The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2012-01-08, 06:24 PM
stuartw stuartw is offline
76.92 GB/551.62 GB/7.17
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Inserting photos in messages

How do I insert an image into a message? I've looked through the FAQ but couldn't find anything.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2012-01-08, 08:27 PM
dazed64's Avatar
dazed64 dazed64 is offline
250.59 GB/1.00 TB/4.07
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Re: Inserting photos in messages

In the box where you type your comment is a button that says insert image..looks like a little mountain scene..you must host the image somewhere though....imageshack,photobucket etc.....same thing for a pm to someone....

Quote:
Originally Posted by stuartw View Post
How do I insert an image into a message? I've looked through the FAQ but couldn't find anything.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2012-01-09, 02:52 AM
stuartw stuartw is offline
76.92 GB/551.62 GB/7.17
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Re: Inserting photos in messages

Quote:
Originally Posted by dazed64 View Post
In the box where you type your comment is a button that says insert image..looks like a little mountain scene..you must host the image somewhere though....imageshack,photobucket etc.....same thing for a pm to someone....
Thanks for that. I uploaded a photo to flickr, grabbed the url and added it to the insert image. All I got was the red cross!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2012-01-09, 03:03 AM
P A U L's Avatar
P A U L P A U L is offline
old washed up musician
56.29 GB/353.08 GB/6.27
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Re: Inserting photos in messages

A couple things could be happening:

1. you didn't link to the actual image. the image will end with the file extension (.jpg, .gif, .png, etc.) You can't link to a site that ends w/ html, or just a number. For a while, photobucket made it so when you copied an image, the image number would copy, but without the extension...

2. your permissions on the image, do not allow for hotlinking as a security setting. Make sure you allow the image to be posted in code...

[img]

with the url to the image then

[/img]

(no spaces between the link & code)


(quote me to see what I did)

Last edited by P A U L; 2012-01-09 at 03:09 AM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2012-01-10, 05:50 PM
stuartw stuartw is offline
76.92 GB/551.62 GB/7.17
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Re: Inserting photos in messages

Thanks for the information. I'll give a go and see what happens.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
private messages - synthman Technobabble 1 2006-11-21 10:05 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts