The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2012-01-15, 02:47 PM
PEPPER PEPPER is offline
46.96 GB/23.05 GB/0.49
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Using normal aa battery with md recorder

I used my md recorder for the first time in a long time and the battery seemed to lose power quickly.It was charged today ready for useing tonight,but after about 45 minutes i checked and the md screen was blank.I then pressed play to power it up and it said low battery,which is odd,and sadly i didnt record anything ( for got to start recording).It has always lasted a good 2 hours or so at least,so to save any hassle,is using a standard( non rechargable duracell aa battery) going to be ok to use with the recorder.Im off to a gig on tuesday and will need it then,so if i could get a reply before then,that would be most grateful.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2012-01-15, 05:46 PM
LeifH12345's Avatar
LeifH12345 LeifH12345 is offline
381.81 GB/1.67 TB/4.48
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver
Re: Using normal aa battery with md recorder

So you were using rechargeable batteries?

Try just recording your home stereo or TV for 2 hours on AA alkaline batteries.

See what happens.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2012-01-15, 06:16 PM
PEPPER PEPPER is offline
46.96 GB/23.05 GB/0.49
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: Using normal aa battery with md recorder

Yes it was the sony rechargeable battery that came with the md recorder.Will give that a try and see what happens.Just wasnt sure if it would do any harm at all just to use normal aa batteries for a couple of shows.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2012-01-15, 09:38 PM
arfarf
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Using normal aa battery with md recorder

I don't trust rechargable batteries for recording, and never had an issue using regular alkaline batteries in either of my Sony MD recorders. (I used 2 recorders, as it was much quicker to change recorders than to change minidiscs.)

You should get at least 2 and a half hours out of a pair of alkaline AA batts, probably more but I wouldn't push it, 2 discs should go, a third disc, maybe not.

Last edited by arfarf; 2012-01-15 at 09:43 PM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2012-01-16, 01:19 AM
PEPPER PEPPER is offline
46.96 GB/23.05 GB/0.49
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: Using normal aa battery with md recorder

Thanks arfarf,i will be taking a spare battery just incase.I also have another show with 3 bands at the end of january so will take a couple of spares for that.I didnt think there would be any real problem,but really wanted a second opinion.As i mentioned when i bought my md( sony mznh700) it came with a sony rechargeable battery which has been fine up until now.Thanks again,its simple info like this that puts my mind at ease,thanks a lot.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2012-01-16, 07:00 AM
PEPPER PEPPER is offline
46.96 GB/23.05 GB/0.49
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: Using normal aa battery with md recorder

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeifH12345 View Post
So you were using rechargeable batteries?

Try just recording your home stereo or TV for 2 hours on AA alkaline batteries.

See what happens.

Tried that,so i can only assume the battery i got with it is not holding its charge anymore.Put in a new aa battery and its been recording for 90 minutes at the moment so should be good to go for taping on tuesday.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2012-01-16, 07:53 PM
LeifH12345's Avatar
LeifH12345 LeifH12345 is offline
381.81 GB/1.67 TB/4.48
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver
Re: Using normal aa battery with md recorder

Quote:
Originally Posted by PEPPER View Post
Tried that,so i can only assume the battery i got with it is not holding its charge anymore.Put in a new aa battery and its been recording for 90 minutes at the moment so should be good to go for taping on tuesday.
Yeah, even good quality rechargeables do that over time. Alkaline aren't as cheap, but you can always count on them.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2012-01-16, 09:23 PM
Ghostwheel's Avatar
Ghostwheel Ghostwheel is offline
HOINFODALER
TTD VIP
158.69 GB/345.63 GB/2.18
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Re: Using normal aa battery with md recorder

i would recommend using the Energizer Lithium AA's. they cost a little more but the lifetime is amazing. it will get easily 4-5 times the life of a normal AA battery and probably longer than that.
__________________
"Oh man, that's a juicy burger."
http://www.youtube.com/GhostwheelProduction
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UChZ...mOIL4jABXK0cDg (temporary channel until my ban on uploading videos longer than 15 minutes on my main channel is lifted in 2017)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Looks normal? - Repaxan Lossy or Lossless? 4 2010-08-31 06:38 PM
Normal for a FM broadcast? - Tate Lossy or Lossless? 10 2005-01-08 02:14 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts