The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2010-05-15, 08:32 AM
PEPPER PEPPER is offline
46.96 GB/23.05 GB/0.49
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
CANON HV 30 RECORD IN FULL HD BUT TRANSFERS TO 1440 x?

Ok so i have the canon hv30,its a great camera,but have just one question.I always record in full hd,but when i transfer the footage to pc it changes.I capture the footage to the pc,and when its finished,the file seems to say 1440x?cant remeber the other figure,but thought it would show as 1080 to indicate the full hd it was recorded in.What happens while transferring and finalising the footage to create this problem.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2010-05-15, 09:06 AM
cotis's Avatar
cotis cotis is offline
THE PROSTITUTE
TTD VIP
619.63 GB/14.06 TB/23.23
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NJ
Re: CANON HV 30 RECORD IN FULL HD BUT TRANSFERS TO 1440 x?

Do you have it set as recording in HD on the settings?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2010-05-15, 09:41 AM
sanpablobay's Avatar
sanpablobay sanpablobay is offline
The Fisherman
195.99 GB/512.79 GB/2.62
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ro(t)chester, NY
Re: CANON HV 30 RECORD IN FULL HD BUT TRANSFERS TO 1440 x?

i think you're fine. the second number is the one you want to go by, not the first. the output file should be 1440x1080.

also, the Canon HV30 doesn't really have "Full HD". Full HD is 1080p, the HV30 only does 1080i.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2010-05-15, 10:11 AM
PEPPER PEPPER is offline
46.96 GB/23.05 GB/0.49
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: CANON HV 30 RECORD IN FULL HD BUT TRANSFERS TO 1440 x?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cotis View Post
Do you have it set as recording in HD on the settings?
Yes i do
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2010-05-15, 10:12 AM
PEPPER PEPPER is offline
46.96 GB/23.05 GB/0.49
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: CANON HV 30 RECORD IN FULL HD BUT TRANSFERS TO 1440 x?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sanpablobay View Post
i think you're fine. the second number is the one you want to go by, not the first. the output file should be 1440x1080.

also, the Canon HV30 doesn't really have "Full HD". Full HD is 1080p, the HV30 only does 1080i.
i think the 2nd number is 1080,so there possibly is'nt a problem then,thanks.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2010-05-15, 10:15 AM
sanpablobay's Avatar
sanpablobay sanpablobay is offline
The Fisherman
195.99 GB/512.79 GB/2.62
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ro(t)chester, NY
Re: CANON HV 30 RECORD IN FULL HD BUT TRANSFERS TO 1440 x?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PEPPER View Post
i think the 2nd number is 1080,so there possibly is'nt a problem then,thanks.
yeah, if the second number is 1080, you're good to go. no problems.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2010-05-15, 10:18 AM
PEPPER PEPPER is offline
46.96 GB/23.05 GB/0.49
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: CANON HV 30 RECORD IN FULL HD BUT TRANSFERS TO 1440 x?

Thanks for the info,i will double check next time i transfer footage from the camera,just so i know for 100%.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2010-05-15, 01:28 PM
PEPPER PEPPER is offline
46.96 GB/23.05 GB/0.49
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: CANON HV 30 RECORD IN FULL HD BUT TRANSFERS TO 1440 x?

Can i also mention that ive seen some of your footage cotis on youtube,looks great.Also i noticed some really stupid comments,like get that text shit off there,as you have put your name on the footage.It takes a lot of nerve to film a show,so respect to you or anyone that has the balls to do it.Just wonder what effort those people who are whinging have made to film/tape a show.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts