarding and got lost, I have no router. I have cable wire to moden to ethernet card. My modem is a Terayan (adelphia).......

could the client manager be the problem, or is there a fix for norton?

some insight would be great
thanks

added:
I just hopped over to bt.etree and started a torrent and I do not show up there as firewalled.......

Last edited by Dr Klovernutz; 2006-11-13 at 03:05 AM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2006-11-13, 10:51 AM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: bit torrent client? Firewalled

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Klovernutz
I am not even DLing a show and it says FIREWALLED.
If you aren't connected to the tracker, then nothing will be there. It only says FIREWALLED if one of the shows you are uploading/downloading from the site sees you as firewalled. Perhaps the page is cached and that is why it is still saying that?
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2006-11-13, 01:45 PM
The Wicker Man's Avatar
The Wicker Man The Wicker Man is offline
Fuck You?
76.15 GB/132.64 GB/1.74
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Arizona
Re: bit torrent client? Firewalled

bummer
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2006-11-13, 02:04 PM
Dr Klovernutz Dr Klovernutz is offline
146.78 GB/67.16 GB/0.46
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Re: bit torrent client? Firewalled

i just opened this page and now it doesn't say firewalled

I think since I know my settings are allowing bit torrent and the other bt sites I use do not say I am firewalled I think the problem may be with how Traders Den is seeing my computer
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2006-11-13, 09:35 PM
dmber dmber is offline
130.55 GB/154.93 GB/1.19
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Re: bit torrent client? Firewalled

all of a sudden mine says firewalled as well, but i don't even have a firewall on my computer. i went from connectable to firewalled.

none of the other sites i'm using think i'm firewalled, either.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2006-11-14, 07:08 AM
TheMamba's Avatar
TheMamba TheMamba is offline
I love them redheads!
70.51 GB/140.66 GB/1.99
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South Florida
Re: bit torrent client? Firewalled

Sometimes when the tracker gets busy (I think) it shows a false Firewalled. Has happened to me a couple of times. Stopping and restarting cures it.
__________________
Audio List

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpermaLopez
Sorry, I'm still a n00b.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2006-11-14, 10:54 AM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: bit torrent client? Firewalled

Also, you guys may want to do a NAT check to verify if you really are firewalled or not: http://btfaq.com/natcheck.pl

Also, as far as I know (and I just went to double-check), etree never tells you if you are firewalled or not.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2006-11-14, 10:20 PM
tbtb's Avatar
tbtb tbtb is offline
257.72 GB/282.79 GB/1.10
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: bit torrent client? Firewalled

I had the same problem. I was not firewalled according to Dime. I tried that excellent advice from Mr. Mamba and just stopped the torrent and restarted it. Magically, the RED firewalled notice went away -- thanks!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2006-11-20, 05:48 AM
randytravis's Avatar
randytravis randytravis is offline
791.86 GB/10.16 TB/13.14
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Georgia
Re: bit torrent client? Firewalled

Norton can also cause problems with bittorrent due to it's Worm Protection "feature." you need to disable this in the norton options. it basically checks for a large number of connections originating from your computer (like bittorrent creates) and tries to stop them, thinking that it's a worm spreading.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2006-11-27, 09:46 PM
sch21c sch21c is offline
194.91 GB/381.02 GB/1.95
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Re: bit torrent client? Firewalled

Quote:
Originally Posted by U2Lynne
Also, you guys may want to do a NAT check to verify if you really are firewalled or not: http://btfaq.com/natcheck.pl

Also, as far as I know (and I just went to double-check), etree never tells you if you are firewalled or not.
I'm showing as FIREWALLED too, even though Azureus is showing Nat OK and the natcheck page you referenced above shows everything is ok too.

Interesting....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2006-11-27, 09:59 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: bit torrent client? Firewalled

If so, then try stopping all your torrents here and then starting them all.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2006-11-28, 01:25 AM
panicpilgrims's Avatar
panicpilgrims panicpilgrims is offline
225.59 GB/197.08 GB/0.87
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Re: bit torrent client? Firewalled

With your client open, go to http://www.canyouseeme.org/ and enter the port you are hoping is forwarded, it will tell you if it can "see" all the way through the firewalls and NAT to your client, on the exact path your music files travel. Couldn't hurt!
__________________
They say there's always one freak on the bus, but I can never find him...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #13  
Old 2006-11-28, 01:38 AM
paddington's Avatar
paddington paddington is offline
please look after this bear
TTD Staff
83.17 GB/882.10 GB/10.61
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Re: bit torrent client? Firewalled

I think that URL should be in the FAQ somewhere (unless it already is).
__________________
"There are some of these recordings where it is just a whirring, and you cannot hear the music. " - Jimmy Page, 2007 / JUL / 26
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #14  
Old 2006-11-28, 01:44 AM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: bit torrent client? Firewalled

Yeah, I like that one. It's different from the NAT check one I usually send people to (http://btfaq.com/natcheck.pl)
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #15  
Old 2006-11-30, 03:51 PM
gunbarrel gunbarrel is offline
51.29 GB/29.32 GB/0.57
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Re: bit torrent client? Firewalled

can somebody help?i'm new to this website and i'm not very computer literate!!!
i know the basics,but like the people before me i too am being firewalled.if somebody could give me a heads up on what i need to do and where to look for inf. on this matter, i would be greatly appreciated..the other torrent websites i'm a member of work fine and have never told me that i was being firewalled...please help,please help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!in return for help i will invite any person to the land of the pig...."oink"
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
what torrent client should i use for mac? - Drewa311 Technobabble 13 2009-10-19 07:35 PM
What is the general opinion of the bit torrent client built into the Opera browser? - dan-O Technobabble 2 2007-07-11 05:13 PM
Which Bit Torrent Client Do You Use? - Pot Head Technobabble 16 2005-06-12 08:20 AM
Torrent Client Question - fenderstrat Technobabble 9 2005-01-23 12:23 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts