The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2010-09-16, 01:57 PM
sanpablobay's Avatar
sanpablobay sanpablobay is offline
The Fisherman
195.99 GB/512.79 GB/2.62
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ro(t)chester, NY
Port Forwarding On A Wireless Computer?

I just got a new computer that is wireless and so far I have only been to get my port open once. I was having trouble getting utorrent to work yesterday and then last night when I looked at windows firewall exceptions I saw it only had these exceptions for utorrent "utorrent tcp in" and "utorrent udp in" so i created an exception for just "utorrent" as a whole. this worked. however, when i got up this morning my computer had restarted because of updates and now I can't get my port open again. I retried what I did before and that did not work again.

I've never had this much trouble forwarding my ports on a wired computer so I'm wondering if there is some trick to getting it to work with wireless that I don't know about.

any suggestions?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2010-09-16, 02:39 PM
Thulani's Avatar
Thulani Thulani is offline
172.31 GB/208.97 GB/1.21
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Romania
Re: Port Forwarding On A Wireless Computer?

The reason why you had only rules for inbound connections is because Windows Firewall allows outbound connection by default. Did you port forward your router? Is the port in utorrent the same with the one in your router?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baloo
They'll ruin him. They'll make a man out of him.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2010-09-16, 03:02 PM
sanpablobay's Avatar
sanpablobay sanpablobay is offline
The Fisherman
195.99 GB/512.79 GB/2.62
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ro(t)chester, NY
Re: Port Forwarding On A Wireless Computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kill_them_all1000 View Post
Did you port forward your router? Is the port in utorrent the same with the one in your router?
i've done all that and more. i'm not a noob at this, that's why it's frustrating me.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2010-09-16, 04:45 PM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: Port Forwarding On A Wireless Computer?

do you have a green check mark or an exclamation point triangle in utorrent?

It could be related to the availability of the torrent you are connecting to if there are not a lot of people on it.
__________________
We all see only that which we are trained to see.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2010-09-16, 05:00 PM
sanpablobay's Avatar
sanpablobay sanpablobay is offline
The Fisherman
195.99 GB/512.79 GB/2.62
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ro(t)chester, NY
Re: Port Forwarding On A Wireless Computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltman View Post
do you have a green check mark or an exclamation point triangle in utorrent?

It could be related to the availability of the torrent you are connecting to if there are not a lot of people on it.
i've seen both the green check mark & the exclamation point. canyouseeme says i'm firewalled. i was just uploading a torrent over at dime and i was listed as firewalled there even though i was uploading at my usual speed. i don't get it.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2010-09-17, 10:07 AM
jabulon's Avatar
jabulon jabulon is offline
IC Elvis & hear God on my iPod
TTD Staff
704.58 GB/2.33 TB/3.39
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Latitude: 52,3500, Longitude: 4,9167, Altitude: High
Re: Port Forwarding On A Wireless Computer?

Have you tried another client?
__________________
Dubbin' is a must. Strictly add music!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2010-09-17, 11:10 AM
sanpablobay's Avatar
sanpablobay sanpablobay is offline
The Fisherman
195.99 GB/512.79 GB/2.62
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ro(t)chester, NY
Re: Port Forwarding On A Wireless Computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jabulon View Post
Have you tried another client?
yes, no difference.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2010-09-17, 11:30 AM
Drgiggles1's Avatar
Drgiggles1 Drgiggles1 is offline
855.45 GB/2.86 TB/3.42
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pocono Mountains
Re: Port Forwarding On A Wireless Computer?

When you reboot, does your computer's IP address change ?
__________________
"Schoeps Schmoeps!!!
(I don't hate Schoeps mics, just the snobs who foolishly believe excellent recordings can't be made without them.)" Falconidave
Mics: CA-14 (o,c,o)
Remote Power: CA-9100 pre-amp, CA-UBB battery box
Recorders: Sony PCM-M10, Tascam DR-2d
Cable/s: custom 6" GAKables Mini Starquad
Batteries: Maha 9.6V Imedion, Maha Powerex 2700 mAh
Chargers: Maha MH-C9000, MAHA MH-C490F
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2010-09-17, 11:52 AM
sanpablobay's Avatar
sanpablobay sanpablobay is offline
The Fisherman
195.99 GB/512.79 GB/2.62
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ro(t)chester, NY
Re: Port Forwarding On A Wireless Computer?

I don't think so. But, I'll check that out in a bit.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2010-09-17, 12:52 PM
sanpablobay's Avatar
sanpablobay sanpablobay is offline
The Fisherman
195.99 GB/512.79 GB/2.62
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ro(t)chester, NY
Re: Port Forwarding On A Wireless Computer?

i think i figured it out even though it's says i'm firewalled here, utorrent and canyouseeme say i'm good to go.

i just had to turn off all the computers and reset the modem and router. doh!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2010-09-17, 02:40 PM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: Port Forwarding On A Wireless Computer?

is it a true wireless access point or another router on your local network?

if its a second router.. thats why you're firewalled (most of the time)
double router config = bad idea
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
PORT FORWARDING HELP - nevinsrip Technobabble 5 2010-02-27 03:09 AM
port forwarding - Kenny Smoke Technobabble 17 2009-10-22 12:19 PM
Port Forwarding - James Reed Technobabble 1 2007-06-28 01:47 PM
Port forwarding help please - deadone Technobabble 9 2007-06-07 11:23 AM
Help with Port Forwarding.... - kILLURIDOL Technobabble 2 2007-05-20 12:31 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts