The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2011-06-09, 09:39 PM
BeenTrampled BeenTrampled is offline
260.60 GB/174.85 GB/0.67
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Great White North
Firewalled...

I went to Port Forward.com and followed the instructions for setting up a static IP and attempted to forward ports for my set-up, (uTorrent with a Linksys E3000).

I downloaded the PortChecker software and it said I was still being blocked, and when I checked uTorrent it was saying that I wasn't able to connect to anything...

Some questions I've had during this process:
·Should I have "Enable NAT-PMP port mapping" checked in uTorrent?
·How do I determine if my firewall is blocking my port? If it is...how do I fix that?

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by BeenTrampled; 2011-06-09 at 10:15 PM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2011-06-10, 10:44 AM
Drgiggles1's Avatar
Drgiggles1 Drgiggles1 is offline
855.45 GB/2.86 TB/3.42
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pocono Mountains
Re: Firewalled...

For utorrent under Connection settings the only thing needed to be check marked is add Windows firewall exception. If you are using a different firewall than perform exception accordingly. Also in the same window make sure the port used for incoming connections matches the port number that you have setup on your router. Regarding your static IP setup double check on a windows machine by bringing up the DOS command window cmd.exe and typing ipconfig / all and scroll up and under Ethernet adapter Home: the Ipv4 address should match the IP address you setup on the router. If static ip is setup correctly you should see <Preferred> after the ip address. On the router make sure where you setup the port that it is enabled. Double check your Firewall settings by making sure uTorrent program is check marked. You can also add a port in the firewall settings for both TCP and UDP. I like to give it a name such as UtorrentTCP and UtorrentUDP so I know what they are. Again the port number you type in must match the utoorent and router settings. That should do it. If you are using an OS other than Windows than someone else will have to help you along or you can follow the same principle I layed out for Win. OS.
__________________
"Schoeps Schmoeps!!!
(I don't hate Schoeps mics, just the snobs who foolishly believe excellent recordings can't be made without them.)" Falconidave
Mics: CA-14 (o,c,o)
Remote Power: CA-9100 pre-amp, CA-UBB battery box
Recorders: Sony PCM-M10, Tascam DR-2d
Cable/s: custom 6" GAKables Mini Starquad
Batteries: Maha 9.6V Imedion, Maha Powerex 2700 mAh
Chargers: Maha MH-C9000, MAHA MH-C490F

Last edited by Drgiggles1; 2011-06-10 at 10:49 AM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2011-06-18, 12:44 PM
BeenTrampled BeenTrampled is offline
260.60 GB/174.85 GB/0.67
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Great White North
Re: Firewalled...

Thanks for the help! I'm going to try doing it again today.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2011-06-18, 01:00 PM
BeenTrampled BeenTrampled is offline
260.60 GB/174.85 GB/0.67
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Great White North
Re: Firewalled...

Sorry for the double-post, it won't let me edit it...

Okay...I literally did the steps again - including checking my Firewall and checking the cmd.exe again, per Drgiggles1 - and it's still not open...

Going to try a different port...

EDIT: Tried a different port. Now the PortChecker program is saying that I am open, but it wasn't "able to ping" my computer. Is that a problem?

...And the site is still saying I'm firewalled.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2011-06-19, 06:31 AM
P A U L's Avatar
P A U L P A U L is offline
old washed up musician
56.29 GB/353.08 GB/6.27
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Re: Firewalled...

You don't make it clear but, when you did whatever you did, did you:

* go into windows firewall & open the port (make a pinhole)?
* go to your router's website & also make a pinhole in the router's firewall?

I have that box checked on mine, so, if yours is unchecked, maybe try it...

From a mod over @ dime:

Quote:
Make sure incoming unencrypted (or
"legacy") connections are allowed and see if that helps.
But you need to make sure that every stage of your firewall(s) have a pinhole w/ the same port # that you assign to your torrent client...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2011-06-20, 05:59 PM
BeenTrampled BeenTrampled is offline
260.60 GB/174.85 GB/0.67
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Great White North
Re: Firewalled...

I believe so. When I went through the process of forwarding/opening my port, I enabled it on the router's page. In Windows Firewall, I made sure that uTorrent was an allowed program...

When I first went through the process with the port I was using at the time, it said I was firewalled and nothing seemed to change - in fact, I was getting a red X in uTorrent with no connections being made. When I tried it again, I used a different port, and the PortChecker program told me that it was open...but that it couldn't ping it. I had another red X in uTorrent and this site had "FIREWALLED" beneath my share-ratio again.



Another question: uTorrent keeps telling me to "Enable NAT-PMP port mapping" in order to facilitate having an open port...is that right? Should I uncheck that option?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2011-06-20, 08:15 PM
P A U L's Avatar
P A U L P A U L is offline
old washed up musician
56.29 GB/353.08 GB/6.27
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Re: Firewalled...

In windows firewall you still might want to put a pinhole like you did on your router page...

If you read a port # on the site here make a rule in firewall to always allow that port to be open. It should be the same one that you did the same for on your router page...

In windows 7 you do it like this:

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/w...ndows-Firewall

older versions should be similar. Just google "open port in firewall win ___" add your version in the blank spot...

Make sure that # is assigned in utorrent so that everything is on the same page as far as opening & transmitting through the same pinhole...

I've seen other threads here though that the site might give false positives for firewalling. If you are sure that you have the # assigned & all ports configured right then maybe you're getting a false positive...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2011-06-20, 08:17 PM
P A U L's Avatar
P A U L P A U L is offline
old washed up musician
56.29 GB/353.08 GB/6.27
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Re: Firewalled...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeenTrampled
"Enable NAT-PMP port mapping"
I answered you in my other post that mine is checked. I don't know if it's a necessity but I would check it & also the unencrypted/legacy connections are allowed...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2011-06-20, 08:52 PM
BeenTrampled BeenTrampled is offline
260.60 GB/174.85 GB/0.67
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Great White North
Re: Firewalled...

Thanks for the link! I'm checking it out now...Sorry, thought you meant the box for enabling uTorrent in Windows Firewall.

Going to try everything again (lol) now...

EDIT: Okay...did all of that, and it didn't help.

Last edited by BeenTrampled; 2011-06-20 at 09:02 PM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2011-06-20, 10:05 PM
Drgiggles1's Avatar
Drgiggles1 Drgiggles1 is offline
855.45 GB/2.86 TB/3.42
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pocono Mountains
Re: Firewalled...

Disable in uTorrent: DHT, LPD, Resolve IPs
If you manually port forward, disable UPnP and NAT-PMP
__________________
"Schoeps Schmoeps!!!
(I don't hate Schoeps mics, just the snobs who foolishly believe excellent recordings can't be made without them.)" Falconidave
Mics: CA-14 (o,c,o)
Remote Power: CA-9100 pre-amp, CA-UBB battery box
Recorders: Sony PCM-M10, Tascam DR-2d
Cable/s: custom 6" GAKables Mini Starquad
Batteries: Maha 9.6V Imedion, Maha Powerex 2700 mAh
Chargers: Maha MH-C9000, MAHA MH-C490F
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2011-06-21, 11:17 AM
BeenTrampled BeenTrampled is offline
260.60 GB/174.85 GB/0.67
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Great White North
Re: Firewalled...

Okay...I've disabled UPnP and NAT-PMP under "Connection"...and I've disabled "Enable DHT Network" and "DHT for new torrents," but can't see an option for "Resolve IPs."

Thanks for helping me guys, by the way. I really appreciate it.

EDIT: ...I've run into the same problem. The PortChecker program says my port is open, but that it can't "ping" my computer.

Last edited by BeenTrampled; 2011-06-21 at 11:26 AM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2011-06-21, 12:19 PM
BeenTrampled BeenTrampled is offline
260.60 GB/174.85 GB/0.67
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Great White North
Re: Firewalled...

Sorry about double-posting again...

I should note that I'm using uTorrent 2.2.1. Most screenshots detailing how to set-up the program properly seem to be using an earlier version of the program...

...And I should also note that almost everything seems to be working fine - I have a green checkmark in uTorrent, I'm downloading a torrent from another site, I can access the internet with my static IP, I'm not showing up as firewalled on this site...but I'm still not able to seed.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #13  
Old 2011-06-21, 12:23 PM
Drgiggles1's Avatar
Drgiggles1 Drgiggles1 is offline
855.45 GB/2.86 TB/3.42
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pocono Mountains
Re: Firewalled...

Resolve IP's will be found under:
Preferences - Advanced. Look for peer resolve country. If the value is true you want to change it to false by clicking once, and selecting false, and clicking ok. As far as can't ping my computer goes make sure your IP address on the computer has not changed. Also did you manually add a port in windows firewall for both UDP and TCP as suggested earlier ?
__________________
"Schoeps Schmoeps!!!
(I don't hate Schoeps mics, just the snobs who foolishly believe excellent recordings can't be made without them.)" Falconidave
Mics: CA-14 (o,c,o)
Remote Power: CA-9100 pre-amp, CA-UBB battery box
Recorders: Sony PCM-M10, Tascam DR-2d
Cable/s: custom 6" GAKables Mini Starquad
Batteries: Maha 9.6V Imedion, Maha Powerex 2700 mAh
Chargers: Maha MH-C9000, MAHA MH-C490F
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #14  
Old 2011-06-21, 12:28 PM
BeenTrampled BeenTrampled is offline
260.60 GB/174.85 GB/0.67
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Great White North
Re: Firewalled...

The entry for "peer.resolve_country" is already set to "false."

Yes, I added two rules (TCP and UDP) for the port I'm using in Windows Firewall.

Checking under the cmd.exe...the IPv4 address is the static IP I set-up earlier.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #15  
Old 2011-06-21, 12:36 PM
Drgiggles1's Avatar
Drgiggles1 Drgiggles1 is offline
855.45 GB/2.86 TB/3.42
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pocono Mountains
Re: Firewalled...

If you are green on utorrent that is good. If you see having issues with seeding than the peers are most likely firewalled themselves. Sometimes it takes a while for the other peers to connect to you. You may want to try jumping on a popular torrent that just started either here or @ some other popular tracker and see while the peers increase to see if you begin to seed while downloading.
__________________
"Schoeps Schmoeps!!!
(I don't hate Schoeps mics, just the snobs who foolishly believe excellent recordings can't be made without them.)" Falconidave
Mics: CA-14 (o,c,o)
Remote Power: CA-9100 pre-amp, CA-UBB battery box
Recorders: Sony PCM-M10, Tascam DR-2d
Cable/s: custom 6" GAKables Mini Starquad
Batteries: Maha 9.6V Imedion, Maha Powerex 2700 mAh
Chargers: Maha MH-C9000, MAHA MH-C490F
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
FIREWALLED???? - cutz Technobabble 18 2008-11-12 04:25 PM
Firewalled - what now? - PL44 Technobabble 14 2008-09-23 02:00 AM
Firewalled - mkrahn Technobabble 2 2007-09-13 04:09 PM
firewalled - jeffl1 Technobabble 11 2006-11-02 02:06 PM
firewalled - james krumanocker Technobabble 3 2006-10-13 12:57 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts