The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-04-09, 12:40 PM
JWBusher JWBusher is offline
58.94 GB/24.66 GB/0.42
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Help with my firewall problems!

I'm firewalled here.

I recently disconnected and reconnected my router, but I'm also using TTD for the first time, and I haven't had firewall problems with any previous torrent sites, so I don't know if this is a new problem because of the disconnected router or a problem I'm having with TTD.

Now the problem here is that I am *retard* when it comes to computers so I don't quite know what to do here.

My router is Linksys WRT55AG Wireless A+G Broadband

I use BitTornado T-0.3.15

I have Windows XP. My Microsoft firewall is completely turned off.

I have Norton Internet Security 2006. There is no difference in my status when I turn off the security.

Any help is greatly apprecated.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2006-04-09, 12:49 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Help with my firewall problems!

I think I already mentioned turning off the random port option in BitTornado and it looks like you did that.

Here is a page on portforward.com that deals with your router and your bittornado client: http://portforward.com/english/route...BitTornado.htm

See if that page helps you out.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2006-04-09, 04:06 PM
JWBusher JWBusher is offline
58.94 GB/24.66 GB/0.42
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Re: Help with my firewall problems!

My router doesn't have the "filters" menu and that page isn't quite clear about the port range forwarding. Don't I have to type in different numbers for TDD?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2006-04-09, 04:11 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Help with my firewall problems!

Is this page more like what you have? http://portforward.com/english/route...BitTornado.htm

You don't need to do anything TTD specific. You just need to forward your ports for bittorrenting and that will forward your ports for any site that you bittorrent at.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2006-04-09, 04:24 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Help with my firewall problems!

you just need torward the same ports in both the router AND yer BT client
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2006-04-10, 11:42 AM
JWBusher JWBusher is offline
58.94 GB/24.66 GB/0.42
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Re: Help with my firewall problems!

I did asbolutley everything that the instructions told me...set up a static IP...forarded the ports...and I'm still coming up firewalled. I think this might be a lost cause.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2006-04-10, 12:04 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Help with my firewall problems!

Here's a page from there about setting up a static IP on XP: http://portforward.com/networking/static-xp.htm I can tell you have the ports correct, so what I'm wondering is if you have the static IP done correctly. If you do ipconfig, you should always see the same local IP, something like 192.168.1.xxx . That xxx should always be the same and it should be the same number that you forwarded your ports to. Also, are you restarting Azureus when you change router or IP settings? I'm not sure if you have to, but that may be something to try.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2006-04-15, 05:55 AM
JWBusher JWBusher is offline
58.94 GB/24.66 GB/0.42
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Re: Help with my firewall problems!

I did everything you told me to do and I read and followed a handful of guides and unplugged and restarted my whole system and I've done everything right. No matter what I do I'm in the red.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2006-04-17, 03:03 PM
Nakiel
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Help with my firewall problems!

Does the router have a switch?
Are you firewalled or is it a NAT error ?

Open a port in the router between 50000 and 60000, then set up yer torrentprog to use the same port, if still problems; disable any upnp software...

Some apps req multiple connections, and do not work with NAT . Use the virtual server setup in your router; specify the port normally associated with an app as a 'Trigger Port', select the protocol type both as TCP and UDP, then enter the pub ports associated with the trigger port to open them for inbound traffic.

...and doublecheck that MS hasn't turned the wall on by itself...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with firewall - methusela Technobabble 9 2008-03-01 12:18 PM
Firewall - AfroCuban Technobabble 2 2007-08-18 09:03 PM
firewall ? - willipie Technobabble 1 2006-12-13 12:25 PM
The firewall that cant be put out - Phish Phood Technobabble 4 2006-08-23 08:33 PM
firewall out of nowhere - Sugarkane Technobabble 5 2006-05-02 05:37 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts