The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2005-07-21, 06:52 PM
ColinM's Avatar
ColinM ColinM is offline
Sausage King of Chicago
37.74 GB/96.71 GB/2.56
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Icon6 Azureus announce interval

I'm getting this warning right after starting to seed a new torrent:

Tracker Status: Error (Last announce: 141 secs ago. Please ANNOUNCE less frequently. Cache is only fluched every 3 minutes)

After this, it goes to a 17:00 announce interval with no error listed.

Maybe this is a bug that can't be fixed? Is Azureus hammering the tracker at the first little bit only to be calmed down after the first announce?
__________________
Trayds: audio list | video list | PM me for upgrades
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2005-07-21, 07:05 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
468.08 GB/2.01 TB/4.40
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Azureus announce interval

I've noticed that Azureus has a very small announce interval at the beginning. I think it does that just while trying to initially connect to the tracker. I don't think it can be change in Azureus though. I would just ignore the error since it corrects itself.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2005-07-21, 07:34 PM
gsmyth79's Avatar
gsmyth79 gsmyth79 is offline
Happy little trees
TTD VIP
659.93 GB/7.41 TB/11.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bi-Mon-Sci-Fi-Con
Re: Azureus announce interval

You can change it under Preferences -> Tracker -> Server -> Tracker client poll interval. I put mine at like 600 seconds.
__________________
I was saying Boo-urns.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2005-07-21, 07:39 PM
ColinM's Avatar
ColinM ColinM is offline
Sausage King of Chicago
37.74 GB/96.71 GB/2.56
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Re: Azureus announce interval

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsmyth79
You can change it under Preferences -> Tracker -> Server -> Tracker client poll interval. I put mine at like 600 seconds.
Too bad the wording threw me off. I looked right at that section and moved along because it didn't exactly make sense to me.

Should be:

Tools > Options > Tracker > Server

Maybe my example is only for v2.2.0.2, which is what I'm running.

Thanks.
__________________
Trayds: audio list | video list | PM me for upgrades
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2005-07-21, 07:42 PM
gsmyth79's Avatar
gsmyth79 gsmyth79 is offline
Happy little trees
TTD VIP
659.93 GB/7.41 TB/11.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bi-Mon-Sci-Fi-Con
Re: Azureus announce interval

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColinM
Maybe my example is only for v2.2.0.2, which is what I'm running.

Thanks.
That might be the difference. Or it could be a Mac/PC thing. Glad you found it though.
__________________
I was saying Boo-urns.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2005-07-21, 08:08 PM
uhclem
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Azureus announce interval

I think the setting that gsmyth79 referred to only applies if you are running a tracker through Azureus. I don't think it has any effect on how often Azureus connects to other trackers.

But have a look at Options > Tracker > Client > Read Timeout - Make sure that's set to at least 60s. That might solve the problem. If that doesn't help, try a higher value and see what happens.

EDIT: The more I think about it, it won't make any difference. When you seed in Azureus it makes two announces about 60s apart then after that it depends on the tracker and the number of peers. I think the issue lies with the TTD tracker. So, as Lynne says, ignore it.

Last edited by uhclem; 2005-07-21 at 08:16 PM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2005-07-21, 08:14 PM
gsmyth79's Avatar
gsmyth79 gsmyth79 is offline
Happy little trees
TTD VIP
659.93 GB/7.41 TB/11.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bi-Mon-Sci-Fi-Con
Re: Azureus announce interval

Quote:
Originally Posted by uhclem
I think the setting that gsmyth79 referred to only applies if you are running a tracker through Azureus. I don't think it has any effect on how often Azureus connects to other trackers.

But have a look at Options > Tracker > Client > Read Timeout - Make sure that's set to at least 60s. That might solve the problem. If that doesn't help, try a higher value and see what happens.
Hmmm you may be right. I read somewhere you should make the number I was talking about higher but I can't remember where. My read timeout is at 60 and I haven't had the problem that Colin is talking about ever. And I haven't noticed any difference since I changed the client poll interval either. So that change may make no difference at all. Oh well.
__________________
I was saying Boo-urns.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2005-07-21, 08:27 PM
pete's montreux
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Azureus announce interval

Azureus is such a pain in the ass. BitComet it where it's at!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2005-07-21, 08:31 PM
ColinM's Avatar
ColinM ColinM is offline
Sausage King of Chicago
37.74 GB/96.71 GB/2.56
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Re: Azureus announce interval

Quote:
Originally Posted by pete's montreux
Azureus is such a pain in the ass. BitComet it where it's at!
I only switched to Azureus from Shadow's 5.8.7 because some sites starting banning it. Fookers!!!

I'm not ready to switch again, so forget it.
__________________
Trayds: audio list | video list | PM me for upgrades
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2005-07-21, 09:00 PM
pete's montreux
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Azureus announce interval

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColinM
I only switched to Azureus from Shadow's 5.8.7 because some sites starting banning it. Fookers!!!

I'm not ready to switch again, so forget it.
Just messing.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2005-07-22, 10:05 AM
psubliminal's Avatar
psubliminal psubliminal is offline
Motor City
76.99 GB/104.85 GB/1.36
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: East of Ann Arbor, MI
Re: Azureus announce interval

Quote:
Originally Posted by pete's montreux
Azureus is such a pain in the ass. BitComet it where it's at!
Bit Comet hammers trackers; on one torrent site I frequent, it is considered the client of choice for leeches and cheats (not saying that applies to you, just that 95% of people banned for cheating or having too low a ratio use Bit Comet). I guess it's possible to somehow fix it so the tracker doesn't know you're downloading; then when you have all the files you start seeding and build up a great share ratio. Bit Lord is another client based on Bit Comet.
__________________
The real art of conversation isn't just saying the right thing at the right time, but leaving unsaid the wrong thing at the tempting moment.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Announce URL changes? - TargetMassAppeal Technobabble 1 2009-05-22 03:11 PM
How do I delete the announce and re-upload? - vladsmythe Technobabble 1 2007-06-08 10:13 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts