The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2005-07-12, 06:57 PM
tunic's Avatar
tunic tunic is offline
The Great Destroyer
197.10 GB/391.67 GB/1.99
 
Join Date: May 2005
Question How to go from CD via EAC to FLAC ?

Hello all,

I seeded my first show on here a couple of days ago, and I just want to make sure I did the right thing. I ripped the (original) CD with EAC, by following the steps explained in the EAC Quickstart Manual (and some other pages on that site), and I set up FLAC as external compressor as explained here. So the creation of the FLACs went smoothly, but then I was kind of lost because I had my FLACs but no fingerprints. So I opened the FLACs into the flac frontend program, and created the fingerprints like that by pressing the 'Fingerprint' button.

So my questions are:
Is this a safe way to create the FLACs, or is it better to use the flac frontend?
Is there perhaps a way to generate the fingerprints automatically when using Flac as external compression within EAC?

Thanx in advance
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2005-07-12, 07:04 PM
gsmyth79's Avatar
gsmyth79 gsmyth79 is offline
Happy little trees
TTD VIP
659.93 GB/7.41 TB/11.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bi-Mon-Sci-Fi-Con
Re: How to go from CD via EAC to FLAC ?

A fingerprint is a fingerprint for a FLAC file. They don't change even if you decode it and then re-encode at a different compression. I imagine that thise 2 programs make fingerprints the same way. At least they should. You can ttry making fingerprints with the other program and visually compare them. Thay should be the same.

You might want to make sure that your EAC rip is really necessary. Someone out there may have it without any DAE (digital audio extraction, EAC being a type of that) steps.
__________________
I was saying Boo-urns.

Last edited by gsmyth79; 2005-07-12 at 07:06 PM. Reason: clarity
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2005-07-12, 07:22 PM
fatoldpig fatoldpig is offline
174.19 GB/207.24 GB/1.19
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago area
Re: How to go from CD via EAC to FLAC ?

SBE fix gives different result with shntool & flac front-end? http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...ead.php?t=9264
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2005-07-12, 07:24 PM
gsmyth79's Avatar
gsmyth79 gsmyth79 is offline
Happy little trees
TTD VIP
659.93 GB/7.41 TB/11.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bi-Mon-Sci-Fi-Con
Re: How to go from CD via EAC to FLAC ?

Thats different than simple fingerprints though.
__________________
I was saying Boo-urns.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2005-07-12, 10:08 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: How to go from CD via EAC to FLAC ?

for "ease of use", i recommend:
1. ripping with EAC and saving the EAC log.
2. converting the wavs to flac using Trader's Little Helper.
3. then create flac fingerprints in TLH as well.

there's many ways, but i think the EAC/TLH combo will be the standard eventually, just as XACT has become for Mac.
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2005-07-13, 03:34 PM
uhclem
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: How to go from CD via EAC to FLAC ?

Tunic, your method is fine.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2005-07-14, 06:26 AM
tunic's Avatar
tunic tunic is offline
The Great Destroyer
197.10 GB/391.67 GB/1.99
 
Join Date: May 2005
Re: How to go from CD via EAC to FLAC ?

thanks guys
I will try out that Traders Little Helper, but to me the way I did it seems the easiest (but I haven't tried any other way yet...)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2005-07-14, 09:02 AM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: How to go from CD via EAC to FLAC ?

it is also worth configuring your offsets...

http://users.pandora.be/satcp/eacoffsets00.htm#-
http://users.pandora.be/satcp/eacoffsets01.htm#-
http://users.pandora.be/satcp/eacoffsets02.htm#-
http://users.pandora.be/satcp/eacoffsets03.htm#-
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2005-07-16, 02:23 AM
jcrab66's Avatar
jcrab66 jcrab66 is offline
We all walk the Long Road....
75.63 GB/483.42 GB/6.39
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Planet Bootleg
Re: How to go from CD via EAC to FLAC ?

is there a new version of TLH out now that encodes? The latest version I have doesnt have the capabilities to do any encoding, only decoding....
__________________
If you want to see a damn good live show check out THIS band.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2005-07-16, 03:08 AM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: How to go from CD via EAC to FLAC ?

nope, still waiting with baited breath for the next revision of TLH. make sure you get the updater from the bottom of the download page (linked in my sig). there was a new version of EAC released very recently, tho.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2005-07-16, 05:50 AM
jcrab66's Avatar
jcrab66 jcrab66 is offline
We all walk the Long Road....
75.63 GB/483.42 GB/6.39
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Planet Bootleg
Re: How to go from CD via EAC to FLAC ?

i was just wondering since one of the mods here mentioned it as an option, maybe you mods should have an understanding that no one answers a question unless they really know the answer....
__________________
If you want to see a damn good live show check out THIS band.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2005-07-16, 08:55 AM
Ted Ted is offline
You are TOO
2.08 GB/7.38 GB/3.55
 
Join Date: May 2005
Re: How to go from CD via EAC to FLAC ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcrab66
i was just wondering since one of the mods here mentioned it as an option, maybe you mods should have an understanding that no one answers a question unless they really know the answer....
Do you mean like you did HERE?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #13  
Old 2005-07-16, 03:37 PM
jcrab66's Avatar
jcrab66 jcrab66 is offline
We all walk the Long Road....
75.63 GB/483.42 GB/6.39
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Planet Bootleg
Re: How to go from CD via EAC to FLAC ?

that wasnt an answer to a question, it was an opinion, sorry your not capable of differentiating between the two there Ted.....Also, I'm not one of the alleged "EXPERTS" around here like the mod of the tapers forum who doesnt know much of shit about taping or the "lineage" expert mod who posts shows with crappy lineage or the "post whore" mod who cant tell the difference between an opinion and an answer....
__________________
If you want to see a damn good live show check out THIS band.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #14  
Old 2005-07-16, 04:32 PM
Ted Ted is offline
You are TOO
2.08 GB/7.38 GB/3.55
 
Join Date: May 2005
Re: How to go from CD via EAC to FLAC ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcrab66
that wasnt an answer to a question, it was an opinion, sorry your not capable of differentiating between the two there Ted.....Also, I'm not one of the alleged "EXPERTS" around here like the mod of the tapers forum who doesnt know much of shit about taping or the "lineage" expert mod who posts shows with crappy lineage or the "post whore" mod who cant tell the difference between an opinion and an answer....
You seem to have a problem with the staff members here. What exactly would that be? If you think you know more and can do better in helping others, then by all means, let's see what you've got. I'm sure those who are in need of assistance would greatly appreciate you lending a helping hand. Oh and about post whoring...I know I do it. Where you aware that you do too?

I've had enough of your shit. Put up or shut up.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #15  
Old 2005-07-16, 04:52 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: How to go from CD via EAC to FLAC ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcrab66
...maybe you mods should have an understanding that no one answers a question unless they really know the answer....
we do our best to observe this but nobody's perfect (not even me ).

let's bury the hatchet, guys. we don't want a bunch of inaccurate information posted but we also don't want everyone to be afraid to offer up what they know for fear of getting jumped all over. If anybody's not sure about something just add "I could be wrong, but..." or something like that.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts