PDA

View Full Version : Cassette copied from master ...

Luke_of_Mass
2012-07-17, 01:50 PM
Hi,

i'm new to this cassette-transferring business. usually i just get stuff in trades that is digital...so please forgive my ignorance.. but

I've acquires some tapes that were copied directly from the master cassettes... is this a second generation ? or first ? is it lossy? :hmm:

AAR.oner
2012-07-17, 03:00 PM
2nd gen cassette

and although there's some loss of quality when copying analogue-to-analogue, its not "lossy" in the sense the term is used in trading circles

as most are goin strictly digi, yer goin back to tapes...i like it!!! :thumbsup :lol:

Luke_of_Mass
2012-07-17, 04:48 PM
okay great thanks,

so while it does lose a tiny bit of quality in the copying process, it's not lossy as it is referred to in tarde circles.. does this mean it is acceptable here or only 1st gen stuff allowed?

Rock10
2012-07-17, 07:54 PM
Then what is 1st generation?

squareofnone
2012-07-17, 09:19 PM
Forget generation. It's too ambiguous a term because it means different things in different trading circles.

In your case it would be ANA(M) > ANA(1)

b00st
2012-07-17, 09:47 PM
most of the time i've seen the master as gen zero

Cassette Master (0) > Cassette (1)

first gen meaning one generation away from the master

Audioarchivist
2012-07-17, 09:59 PM
most of the time i've seen the master as gen zero

Cassette Master (0) > Cassette (1)

first gen meaning one generation away from the master

That's what I go by, as well. Masters are gen zero to me. A tape to tape copy is a 1st generation, a tape made from that tape is 2nd generation, etc. While certainly a tape to tape dub isn't as great as being able to digitize a master tape, it is not "lossy" - that's an expression that refers to digital compression like mp3's that kill your music to make small file sizes. Analog copying is lossless, although if those copies are done wrong, they won't sound great even though they're lossless per se...