The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2011-06-27, 02:40 PM
Drgiggles1's Avatar
Drgiggles1 Drgiggles1 is offline
755.01 GB/2.63 TB/3.56
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pocono Mountains
CA 14 -> CA 9100 -> PCMM10 question

The way I understand I should be going in Line In on the pcmm10 because I am using a preamp instead of a battery box, Correct ?

A couple other questions:

On the preamp do you always turn it up to lets say 5 o'clock position and adjust accordingly on the pcmm10 ? Do you ever have to leave the preamp level @ around 12 o'clock level ? I understand on the pcmm10 4.5 is usually a good setting. Is this correct ?

First show taping with this rig coming up soon and don't want to mess it up. My test run went horrible as I got way too drunk Show will be loud (ZZ T) from the 11th row. Thanks in advance.
__________________
"Schoeps Schmoeps!!!
(I don't hate Schoeps mics, just the snobs who foolishly believe excellent recordings can't be made without them.)" Falconidave
Mics: CA-14 (o,c,o)
Remote Power: CA-9100 pre-amp, CA-UBB battery box
Recorders: Sony PCM-M10, Tascam DR-2d
Cable/s: custom 6" GAKables Mini Starquad
Batteries: Maha 9.6V Imedion, Maha Powerex 2700 mAh
Chargers: Maha MH-C9000, MAHA MH-C490F
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2011-06-27, 07:05 PM
Ziggzzster Ziggzzster is offline
29.30 GB/35.09 GB/1.20
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New Zealand
Re: CA 14 -> CA 9100 -> PCMM10 question

I think unity on the m10 is between 3 & 4, possibly 3.5 so set it at that then set the pre. 11 o'clock on the CA9100 is unity, at that level it functions like a battery box. I haven't taped anything super loud, so maybe try around 2-3 o'clock on the pre... but check levels if you can.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2011-06-29, 11:56 AM
jamroom's Avatar
jamroom jamroom is offline
79.32 GB/301.23 GB/3.80
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Re: CA 14 -> CA 9100 -> PCMM10 question

I don't have the M10, but do have the other gear. I always set my R09 / R05 / whatever, to unity and due to stealth conditions, tweak the volume on the 9100 (support and main act levels are usually different IME). This means I can lock the recorder buttons to prevent disaster and still easily alter the input volume.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2011-06-29, 02:35 PM
swordfish swordfish is offline
raindog
261.18 GB/396.90 GB/1.52
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: germany
Icon6 Re: CA 14 -> CA 9100 -> PCMM10 question

Your are able to adjust the gain at the M10 even the recorder is looked.

I set the recorder normally to 5 and adjust the recording level at the CA 9100. If the music is not loud enogh(acouistic set) and the 9100 is at full gain your are still able to add mor gain at the M10.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Steely Dan 2009-07-22 Boston CAFS Omni CA-9100 R-09 - TheTooleMan Master (16-bit) (FLAC) - TheTooleMan Audio Torrents 24 2011-08-16 01:10 PM
TLH Shn Decoding Question + Torrent Question - EasilyFound Technobabble 13 2009-03-24 05:13 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts