The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2011-03-30, 02:55 PM
PG1Tapes PG1Tapes is offline
235.30 GB/228.10 GB/0.97
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Maryland
Cisco RNG200 DVR transfer to PC

I know I've asked about this before, but it doesn't hurt to ask again. How would I transfer from the DVR. I don't have much in the way of equipment to do this. Is it best to go from DVR>VCR>PC or something like that? or try and do a direct transfer? Any help is appreciated.
__________________
"If the words 'life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness' don't include the right to experiment with your own consciousness, then the Declaration of Independence isn't worth the hemp it was written on." - Terence McKenna
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2011-03-30, 03:03 PM
Homebrew101's Avatar
Homebrew101 Homebrew101 is offline
1.35 TB/1.44 TB/1.07
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: City of Festivals
Re: Cisco RNG200 DVR transfer to PC

I'm not an expert - in fact have never done this but do not go via VHS, you'll most likely need to go through the analog dvr outs straight to your pc or possibly a digital video cam then to pc
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by daddyray View Post
I got a big bunch of dick, I am measuring it with a chicken.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2011-03-31, 12:06 AM
PG1Tapes PG1Tapes is offline
235.30 GB/228.10 GB/0.97
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Maryland
Re: Cisco RNG200 DVR transfer to PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Homebrew101 View Post
I'm not an expert - in fact have never done this but do not go via VHS, you'll most likely need to go through the analog dvr outs straight to your pc or possibly a digital video cam then to pc
Never thought of going to a video cam...that might be possible because I do have a nice video cam around my house. Don't have the right inputs on my pc though...
__________________
"If the words 'life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness' don't include the right to experiment with your own consciousness, then the Declaration of Independence isn't worth the hemp it was written on." - Terence McKenna
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2011-04-01, 08:37 AM
DanielG's Avatar
DanielG DanielG is offline
300.35 GB/438.48 GB/1.46
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Re: Cisco RNG200 DVR transfer to PC

As Homebrew101 mentioned, you can use your video camera to digitize the video from your DVR. Then you can use the Firewire output from your video camera to your PC. What sort of video camera (make/model) do you have?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2011-04-01, 08:41 AM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Cisco RNG200 DVR transfer to PC

don't most DVRs have a USB or FW out? should be some way to transfer without re-digitizing
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2011-04-01, 09:06 AM
Homebrew101's Avatar
Homebrew101 Homebrew101 is offline
1.35 TB/1.44 TB/1.07
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: City of Festivals
Re: Cisco RNG200 DVR transfer to PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by AAR.oner View Post
don't most DVRs have a USB or FW out? should be some way to transfer without re-digitizing
most dvr's that I know of do not allow a digital output except viw HDMI to the TV, not sure of what might have HDMI inputs other than a TV - I don't have a video cam, maybe those have HDMI inputs
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by daddyray View Post
I got a big bunch of dick, I am measuring it with a chicken.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2011-04-01, 01:43 PM
PG1Tapes PG1Tapes is offline
235.30 GB/228.10 GB/0.97
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Maryland
Re: Cisco RNG200 DVR transfer to PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielG View Post
As Homebrew101 mentioned, you can use your video camera to digitize the video from your DVR. Then you can use the Firewire output from your video camera to your PC. What sort of video camera (make/model) do you have?
It doesn't seem like my camera would do the job. It's one of those JVC Everio cams.
__________________
"If the words 'life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness' don't include the right to experiment with your own consciousness, then the Declaration of Independence isn't worth the hemp it was written on." - Terence McKenna
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2011-04-01, 01:44 PM
PG1Tapes PG1Tapes is offline
235.30 GB/228.10 GB/0.97
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Maryland
Re: Cisco RNG200 DVR transfer to PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by AAR.oner View Post
don't most DVRs have a USB or FW out? should be some way to transfer without re-digitizing
There's a USB/FIREWIRE, but I'm pretty sure that there's heavy DRMing on it.
__________________
"If the words 'life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness' don't include the right to experiment with your own consciousness, then the Declaration of Independence isn't worth the hemp it was written on." - Terence McKenna
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2011-04-02, 10:05 AM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: Cisco RNG200 DVR transfer to PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by PG1Tapes View Post
There's a USB/FIREWIRE, but I'm pretty sure that there's heavy DRMing on it.
the old STB had the firewire port open but you had to record in real-time.

until PCI CableCard become widely available you might want to check out something like this
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2011-04-02, 01:56 PM
PG1Tapes PG1Tapes is offline
235.30 GB/228.10 GB/0.97
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Maryland
Re: Cisco RNG200 DVR transfer to PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by direwolf-pgh View Post
the old STB had the firewire port open but you had to record in real-time.

until PCI CableCard become widely available you might want to check out something like this
I'll definitely look into that...and I *MIGHT* try to get my hands on some firewire cables and see how that goes.
__________________
"If the words 'life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness' don't include the right to experiment with your own consciousness, then the Declaration of Independence isn't worth the hemp it was written on." - Terence McKenna
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Can anyone transfer an 8mm to dvd for me? - swervncarz Technobabble 0 2007-11-04 02:32 PM
DAT Transfer: Doing It Right - rabble Technobabble 11 2005-06-16 05:28 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts