The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-02-03, 09:56 AM
Slab's Avatar
Slab Slab is offline
29.66 GB/39.74 GB/1.34
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
static ip address

hi, i am trying to forward ports to my router so that i am no longer firewalled. i am using mac os x 2.8. i have visited portforward.com and it says i need a static ip address. my isp tells me they do not offer this, only dynamic ip address. i followed instructions for my particular router at portforward.com leaving out static ip address.
seems i am still firewalled.
any suggestions?
thanks
Slab
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2006-02-03, 10:09 AM
jazzbo jazzbo is offline
18.28 GB/38.30 GB/2.09
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: static ip address

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slab
hi, i am trying to forward ports to my router so that i am no longer firewalled. i am using mac os x 2.8. i have visited portforward.com and it says i need a static ip address. my isp tells me they do not offer this, only dynamic ip address. i followed instructions for my particular router at portforward.com leaving out static ip address.
seems i am still firewalled.
If the instructions say you need an external static IP address, e.g. your ISP needs to supply one, then they are wrong.

More likely what they mean is you need a static internal IP address. That is, if your router assigns the ip address to your Mac then it needs to assign a static address so that a static routing rule can be set up to forward connections to that specific machine between the router.
__________________
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2006-02-03, 10:53 AM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: static ip address

What the instructions need to say is you need a static *local* IP. That is the one that looks like 192.168.1.xxx.

Go to your router and turn DHCP off (or some routers allow you to have it DHCP with manual, but you need to know the range it allows for manual ones - look in your manual for that). Then go to System Preferences > Network > Built-in Ethernet > (Configure) > Configure IPv4 set to Manually; IP Address set to 192.168.1.xxx (pick your own xxx, but remember them); Router set to 192.168.1.1; the rest should be from your ISP > Apply. Now go to your router to forward your ports, the IP you want to forward them to is the one you just input - 192.168.1.xxx
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2006-02-03, 12:01 PM
Slab's Avatar
Slab Slab is offline
29.66 GB/39.74 GB/1.34
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Re: static ip address

cheers, i am going to take a short break to let my brain cool down, it seems to have overheated.
i will report on how i got on with the port forwarding when i resume a little later.
many thanks to both of you.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
# below IP address - b3118207 Technobabble 2 2007-06-22 12:07 PM
How do you set up a static IP address - manmachine Technobabble 13 2005-11-25 04:26 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts