The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-05-29, 05:38 PM
joeschmeaux joeschmeaux is offline
1.31 TB/1.28 TB/0.97
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay area
Question Does Azureus have to be such a CPU hog?

When the BitTorrent client stopped working with the new passkey system, I switched to Azureus. It has a ton of bells and whistles and I like it a lot. However, when I woke up this morning, my poor Mac Mini was freaking out. My local DSL network had crashed, and Azureus was using all of the available CPU power and it wanted more! I restarted my computer and DSL modem. I then restarted all of my torrents with BitTorrent, and they're running smoothly. I'm doing 50-60kB down and 60-75kB up and BitTorrent is only using 25-30% of my available CPU power as opposed to Azureus which was using 85%+. I've seen a few other complaints about Azureus for Mac. Is it just a resource hog, or are there some settings which can be changed to make it run a little more efficiently?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2006-05-29, 06:08 PM
PyRo UK
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Does Azureus have to be such a CPU hog?

Its hardly the smoothest running program on a PC either.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2006-05-29, 06:26 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: Does Azureus have to be such a CPU hog?

serious cpu hog in my experience as well

if it wasn't for that I would probably choose it.

utorrent is much lighter
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2006-05-29, 06:36 PM
PyRo UK
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Does Azureus have to be such a CPU hog?

So what's utorrent like? I chose BitLord, and then Azureus more for the feel than anything else. I liked the fact that you can see it all in one place and the settings are so easy to use and understand.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2006-05-29, 06:52 PM
slimeruky slimeruky is offline
20.01 GB/232.58 GB/11.62
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Re: Does Azureus have to be such a CPU hog?

utorrent is quite similar to Azureus, really. It has worked flawlessly for me for many months now.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2006-05-29, 07:15 PM
E_rock's Avatar
E_rock E_rock is offline
93.01 GB/90.94 GB/0.98
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Re: Does Azureus have to be such a CPU hog?

I don't know about mac, but it's all about the configuration, configuration, configuration. Play with those bells and whistles, you'll see. I've been using Azureus for more than a year, some problems at first (noob), once I got it configured right, flawless, and doesn't slow me down much at all. It only hogs you if you let it. At any given time AZ. only uses 25-30% along with Opsys. I rarely dip into the red, CPU wise, unless if I'm doing something else resource intensive. But, then again I have plenty of power and Ram. Find out your connection speed and config. from there. I've tried bit comet, bit lord, bit tornado, a host of others and like AZ. the best. haven't tried Utorrent though, maybe it's better, I'll have to see. Hope it's of some help. E.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2006-05-29, 07:45 PM
PyRo UK
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Does Azureus have to be such a CPU hog?

Hey I just got this quite concerning message within minutes of installing uTorrent.
If you know how to help, I'm gona start a thread for it, I'm quite scared.
Attached Images
File Type: gif aaaah!.GIF
( 9.8 KB, 172 views)
 
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2006-05-29, 07:58 PM
PyRo UK
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Does Azureus have to be such a CPU hog?

Please see http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...ad.php?t=22120
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2006-05-29, 08:02 PM
randytravis's Avatar
randytravis randytravis is offline
791.86 GB/10.16 TB/13.14
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Georgia
Re: Does Azureus have to be such a CPU hog?

some tips for making azureus more friendly:
http://azureus.aelitis.com/wiki/inde...e_memory_usage

disable everything you don't need, by default alot comes turn on that you don't need.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2006-05-29, 09:15 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: Does Azureus have to be such a CPU hog?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PyRo UK
So what's utorrent like? I chose BitLord, and then Azureus more for the feel than anything else. I liked the fact that you can see it all in one place and the settings are so easy to use and understand.
bitlord is banned at many trackers and has a bad reputation for reporting incorrect stats, hammering trackers and being generally buggy as hell.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2006-05-29, 09:40 PM
mgleason007
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Does Azureus have to be such a CPU hog?

Azureus is a resource hog because it's written in Java. You can run the same .jar file on any platform that has the Java Virtual Machine installed and it will run. It does not need to be recompiled for different platforms.

uTorrent is Windows only.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2006-05-29, 09:43 PM
PyRo UK
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Does Azureus have to be such a CPU hog?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Five
bitlord is banned at many trackers and has a bad reputation for reporting incorrect stats, hammering trackers and being generally buggy as hell.
That's why I stopped using it
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #13  
Old 2006-05-29, 10:41 PM
joeschmeaux joeschmeaux is offline
1.31 TB/1.28 TB/0.97
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay area
Re: Does Azureus have to be such a CPU hog?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgleason007
Azureus is a resource hog because it's written in Java. You can run the same .jar file on any platform that has the Java Virtual Machine installed and it will run. It does not need to be recompiled for different platforms.

uTorrent is Windows only.
Thanks for the explaination. No wonder the Java poker game slowed down to a crawl last night. Oh well, Azureus was fun for a few days. I guess it'll be BitTorrent until something better comes along.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #14  
Old 2006-05-30, 07:28 AM
PyRo UK
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Does Azureus have to be such a CPU hog?

like uTorrent
Unless what I said last night put you off?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #15  
Old 2006-06-02, 11:17 PM
FluteMusic's Avatar
FluteMusic FluteMusic is offline
124.81 GB/279.87 GB/2.24
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Re: Does Azureus have to be such a CPU hog?

I found that when I installed the latest Java on a Win XP machine that my CPU usage dropped substantially.

Alan K
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Azureus help - habalushy Technobabble 0 2007-11-27 07:38 PM
Azureus 2.4.0.2 - toys Technobabble 14 2006-03-21 10:54 AM
Azureus 2.3.0.6 - pmonk Technobabble 3 2005-12-30 08:58 AM
Azureus Help - Cyndiotta Technobabble 9 2004-11-16 02:49 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts