The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-02-07, 01:06 AM
thisistoto thisistoto is offline
505.91 GB/533.29 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Controlling 2 PC's W/ One Keyboard/Mouse N' Sharing A Monitor?

Has anyone used these before: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...02#DetailSpecs

And how would I be able to share a monitor among THREE machines (Two PCs and one iBook)?


Thaaaanks.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2006-02-07, 01:07 AM
thisistoto thisistoto is offline
505.91 GB/533.29 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Controlling 2 PC's W/ One Keyboard/Mouse N' Sharing A Monitor?

For sharing a monitor I came across this thing: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817107219

But there has to be a cheaper way
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2006-02-07, 02:08 AM
diggrd's Avatar
diggrd diggrd is offline
1.05 TB/1.69 TB/1.62
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SWNH
Re: Controlling 2 PC's W/ One Keyboard/Mouse N' Sharing A Monitor?

I've used this one for 3 and 4 PCs, has audio as well. Some KVMs are fussy and only work if everything is compatable, and cable length and quality especially with USB is important. I prefer to have seperate cabling some sets only connect at the video like this



while it keeps things neat it just seems like you could be asking for trouble.
__________________
DEMONROAST
LIST
Scene of a Perfect Crime


Quote:
Originally posted by frankenberry
anybody else who decides to call me a fuckhead troll newbie (you know who you are) should be made to listen to phish bootleg taped by a '73 led zeppelin taper
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2006-02-07, 06:16 AM
GregY's Avatar
GregY GregY is offline
Critical Darling
94.53 GB/121.25 GB/1.28
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Controlling 2 PC's W/ One Keyboard/Mouse N' Sharing A Monitor?

I briefly considered a KVM but may I ask ... how about a software solution instead? I have 3 PCs all connected to my network router. I'm able to use VNC (RealVNC) to connect to any one of them. Very simple to setup and it is free. You can also have it start as a service in Windows so it's there after the PC boots. Works great (for me.)

Don't know if there are Mac solutions for using VNC.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2006-02-07, 06:34 AM
ffooky ffooky is offline
10.91 GB/10.56 GB/0.97
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Controlling 2 PC's W/ One Keyboard/Mouse N' Sharing A Monitor?

Chicken of the VNC works pretty well and there's always Apple's own Remote Desktop, though I think it's a bit expensive.
__________________
Two tracks for a desert island:

Black Keys - I Got Mine
Tintern Abbey - Vacuum Cleaner
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2006-02-07, 09:10 AM
thisistoto thisistoto is offline
505.91 GB/533.29 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Controlling 2 PC's W/ One Keyboard/Mouse N' Sharing A Monitor?

Thanks for all the info. Im not trying to control my Apple, just hook it up to my existing monitor,
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2006-02-07, 09:31 AM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
467.74 GB/2.01 TB/4.40
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Controlling 2 PC's W/ One Keyboard/Mouse N' Sharing A Monitor?

We used a KVM switch for the kids when they each had their own computer but only one monitor for it (the other one had broken). It was an active PVM like the one you linked to. There is also a passive type which is much cheaper. The only thing is that you need to turn a knob on the KVM to indicate which computer gets to use the monitor.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Controlling audio on a dvd - Festafarian Technobabble 3 2006-08-09 12:36 PM
Is My BT Client Supposed To Strain My PC's Resources? - thisistoto Technobabble 9 2005-09-20 11:46 PM
Toubles with the new pc's dvdr....? - Sid Technobabble 13 2005-04-21 05:09 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts