The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2010-12-13, 09:11 PM
PG1Tapes PG1Tapes is offline
235.30 GB/228.10 GB/0.97
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Maryland
Video - Proshot Transferring video from DVR

I have a Cisco brand DVR from Comcast that has some music stuff taped. How would I go about transferring this to my laptop???
__________________
"If the words 'life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness' don't include the right to experiment with your own consciousness, then the Declaration of Independence isn't worth the hemp it was written on." - Terence McKenna
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2010-12-14, 01:50 AM
MasterSandman II's Avatar
MasterSandman II MasterSandman II is offline
170.87 GB/193.84 GB/1.13
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Red Deer, AB
Re: Transferring video from DVR

I guess each PVR has its own encryption so just transferring via the USB will not work as you won't be able to play the files on the computer.

I've been looking at buying this device:
http://www.futureshop.ca/en-CA/produ...0a2c94ac15en02
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2010-12-14, 06:36 AM
PG1Tapes PG1Tapes is offline
235.30 GB/228.10 GB/0.97
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Maryland
Re: Transferring video from DVR

Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterSandman II View Post
I guess each PVR has its own encryption so just transferring via the USB will not work as you won't be able to play the files on the computer.

I've been looking at buying this device:
http://www.futureshop.ca/en-CA/produ...0a2c94ac15en02
There's a USB plug on the front that I could try to hook up through. Can't hurt to try it, I guess.
__________________
"If the words 'life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness' don't include the right to experiment with your own consciousness, then the Declaration of Independence isn't worth the hemp it was written on." - Terence McKenna
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2010-12-14, 08:13 AM
DanielG's Avatar
DanielG DanielG is offline
300.35 GB/438.48 GB/1.46
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Re: Transferring video from DVR

Do you have a model number for your DVR? Also, what outputs does it have?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2010-12-14, 09:47 AM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Transferring video from DVR

the few times i've transferred from a DVR, i've gone the analog route:

DVR > S-Video/RCA > ADVC-300 > firewire > Final Cut [capture]



i'm guessing there's a "better" way via USB, but then yer dealing with cracking the copy protection, encryption, etc
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2010-12-14, 10:05 AM
PG1Tapes PG1Tapes is offline
235.30 GB/228.10 GB/0.97
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Maryland
Re: Transferring video from DVR

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielG View Post
Do you have a model number for your DVR? Also, what outputs does it have?
I'll look that up when I get home. I'll get some pictures too if that helps....
__________________
"If the words 'life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness' don't include the right to experiment with your own consciousness, then the Declaration of Independence isn't worth the hemp it was written on." - Terence McKenna
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2010-12-14, 10:16 AM
PG1Tapes PG1Tapes is offline
235.30 GB/228.10 GB/0.97
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Maryland
Re: Transferring video from DVR

Quote:
Originally Posted by AAR.oner View Post
the few times i've transferred from a DVR, i've gone the analog route:

DVR > S-Video/RCA > ADVC-300 > firewire > Final Cut [capture]



i'm guessing there's a "better" way via USB, but then yer dealing with cracking the copy protection, encryption, etc
I assume your videos turn out good when you do that? Though...I'm not sure that my DVR has S-Video. I know that the cable box/DVR combo is hooked up through RGB Component cables.
__________________
"If the words 'life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness' don't include the right to experiment with your own consciousness, then the Declaration of Independence isn't worth the hemp it was written on." - Terence McKenna
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2010-12-14, 10:39 AM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Transferring video from DVR

you can run component as well, you'll still need a A/D converter tho [i use an ADVC-300]

there are better quality ways i'm sure, keepin it in its original digital stream via USB...hopefully someone can chime in, but will probly need to know yer DVR make/model

however for what i was doing, the digi>analog>digi conversion caused negligible signal quality degradation
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
tape transferring - desiderus Technobabble 104 2010-12-15 07:59 PM
Help with transferring/seeding/etc...! - dannyandamie Technobabble 14 2008-11-26 11:13 PM
transferring cassettes to cdr - PEPPER Technobabble 20 2007-01-15 05:37 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts