The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2011-10-16, 09:50 AM
jamroom's Avatar
jamroom jamroom is offline
81.11 GB/305.06 GB/3.76
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Ripping AC3 Audio From DVD - Output Format?

As per title, I want to rip AC3 audio from some dvds and I'm not sure what the output format should be as obviously it's lossy. Should it be mp3? DVD Audio Extractor will convert to a number of formats. Though the AC3 is lossy, I want to preserve what quality is there.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2011-10-16, 11:13 AM
jabulon's Avatar
jabulon jabulon is offline
IC Elvis & hear God on my iPod
TTD Staff
704.58 GB/2.33 TB/3.39
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Latitude: 52,3500, Longitude: 4,9167, Altitude: High
Re: Ripping AC3 Audio From DVD - Output Format?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamroom View Post
As per title, I want to rip AC3 audio from some dvds and I'm not sure what the output format should be as obviously it's lossy. Should it be mp3? DVD Audio Extractor will convert to a number of formats. Though the AC3 is lossy, I want to preserve what quality is there.
You kinda answered your own question. AC3=lossy, so that's the (maximum) quality there is to preserve (MP3 quality).
__________________
Dubbin' is a must. Strictly add music!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2011-10-16, 11:24 AM
jamroom's Avatar
jamroom jamroom is offline
81.11 GB/305.06 GB/3.76
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Re: Ripping AC3 Audio From DVD - Output Format?

Thanks. I guess I should select 44.1 and insane (to ensure highest bit rate - the AC3 is 256kb/s).
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2011-10-16, 11:32 AM
jamroom's Avatar
jamroom jamroom is offline
81.11 GB/305.06 GB/3.76
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Re: Ripping AC3 Audio From DVD - Output Format?

Actually, I just tried that out, but insane selects CBR @ 320kbps. Extreme translates (for this file) @ 145kbps. I'm a bit baffled. I thought it would just convert at 256kbps!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2011-10-16, 11:32 AM
jabulon's Avatar
jabulon jabulon is offline
IC Elvis & hear God on my iPod
TTD Staff
704.58 GB/2.33 TB/3.39
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Latitude: 52,3500, Longitude: 4,9167, Altitude: High
Re: Ripping AC3 Audio From DVD - Output Format?

correct. Never used DVD Audio Extractor myself but if I were you I wouldn't go any higher than the AC3, so if 256 is the max.
__________________
Dubbin' is a must. Strictly add music!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2011-10-17, 11:53 AM
Unidecker's Avatar
Unidecker Unidecker is offline
TTD VIP
2.28 TB/31.75 TB/13.91
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: right here ..where you are.
Re: Ripping AC3 Audio From DVD - Output Format?

DVD audio extractor is the shit..

used it a few times over the years with great results
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2011-10-17, 01:02 PM
jabulon's Avatar
jabulon jabulon is offline
IC Elvis & hear God on my iPod
TTD Staff
704.58 GB/2.33 TB/3.39
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Latitude: 52,3500, Longitude: 4,9167, Altitude: High
Re: Ripping AC3 Audio From DVD - Output Format?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unidecker View Post
DVD audio extractor is the shit..

used it a few times over the years with great results
Like I said above I've never used it myself, and personally I wouldn't like settings like insane, extreme or shitty or whatever it is using. I want settings/options like CBR/VBR and 320 kb/s, 256 kb/s etc. This is how I do it. I demux the DVD and use AC-3 ACM Codec with Virtualdub to convert it to MP3.
__________________
Dubbin' is a must. Strictly add music!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2011-12-15, 09:58 AM
hans voight hans voight is offline
1.92 TB/2.53 TB/1.32
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: northern california
Question Re: Ripping AC3 Audio From DVD - Output Format?

I will finish looking through these threads, but i am having an issue ripping 24bit/48k LPCM audio off of a DVD9. Im aware i have to dither(?) back to 16 bit for normal playback, but all i get is static on every try. I'm using Audacity, AVS video and audio editing software and R8brain. thanks in advance if anyone has solved this before !
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2011-12-15, 01:14 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Ripping AC3 Audio From DVD - Output Format?

you need to dither to 16-bit AND re-sample to 44.1kHz to burn to CD
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Ripping DVD audio? - kILLURIDOL Technobabble 2 2008-09-13 11:01 AM
Ripping Audio From DVD - pmonk Technobabble 5 2008-04-18 03:06 AM
Ripping DVD Audio to CD? - August West Technobabble 5 2006-04-23 04:55 AM
Ripping audio off of a DVD... - Rocketnino Technobabble 18 2005-06-21 09:49 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts