The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2013-06-16, 04:19 PM
Mouse Rapist's Avatar
Mouse Rapist Mouse Rapist is offline
Chief Mouse
598.27 MB/137.00 MB/0.23
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Latvia
Firewalled, can't find solutions

I have got Huawei E589 router. Utorrent 3.3.
I have tried to port forward it but it doesn't appear to work. http://www.canyouseeme.org/ gives an error. I did change my IP to static.



__________________
"I'm just a musical prostitute, my dear.'' - Freddie Mercury
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2013-06-16, 09:33 PM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: Firewalled, can't find solutions

in the Huawei E589 router -- check the Firewall/SPI settings and test.
Or remove your Virtual Server settings and configure a Port Forward under: Advanced> NAT> Port Mapping.

also, many routers require a power cycle (turn off/turn on) for settings to take effect.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2013-06-16, 09:39 PM
paddington's Avatar
paddington paddington is online now
please look after this bear
TTD Staff
83.17 GB/882.10 GB/10.61
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Re: Firewalled, can't find solutions

Many firewalls / routers forward prt 80 by default.... You could try that. Also skirts the packet sniffing meddling by some ISPs who assume port 80 is only browser traffic. Or 8080.
__________________
"There are some of these recordings where it is just a whirring, and you cannot hear the music. " - Jimmy Page, 2007 / JUL / 26
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2013-06-17, 01:26 PM
Mouse Rapist's Avatar
Mouse Rapist Mouse Rapist is offline
Chief Mouse
598.27 MB/137.00 MB/0.23
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Latvia
Re: Firewalled, can't find solutions

Quote:
Originally Posted by direwolf-pgh View Post
in the Huawei E589 router -- check the Firewall/SPI settings and test.
Or remove your Virtual Server settings and configure a Port Forward under: Advanced> NAT> Port Mapping.

also, many routers require a power cycle (turn off/turn on) for settings to take effect.
I did check the Firewall, it was disabled, I enabled it but that didn't change anything so I turned it off again.

Also there is no NAT option. Only LAN IP Filter. Could this be it? Anyway, I configured it but didn't work as well.

__________________
"I'm just a musical prostitute, my dear.'' - Freddie Mercury
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2013-06-17, 04:34 PM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: Firewalled, can't find solutions

that's a cool little router. couple quick thoughts.
See if you can set Protocol to 'All' in the Virtual server - test out
Perhaps config your .50 wrkstn to the DMZ at which point the wrkstn software firewall can be tested out.

good luck!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2013-06-17, 05:17 PM
Mouse Rapist's Avatar
Mouse Rapist Mouse Rapist is offline
Chief Mouse
598.27 MB/137.00 MB/0.23
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Latvia
Re: Firewalled, can't find solutions

Well, the Protocol options are TCP/UDP , TCP, UDP. TCP/UDP is selected, that means it's set to all, I assume.
DMZ is enabled. What exactly you mean by configuring it? I'm noob at this stuff, please excuse me



Somehow I feel I'll never be able to get this to work lol
__________________
"I'm just a musical prostitute, my dear.'' - Freddie Mercury
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2013-06-17, 05:19 PM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: Firewalled, can't find solutions

well, once you drop an internal IP into the DZM.. its ass is naked to the net.
time for canyouseeme.org & shieldsup
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2014-07-21, 06:12 AM
Mouse Rapist's Avatar
Mouse Rapist Mouse Rapist is offline
Chief Mouse
598.27 MB/137.00 MB/0.23
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Latvia
Re: Firewalled, can't find solutions

Quote:
Originally Posted by direwolf-pgh View Post
well, once you drop an internal IP into the DZM.. its ass is naked to the net.
time for canyouseeme.org & shieldsup
Sorry for the very late reply



__________________
"I'm just a musical prostitute, my dear.'' - Freddie Mercury
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2014-07-23, 01:53 PM
shakey234's Avatar
shakey234 shakey234 is offline
446.79 GB/777.40 GB/1.74
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Re: Firewalled, can't find solutions

Here is what http://portforward.com/ write about Huawei Routers:
"Open Port on Huawei Routers
Huawei routers are typically easy to configure, and their port forwarding section is no different. Some routers have a list of places where you can forward a port, where others have to be added one at a time. Huawei sometimes refers to a port forward as a server which might confuse some, but overall they are fairly easy to set up.
If you cannot find your exact router in the list below, try following one of our Huawei HG530 guides.
That should get you an open port on pretty much any Huawei router."
Source: http://portforward.com/english/route...ei/default.htm

http://portforward.com/ don't have a guide for your model, Huawei E589, but you might be able to use the info for "Port Forwarding the Huawei HG530 Router for Utorrent" here:
http://portforward.com/english/route...0/Utorrent.htm

There is a video on YouTube called "How to port forward a Huawei router" here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KfCEtzqlyVM
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2014-07-24, 05:00 AM
Mouse Rapist's Avatar
Mouse Rapist Mouse Rapist is offline
Chief Mouse
598.27 MB/137.00 MB/0.23
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Latvia
Re: Firewalled, can't find solutions

Quote:
Originally Posted by shakey234 View Post
Here is what http://portforward.com/ write about Huawei Routers:
"Open Port on Huawei Routers
Huawei routers are typically easy to configure, and their port forwarding section is no different. Some routers have a list of places where you can forward a port, where others have to be added one at a time. Huawei sometimes refers to a port forward as a server which might confuse some, but overall they are fairly easy to set up.
If you cannot find your exact router in the list below, try following one of our Huawei HG530 guides.
That should get you an open port on pretty much any Huawei router."
Source: http://portforward.com/english/route...ei/default.htm

http://portforward.com/ don't have a guide for your model, Huawei E589, but you might be able to use the info for "Port Forwarding the Huawei HG530 Router for Utorrent" here:
http://portforward.com/english/route...0/Utorrent.htm

There is a video on YouTube called "How to port forward a Huawei router" here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KfCEtzqlyVM
I already "opened" the port as seen in the first post.



That's everything what's available in Virtual Server settings on my router. It doesn't have more specific stuff like application selection etc seen in those tutorials. It's just what you see in the screenshot and I filled in all of that. Still, doesn't work.

I did disable firewall on the router and Windows Firewall has uTorrent exception.

When I run the uTorrent test it either says -

"Neither NAT-PMP nor uPnP is enabled. Please check your preferences." while they are actually enabled.
or
"Port is not open (you are still able to download)."
__________________
"I'm just a musical prostitute, my dear.'' - Freddie Mercury
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2014-07-24, 11:56 AM
Drgiggles1's Avatar
Drgiggles1 Drgiggles1 is offline
855.45 GB/2.86 TB/3.42
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pocono Mountains
Re: Firewalled, can't find solutions

Make sure the port used for Utorrent matches what's in the picture. Also make sure in the same window that nothing is checked off except the firewall exception. On my router when I access it there is a way to enable uPNP and NAT. Look for that in your router settings
__________________
"Schoeps Schmoeps!!!
(I don't hate Schoeps mics, just the snobs who foolishly believe excellent recordings can't be made without them.)" Falconidave
Mics: CA-14 (o,c,o)
Remote Power: CA-9100 pre-amp, CA-UBB battery box
Recorders: Sony PCM-M10, Tascam DR-2d
Cable/s: custom 6" GAKables Mini Starquad
Batteries: Maha 9.6V Imedion, Maha Powerex 2700 mAh
Chargers: Maha MH-C9000, MAHA MH-C490F

Last edited by Drgiggles1; 2014-07-24 at 12:03 PM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2014-07-24, 03:10 PM
Mouse Rapist's Avatar
Mouse Rapist Mouse Rapist is offline
Chief Mouse
598.27 MB/137.00 MB/0.23
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Latvia
Re: Firewalled, can't find solutions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drgiggles1 View Post
Make sure the port used for Utorrent matches what's in the picture. Also make sure in the same window that nothing is checked off except the firewall exception. On my router when I access it there is a way to enable uPNP and NAT. Look for that in your router settings
Yes it does match.

Nope, my router doesn't have uPNP & NAT settings. I guess this is the key why I won't be able to do anything. I suppose these are turned off on the router by default or something.
__________________
"I'm just a musical prostitute, my dear.'' - Freddie Mercury
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #13  
Old 2014-07-24, 04:04 PM
Drgiggles1's Avatar
Drgiggles1 Drgiggles1 is offline
855.45 GB/2.86 TB/3.42
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pocono Mountains
Re: Firewalled, can't find solutions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mouse Rapist View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drgiggles1 View Post
Make sure the port used for Utorrent matches what's in the picture. Also make sure in the same window that nothing is checked off except the firewall exception. On my router when I access it there is a way to enable uPNP and NAT. Look for that in your router settings
Yes it does match.

Nope, my router doesn't have uPNP & NAT settings. I guess this is the key why I won't be able to do anything. I suppose these are turned off on the router by default or something.
I know my router is different but in my case when I log into the router on the screen I find my NAT setting to be in Setup (advance routing tab) and upnp setting is in the Administration tab, same place where you can change the userid/password for router access. Hope this helps, otherwise I'm out of ideas for your router type.
__________________
"Schoeps Schmoeps!!!
(I don't hate Schoeps mics, just the snobs who foolishly believe excellent recordings can't be made without them.)" Falconidave
Mics: CA-14 (o,c,o)
Remote Power: CA-9100 pre-amp, CA-UBB battery box
Recorders: Sony PCM-M10, Tascam DR-2d
Cable/s: custom 6" GAKables Mini Starquad
Batteries: Maha 9.6V Imedion, Maha Powerex 2700 mAh
Chargers: Maha MH-C9000, MAHA MH-C490F
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #14  
Old 2014-07-24, 04:39 PM
Mouse Rapist's Avatar
Mouse Rapist Mouse Rapist is offline
Chief Mouse
598.27 MB/137.00 MB/0.23
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Latvia
Re: Firewalled, can't find solutions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drgiggles1 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mouse Rapist View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drgiggles1 View Post
Make sure the port used for Utorrent matches what's in the picture. Also make sure in the same window that nothing is checked off except the firewall exception. On my router when I access it there is a way to enable uPNP and NAT. Look for that in your router settings
Yes it does match.

Nope, my router doesn't have uPNP & NAT settings. I guess this is the key why I won't be able to do anything. I suppose these are turned off on the router by default or something.
I know my router is different but in my case when I log into the router on the screen I find my NAT setting to be in Setup (advance routing tab) and upnp setting is in the Administration tab, same place where you can change the userid/password for router access. Hope this helps, otherwise I'm out of ideas for your router type.
Googled a bit and seems like I got the answer -

https://twitter.com/HuaweiDevice/sta...31736930545664
__________________
"I'm just a musical prostitute, my dear.'' - Freddie Mercury
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Incomplete Download Solutions? - MourningStar Technobabble 6 2010-03-28 03:11 PM
can't find thread - wadeww Technobabble 1 2008-02-14 11:33 AM
How can I find out if a dvd is NTSC or PAL? - robert454 Technobabble 5 2006-04-02 07:42 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts