The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2005-09-19, 06:12 PM
thisistoto thisistoto is offline
505.91 GB/533.29 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Is My BT Client Supposed To Strain My PC's Resources?

Im using Bit Tornado, and even just with one torrent going it seems to just eat up my resources. I have a pretty powerful system (P4 1.6 w/ 512mb of ram). Any ideas? Or is this normal?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2005-09-19, 07:42 PM
TheMamba's Avatar
TheMamba TheMamba is offline
I love them redheads!
70.51 GB/140.66 GB/1.99
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South Florida
Re: Is My BT Client Supposed To Strain My PC's Resources?

I haven't used Bit Tornado, but to answer your question, no, it shouldn't.

512 isn't a ton of RAM but it should be more then adequate to do anything short of high-end applications (games, 3D rendering, etc.).

Do you have a lot of programs running in the background?
__________________
Audio List

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpermaLopez
Sorry, I'm still a n00b.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2005-09-19, 09:16 PM
thisistoto thisistoto is offline
505.91 GB/533.29 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Is My BT Client Supposed To Strain My PC's Resources?

No but I do feel other programs being slowed down
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2005-09-20, 10:49 AM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: Is My BT Client Supposed To Strain My PC's Resources?

It should only slow down things using your internet like firefox or ie or whatever... due to the inability to make confirmations with the upload maxed. All other programs should not be affected. I would stay away from clients that are java based on your system... i.e no Azureus. If you have multiple torrents open, this will eat up your ram and slow everything down. But you shouldn't have more than one or two open anyway unless your on a T1 or OC3 or the likes.
__________________
We all see only that which we are trained to see.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2005-09-20, 01:21 PM
feralicious's Avatar
feralicious feralicious is offline
dare to discover
63.44 GB/133.90 GB/2.11
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: occasionally
Re: Is My BT Client Supposed To Strain My PC's Resources?

Quote:
Originally Posted by thisistoto
Im using Bit Tornado, and even just with one torrent going it seems to just eat up my resources. I have a pretty powerful system (P4 1.6 w/ 512mb of ram). Any ideas? Or is this normal?
I never had that problem when I was running Bit Tornado on a system equivalent to yours. Have you defragged your C drive recently? If not, that might help. Also run a spyware/adware program in case something has found its way in.
__________________
feralicious goodies
Don't get even.
Get odd.

....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2005-09-20, 01:34 PM
TheMamba's Avatar
TheMamba TheMamba is offline
I love them redheads!
70.51 GB/140.66 GB/1.99
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South Florida
Re: Is My BT Client Supposed To Strain My PC's Resources?

Good spyware program:

http://www.lavasoftusa.com/software/adaware/

Defrag is a great idea too.
__________________
Audio List

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpermaLopez
Sorry, I'm still a n00b.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2005-09-20, 11:40 PM
thisistoto thisistoto is offline
505.91 GB/533.29 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Is My BT Client Supposed To Strain My PC's Resources?

i defrag all of my drives every week, and run spyware and such tooo.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2005-09-21, 12:18 AM
RIAA
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Is My BT Client Supposed To Strain My PC's Resources?

How full is your hard disc and how fast are you downloading?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2005-09-21, 12:41 AM
thisistoto thisistoto is offline
505.91 GB/533.29 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Is My BT Client Supposed To Strain My PC's Resources?

it isnt that full at all (it dls to a 200 gig drive thats only using 50 gigs) and i get speeds of anywere 20 - 100
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2005-09-21, 12:46 AM
Spelunker's Avatar
Spelunker Spelunker is offline
250.15 GB/491.13 GB/1.96
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Is My BT Client Supposed To Strain My PC's Resources?

Quote:
Originally Posted by thisistoto
it isnt that full at all (it dls to a 200 gig drive thats only using 50 gigs) and i get speeds of anywere 20 - 100
Toto - You should never tell the RIAA that.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Whats the best BT client? Issues with current client - antsmarchn Technobabble 9 2007-06-26 10:47 PM
Controlling 2 PC's W/ One Keyboard/Mouse N' Sharing A Monitor? - thisistoto Technobabble 6 2006-02-07 10:31 AM
Toubles with the new pc's dvdr....? - Sid Technobabble 13 2005-04-21 06:09 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts