The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2004-12-13, 08:46 PM
CranAdamU2's Avatar
CranAdamU2 CranAdamU2 is offline
This Charming Man
126.75 GB/124.20 GB/0.98
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Southern California
Notes shntool -fix command HELP ??

I understood how to get around the DOS PROMPT COMMAND LINE and create a batch file for shntool -len, from (RainDawg's Site) and using the command line and save it to an "empty" notepad file, saving it with a '.bat' to the end, dropping the audio folder to check it.......

but I was wondering if someone could help me out and do the same procedure (copy and paste a command line to a blank notepad file, label it shntool fix.bat and drop the folder to fix the sbe's) by providing me with a command line to use in a batch file [for the life of me I still can't get any of those commands to work {in ms-dos} with WHATEVER directory of lossless music I direct it to], and would it work the same as the shntool -len or it or am I doomed to face the dos prompt all alone ????
__________________
"And it's you when I look in the mirror
And it's you that makes it hard to let go
Sometimes you can't make it on your own
"

"That there, it's not me......I'm not here!"
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2004-12-14, 11:27 AM
RainDawg's Avatar
RainDawg RainDawg is offline
Renegade Geek
10.20 GB/20.72 GB/2.03
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Passing swiftly through The Moor
Re: shntool -fix command HELP ??

Yeah, I have a batch file that I use to fix sets. You will have to be careful when you use it, as it will fix the files in sequential order by their filename, so if they are not in order or if you have multiple sets in one folder, it can cause audio to get appended the wrong way.

Also note that this batch file will work on any shn/flac/wav/ape file. You could take out support for one of these formats if you choose. As a default, this will output to .wav with the -fixed appended to the end of the filename, but this can be changed to output directly to one of these formats (but I'll leave that as an excercise to you).

Code:
@echo off
%~d1 & cd %*
for %%T in (shn flac wav ape) do if exist *.%%T shntool fix *.%%T
pause
__________________
Through the clouds,
Throught the lies,
We'll never see,
What's never been,
At the ending of life and the coming of death,
Pass not through its gates but into the dark.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2004-12-28, 11:49 AM
uhclem
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: shntool -fix command HELP ??

The problem with a batchfile like this is it takes no account of different sets and other breaks in the music where you might not want to shift the track markers. I generally make a unique batch file for each set of SHNs that I fix.

I do have a general fixit setup that I will happily share with you but it's on my work computer for some reason and I won't be there until the new year.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2004-12-28, 10:27 PM
bobs23's Avatar
bobs23 bobs23 is offline
in LA LA land
6.86 GB/47.63 GB/6.94
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: shntool -fix command HELP ??

OK I'm still learning this. Here is what I found. I have a folder with 9 flac files in it. I ran the len batch file and came up with SBE on track 5. I ran the batch file for fix and it fixes files 5-9. I decoded the original track 5 and zoomed to the frame and looked at the head of the track and couldn't see an error. The tail is a fade out and the head of track 6 is a fade in. I then created a false folder and put track 4,5,6 in it and ran the batch file figuring that it would align based on the track around it and it did nothing. Is it correct to assume that when I did the original fix that it fixed the SBE in track 5 and then slides all the subsiquent tracks equal to the amount of the track 5 fix. And when it does the fix, does it pad or does it remove the error and remark at the zero cross? The reason I ask is that I haven't yet found any other problem discs with SBE's. I created this disc with CDWave and in this case split in the silence between the fade down and fade up. I can only assume that this where the problem is.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2004-12-29, 01:14 AM
RainDawg's Avatar
RainDawg RainDawg is offline
Renegade Geek
10.20 GB/20.72 GB/2.03
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Passing swiftly through The Moor
Re: shntool -fix command HELP ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by deep_elem
The problem with a batchfile like this is it takes no account of different sets and other breaks in the music where you might not want to shift the track markers. I generally make a unique batch file for each set of SHNs that I fix.
Yes...this is absolutely true. If there are set breaks or fadeouts in certain places, you'll want to arrange how the data gets shifted accordingly. This batch file is, of course, a very simple fix.
__________________
Through the clouds,
Throught the lies,
We'll never see,
What's never been,
At the ending of life and the coming of death,
Pass not through its gates but into the dark.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2005-04-02, 11:15 AM
feralicious's Avatar
feralicious feralicious is offline
dare to discover
63.44 GB/133.18 GB/2.10
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: occasionally
Re: shntool -fix command HELP ??

uhclem is deep_elem?
__________________
feralicious goodies
Don't get even.
Get odd.

....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2005-04-02, 11:21 AM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: shntool -fix command HELP ??



when uhclem first arrived at TTD he was using deep_elem, then switched back to uhclem to avoid confusion with the other two DeepElems.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2005-04-02, 11:22 AM
feralicious's Avatar
feralicious feralicious is offline
dare to discover
63.44 GB/133.18 GB/2.10
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: occasionally
Re: shntool -fix command HELP ??

Yeah, uhclem doesn't seem that bitter so I was surprised.
__________________
feralicious goodies
Don't get even.
Get odd.

....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2005-04-26, 07:44 PM
pmonk pmonk is offline
431.58 GB/607.17 GB/1.41
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: shntool -fix command HELP ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by uhclem
I do have a general fixit setup that I will happily share with you but it's on my work computer for some reason and I won't be there until the new year.
Did you ever manage to share this uhclem????
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Linux command line tool? - Friday Lossy or Lossless? 2 2008-05-06 02:25 PM
*For command line pros only* (1) shntool (2) ape/flac/shn - roann Technobabble 1 2006-02-25 09:05 AM
ffp = shntool md5 = st5 ??? - feralicious Technobabble 11 2005-04-14 07:10 PM
shntool help - moemusic Technobabble 15 2005-01-05 07:18 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts